We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint cosy place! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Warung Bale

Fair Warung Bale
Jalan Sriwedari 6 | 100m Up From Main Road Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80517, Indonesia
+62 361 975370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 427 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Family Fare, Healthy, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night Food, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quaint cosy place! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Din't know this place was in Tripadvisor Thank God mum was wise to have reservation on a Tuesday night. Tucked in a small street off monkey forest road in Ubud , this café/restaurant can sit around 30pax. Below is its affiliated clinic which provides free medical aid to the locals. (refer to: http://www.fairfuturefoundation.org/fairmedias/pdf/what_we_do.pdf for more details) Was nearly full-house when we reached. Managed to find a cosy inconspicuous corner at the balcony which sits comfortably up to 8pax around a square table above the street! no smoking allowed.

A family of us (5 pax) tried the daily's special -sweet & sour chicken, tuna fillet, red curry curry. everything was cooked well & we combed our plates clean! Ended the night w dessert- Crepés! You can choose from a variety of toppings. Our choices: nutella (& bananas) and strawberries!
Wonderful & reasonably priced dinner. Our bill was 500,000+ rps (food, drinks & dessert). We even met the owner- Alexandre Wettstein & took a pic with him!
This place wouldn't cost you a hole in a pocket plus some proceeds will go to upkeeping its clinic. Free wifi available.

A very highly recommend place for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
p/s: they even conduct cooking classes- with reservations from what i heard :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,484
    291
    59
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Very nice place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good food. Good atmosphere. We came 9 people without a reservation and they managed to find us a place even if the restaurant was full. Super friendly owner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good cause, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Driven to it by endless positive reviews we had to try for our selves. We should have read between the lines when everybody refers to the "food with the twist of a good cause". Indeed it is a very noble concept and any place that promises a fair go for the sick and needy needs support. The food is the western version of Indonesian with a gravy taste and a middle class price tag for Indonesian standards. Come here if you feel the need to do good, for superb food and real local support choose one of the tastier and cheaper endless "Warungs"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were on our honeymoon when we found this place by accident really. We were out walking and smelled some delicious food. The owner, Alex, talked to us and told us that the restaurant supports a health clinic downstairs. We thought he was just trying to butter us up and that the food wouldn’t be good. Well it was good! The menu is inspired by both Indonesian and Thai flavors. We ate there the last three nights of our stay (wish we had found it earlier) and were satisfied every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“5 Minutes of Happiness (dessert dish) was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an amazing time here. The food really does taste better knowing that the proceeds are used for a good cause. Alex (the founder) was friendly and said hello to our table, which was nice. The service was fantastic and the food was also great. The seating is not too big, but we had the best seats in the restaurant since we came early (around 5 PM). The view was beautiful from where we were sitting in the back corner. Be prepared to climb up a set of steep stairs to enter this excellent restaurant that you must visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Warung Bale also viewed

 

Been to Fair Warung Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Warung Bale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.