We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kenanga Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The best in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

If u look for a romantic hotel, honest+super clean and nice, look no further, this is paradise on earth! Middle of the ricefields perfect !!!!Nice rooms, great pool, restaurant, the breakfast was perfect.
Little far from the center but easy to reach by shutle from the hotel. A perfect place, perfect setting, staff supper!! A must do in Ubud.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, u are middle in the ricefields, the real life of Bali at ur feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    33
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
132
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everyone in Ubud knows this small resort. I got the impression that it's probably one of the best places you can stay if you're after some quiet upmarket comfort - though at an about 10/15 minute drive from the centre (definitely not 5, as it says on their website) I felt it could be closer. As other reviewers have said, the place is amazingly beautiful, if only for the pool area and the great views over the rice paddies, which stretch as far as the eye can see. Just look at everyone's photos. There are only a handful of rooms and bungalows - the rooms are very generously sized, and have much better views than the bungalows, which are closer to the entrance and hidden by bamboo and what not. There is also a small spa if you fancy a little pampering. The staff are super polite and attentive, and will help with most questions regarding getting to and from Ubud, excursions, etc. The restaurant is lovely, though at night there isn't much of an atmosphere so getting a taxi into Ubud may be a better plan. Don't bother walking into town, it's just too far and not a nice walk - however, the Neka Art Museum is a shortish walk from the resort and definitely worth a visit if you haven't made other arrangements during the day.

Room Tip: I'd say get a room rather than a bungalow. The ground floor ones have outdoor seating by the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel and found it perfect!
It is small and very quite, off the road and facing the rice fields. We could see the farmers working in the fields and preparing the new fields. We had a bungalow room, facing the pool but separated by some bamboos. It was very private but there is no view on the rice fields. The room is very spacious, well decorated and comfy. The bathroom was very big, with a large Italian shower and a bathtub.
We enjoyed the restaurant Terracotta. Breakfast was really good. It is à la carte, there isn't a lot of choice, but it is more than enough and it was very fresh. Dinner is also served à la carte and there is a mix of fusion food and Indonesian dishes. We fell in love with the Tuna with sesame crust and with the gado-gado. We ate there all five nights and it was perfect!
The hotel organizes a small trekking in the rice fields and this was great! I can only recommend it.
The hotel is at about 45 minutes from the center from Ubud, and it is not a nice walk. They provide a shuttle service every hours but it stops at 5 pm, which is a pity.
The staff was very attentive and really polite, smiling and doing their best to accommodate every needs.
I can fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quite and charming little hotel and who doesn't mind not to be in the center of the buzzing city of Ubud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This boutique hotel is outstanding. Visited in March and stayed in a bungalow with my boyfriend for 4 nights. Check in and out was smooth and all staff are above and beyond friendly - remembering our names and room number. Only a small hotel so it is very peaceful.free shuttle bus to and from town became handy as it is a little out of town. The breakfast which was included was amazing! Eggs and pancakes were always fresh and perfectly cooked to our request. Room got serviced twice daily with daily fruit left in room - super cute touch. Pool has an amazing view over the rice fields and you can watch the workers during the day (you do feel bad them working as you relax) owners spoke with us on our last breakfast there - couldn't give any negative feedback about this hotel. Wifi was always fast for us too. Would recommend to anyone and everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and we enjoyed it a lot. The room was spacious, clean with comfortable bed. The swimming pool area is fantastic, one could spend days relaxing. Free shuttle to Ubud center till 5pm, but after that you can catch taxi for as few as 4$ one way. The restaurant: breakfast delicious, but dinner wasn't that great, neither the drinks. But the hotel/restaurant staff could not be more smily and friendly -- they were a part of our enjoyable stay. The wifi works perfectly in the pool and restaurant areas, but unfortunately it was almost impossible to use it in our room. All in all, it was great stay and we recommend it 100%.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a great stay in Kenanga.
The Hotel is a short distance from Ubud Center, but easily reachable by cab or the hoetl shuttle.
The location is fantastic - with the paddy fields in the background.
The pool is great - spent a lot of time with my 3 year old daughter in there.
The food on offer was quite decent (though a bit pricey).
Most importantly, the service levels was high excellent and very personalised (will specially mention Nityari who wnet out of her way to help with baby food).
I normally do not give a 5 Star - but these guys deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed three nights in room 9 which was a bungalow on the end of a block of three, behind the pool. The room was huge and beautifully furnished. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The infinity pool is stunning and overlooks the rice fields. The restaurant also benefits from this stunning view, and we found breakfast to be very nice. We had surprisingly little trouble with noise (roosters etc) and managed to sleep through until breakfast every morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kenanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenanga Boutique Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenanga Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;