We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food, Huge Portions, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Warung Bale

Fair Warung Bale
Jalan Sriwedari 6 | 100m Up From Main Road Ubud, Ubud, Bali 80517, Indonesia
+62 361 975370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 476 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Family Fare, Healthy, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Food, Huge Portions, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had heard it gets crowded here later in the evening, so we came a bit before 6 pm on our first visit. We were seated and served quickly and politely. We ordered a chicken and basil dish and Mie Goreng. Turned out these two plates were way more than enough for my wife, daughter and I. Delicious, massive servings. The staff were very polite and we also met the owner. Had such a great time, we came back for a second meal a few nights later. This time we tried that evening's special fish dish, which was also delicious. The owner also let us sample some local "jamu" or health drinks. Great fun. We'll be back again soon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,480
    291
    57
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

great little spot with excellent food , very good value & very interesting. just try it & see what you think.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great taste!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had the shrimp rice, tuna salad and fish curry. All were of great tastes! Yummy and not expensive! Definitely worth trying!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great food, but sometimes difficult to get a table. Try the king prawns and the banana lassie. Very close to the palace.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Such a great place to make new friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place really is to be applauded! The food is great, but it is about so much more. Some of the profits go to really good causes and although it is a small venue, the communal tables make it very sociable and a great way to meet new people.

So I would recommend it to all, but if you are travelling solo and want to meet some interesting people, quite a few of whom actually live around Ubud, this is the place for you. Oh, and did I mention the food, delicious and great value too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Warung Bale also viewed

 

Been to Fair Warung Bale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Warung Bale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.