We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price doesnt match what you get for it...smelly towels!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Pension

Save Saved
You added Nick's Pension to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nick's Pension
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 210 Specialty lodging in Ubud
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Price doesnt match what you get for it...smelly towels!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

It was our Honeymoon and we've been with Nick two years ago.
But since then they must have stoped cleaning and maintaining the rooms.
When we arrived Three things were brooken in our river view room incl. AC and Fan.
You had to argue with the Staff for New towels. They smell like rotten! Yuk!
Poor english of Staff.
Used soap in the room
Non exceptable bathroom.

We moved out after 4 nights to a homestay in a Honeymoon Suite which was perfect and cheaper!
Nick reinvest the money into the rooms. Its a shame!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
23
72
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Had stayed here 3 yrs ago but only in a superior room by the river. This time paid double and went for the deluxe option. I must admit view was stunning over the rice paddies and the room was huge with a four poster bed and massive bath! I would say that it was a little bit over priced and the breakfast was taken in a rather shabby room by reception. All in all if I returned I would opt for the superior room and save some money..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nick's Pension is actually in an excellent location because Jln. Bisma is a quiet road but due to the path crossing the river and cutting up to Monkey Forest Road, it is very close to the shops and cafes in that area, especially those around the football pitch/playing ground. The rooms are in small houses arranged around padi fields, with a reception area, cafe and swimming pool near the entrance on Bisma. There is wifi in the cafe which serves an adequate breakfast. The setting is extremely relaxing, but the rooms nearer the river are more secluded, if a little dated compared to those closer to the padi fields. The showers have extremely hot water, the rooms are clean very enthusiastically in the morning, and there is a laundry service.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I initially booked a homestay which was advertised as being close to Ubud but turned out to be 7km away. I started looking for alternative accommodation in Ubud on the eastern edge of the town which boarders the rice fields. It just felt a bit quieter here, Ubud is pretty hectic. I did look at a guesthouse close by the room was 40000rp with bfast. In the end I settled for Nicks Pension which was about the same price, but had more amenities, pool, wifi and tours.
Reviews vary on this site. I think that if you get a good room and the staff don't stuff up your booking you will probably have good things to say about Nicks Pension. I had the advantage of being able to choose my room, which on the first level with views over the rice fields. The first one they showed me smelt musty and did not have an attractive outlook.
The staff are very friendly and lovely. There is a lack of communication between management staff that look after the bookings and the people on the front desk. I had booked a room and they kept yelling me someone else had taken it and that I would have to go into another room. In actual fact the room was booked for me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are nicer overlooking rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our first impressions were very good. Nick's is in a lovely spot amongst some rice paddys and our room was much prettier than in the online pictures. It was pricier than all our other hotels in Indonesia but then Ubud is fairly pricey - or maybe Bali in general is.

The boiling hot full pressure shower was marvellous. The views from the verandah were stunning. The pool is a lovely extra. The lady who checked us in was sweet.

But ... the young men who also work reception are very cocky and seem determined to score points off the guests. When my friend asked to book an exra three nights after I left the young man behind the desk laughed and sneered that she should have booked more in advnce. He seemed delighted to inform her that they were full. Most irritating is when I booked a cab through them for the airport. The leaflet clearly said that cabs booked before 5am would incur an extra charge of 50 000. However, I was asked to pay this extra even though I was leaving at 5.30am. It took very firm discussion to ensure that I wasn't charged this. Then when I caught the cab it turned out to be an unlicenced cab driven by a casual friend of the desk staff.

Finally the included breakfast wasn't good. Our scrambled eggs were cold fried eggs chopped up. I think they might have been left overs!

Its a pity the service isn't better as the rooms and views are really lovely.

Room Tip: As for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very peaceful place to stay in a great location in Ubud.
Simple breakfast in a nice room with a nice view over the rice paddies.
Very tidy room and a great and friendly staff. Check out the very entertaining bird at reception who makes many different and interesting sounds especially the sound of a vehicle backing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We found Nick's pension a pleasant stay in the wonderful tranquil Ubud. We had an upper floor room which was a nice size, cleaned daily and had a beautiful view of the rice fields. They brought fresh tea/coffee to your balcony/varanda every morning and provided free umbrellas (which was handy because it ranined a lot). The 'secret pathway' to Monkey Forest Road was really handy and picturesque with the bridge over the river (but do make sure you have a torch in the dark). Breakfast was really good. Our main complaint would be that the walls were paper thin! You can hear everything anyone outside or in the neighbouring rooms is saying, btu other than that the area is really peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nick's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Pension

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 210 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Pension 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are entering a place of beauty, peace and comfort. Ubud, the centre of art and culture of Bali welcomes you, and for complete experience we invite you come to Nick's Pension. A great deal in the middle of Ubud Just off Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. Around 10 minutes walk to Ubud Center / Market. Approximately one hours drive from Bali International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nick's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Pension Hotel Ubud
Nick's Pension Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.