We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggies place :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Vegan Warung

Bali Vegan Warung
Ubud main street Jalan Raya near BCA bank, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 476 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegan
Description: It's the only Vegan restaurant in the Ubud City Centre
Restaurant details
Description: It's the only Vegan restaurant in the Ubud City Centre
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Veggies place :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent 5 days in Ubud and 4 dinners I had in this little, friendly restaurant.
Yummy balinese food and made from 100% vegan friendly ingredients, also organic. Owner is a lady who is into meditation and she believes that eating good food without animal killing is a way to harmony in our body. She is vegan for long time herself, so I was not worried at all to have my meals here ( many places still use animal products in vegetarian and vegan food as we know).
Had the best vegan skewers with home made peanut sauce and very good vegan fish with garlic & Balinese spices. Try basil, mint & fruit juice - so refreshing.
And it's very cheap too. Main courses from 15000 IDR.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“vegi-rific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Vegan Warung is inexpensive, simple, fresh, delicious food in a simple and clean environment, with friendly staff.

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and it gave us the chance to eat as close to traditional balinese food as we could whilst knowing it was free of animal products. A lot of the rice used is brown rice so that ticks another box in the healthy section. The vegetables were crisp and fresh.

Having watched all the little food stalls making traditional chicken sate's I Loved the fact we could have vegan sate's, and they were delicious.

I have eaten at the Vegan Warung a couple of times on this trip so far and I have always walked away feeling satisified.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small portions, nothing special and overpriced for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Didn't come away feeling satisfied. Food was fine but nothing special and quite bland. Portions very small. We felt that although not expensive, it was overpriced for what it was when compared to other eateries in the area which offer fantastic veggie and vegan food...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enak Makan Vegan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

As far as I can tell, this is the only fully vegan restaurant in Ubud (there's plenty of veggie ones that cater for vegans too). And it is good! And cheap! The place itself is quite small and there's a an overwhelming focus on a particular following of Buddhism (there's literature and posters all over the place). I personally thought the food was fantastic - mainly various takes on Indonesian food, using tofu as a meat replacement. Defo worth going to, even if you aren't vegan.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The best vegan Indonesian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The food at the Bali vegan warung (restaurant) is fantastic. I normally do not like Indonesian food because it is laden with oil, and the flavors are masked from overcooking. The food here was completely opposite. Light and not greasy all. Nice flavors too. The toppings of the traditional dishes change daily according to what is available in the market.

I believe the owner/chef was diagnosed with diabetes over ten years ago and began to adapt recipes for her condition. In the recently opened establishment, she is sharing her dishes and philosophy of life with others.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Vegan Warung also viewed

 

Been to Bali Vegan Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Vegan Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.