We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Betelnut Noodle, Satay Bar & Music Lounge

Betelnut Noodle, Satay Bar & Music Lounge
Ubud Main St. in front of puri lukisan museum, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 361 971426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
Restaurant details
Auckland
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“nice venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I went there for a series of monthly talks and it was lively and interesting. The food was tasty and had a good atmosphere. I haven't eaten a meal there, just attended an event and it was the perfect place for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unusual place in Ubud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

On the main street in Ubud. Stopped for a drink. It was ok but deserted, suspect it is more of a night spot. The staff were friendly and the drinks list including wine was extensive. Located next door to Ubud Wines & Spirits.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossegor, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bad cooking - but good event”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

keep in mind to go there just for the good events and concerts they provide.
The food ? i am still wondering...
Again yesterday, the restaurant was empty, but it took them 45 minutes to be served of 8 fish sate, cold and dry (?) and 6 skiny and harsh pork sate (and charged 5$) without balinese sauce. We had to beg for rice.
for the first time in my life, I had to go to the kitchen to ask for explanation. I was wondering if they were considering me as stupid.
I said that I would pay for the food because I ordered it, and I know how hard it is to work in a kitchen, but I refused to eat the thing they served at my table.
the manager ashamed finally agree to apologise and offer the pork sate for free.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trendy with grunge feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We chanced upon Betelnut last Sat as we were walking along Jln Raya Ubud. We went in as some local bands were performing. It was a great evening and special mention should be made of "Kupit" of the band Nostress. His voice had a soulfulness which set him apart from the other two (reportedly more distinguished) performers. The bands played in an inner dinner-theatre like space. The lady running the place told us that that space is opened only when there is a performance. Performances are not regular, so check before you go.
The restaurant's Cellophane noodles (aka glass noodles) was delicious. Its pork/chicken honey satay was quite good too. But the wheatgrass mojito somewhat underwhelming.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do not go here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We were here two nights ago whilst holidaying in bali. Before I go on I would just like to say the waitress we had was wonderful and so helpful. The food however was absolutely awful. My partner & I ordered a 'big' plate of noodles, a 'big' plate of seared bees salad and some Tuna Sate to share. The portion sizes for the price we paid we tiny, literally had 4 pieces of beef around the size of my thumbnail in it, as for it being a salad - the leaves that made the salad up were coriander and mint. The noodles were cold and not cooked properly. The Sate had one piece of Tuna on it which was also cold. Absolutely awful!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betelnut Noodle, Satay Bar & Music Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Betelnut Noodle, Satay Bar & Music Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betelnut Noodle, Satay Bar & Music Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.