We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rice-paddie-tastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenanga Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 147 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rice-paddie-tastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everyone in Ubud knows this small resort. I got the impression that it's probably one of the best places you can stay if you're after some quiet upmarket comfort - though at an about 10/15 minute drive from the centre (definitely not 5, as it says on their website) I felt it could be closer. As other reviewers have said, the place is amazingly beautiful, if only for the pool area and the great views over the rice paddies, which stretch as far as the eye can see. Just look at everyone's photos. There are only a handful of rooms and bungalows - the rooms are very generously sized, and have much better views than the bungalows, which are closer to the entrance and hidden by bamboo and what not. There is also a small spa if you fancy a little pampering. The staff are super polite and attentive, and will help with most questions regarding getting to and from Ubud, excursions, etc. The restaurant is lovely, though at night there isn't much of an atmosphere so getting a taxi into Ubud may be a better plan. Don't bother walking into town, it's just too far and not a nice walk - however, the Neka Art Museum is a shortish walk from the resort and definitely worth a visit if you haven't made other arrangements during the day.

Room Tip: I'd say get a room rather than a bungalow. The ground floor ones have outdoor seating by the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    59
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
64
207
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel and found it perfect!
It is small and very quite, off the road and facing the rice fields. We could see the farmers working in the fields and preparing the new fields. We had a bungalow room, facing the pool but separated by some bamboos. It was very private but there is no view on the rice fields. The room is very spacious, well decorated and comfy. The bathroom was very big, with a large Italian shower and a bathtub.
We enjoyed the restaurant Terracotta. Breakfast was really good. It is à la carte, there isn't a lot of choice, but it is more than enough and it was very fresh. Dinner is also served à la carte and there is a mix of fusion food and Indonesian dishes. We fell in love with the Tuna with sesame crust and with the gado-gado. We ate there all five nights and it was perfect!
The hotel organizes a small trekking in the rice fields and this was great! I can only recommend it.
The hotel is at about 45 minutes from the center from Ubud, and it is not a nice walk. They provide a shuttle service every hours but it stops at 5 pm, which is a pity.
The staff was very attentive and really polite, smiling and doing their best to accommodate every needs.
I can fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quite and charming little hotel and who doesn't mind not to be in the center of the buzzing city of Ubud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This boutique hotel is outstanding. Visited in March and stayed in a bungalow with my boyfriend for 4 nights. Check in and out was smooth and all staff are above and beyond friendly - remembering our names and room number. Only a small hotel so it is very peaceful.free shuttle bus to and from town became handy as it is a little out of town. The breakfast which was included was amazing! Eggs and pancakes were always fresh and perfectly cooked to our request. Room got serviced twice daily with daily fruit left in room - super cute touch. Pool has an amazing view over the rice fields and you can watch the workers during the day (you do feel bad them working as you relax) owners spoke with us on our last breakfast there - couldn't give any negative feedback about this hotel. Wifi was always fast for us too. Would recommend to anyone and everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
509 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and we enjoyed it a lot. The room was spacious, clean with comfortable bed. The swimming pool area is fantastic, one could spend days relaxing. Free shuttle to Ubud center till 5pm, but after that you can catch taxi for as few as 4$ one way. The restaurant: breakfast delicious, but dinner wasn't that great, neither the drinks. But the hotel/restaurant staff could not be more smily and friendly -- they were a part of our enjoyable stay. The wifi works perfectly in the pool and restaurant areas, but unfortunately it was almost impossible to use it in our room. All in all, it was great stay and we recommend it 100%.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a great stay in Kenanga.
The Hotel is a short distance from Ubud Center, but easily reachable by cab or the hoetl shuttle.
The location is fantastic - with the paddy fields in the background.
The pool is great - spent a lot of time with my 3 year old daughter in there.
The food on offer was quite decent (though a bit pricey).
Most importantly, the service levels was high excellent and very personalised (will specially mention Nityari who wnet out of her way to help with baby food).
I normally do not give a 5 Star - but these guys deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
252 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed three nights in room 9 which was a bungalow on the end of a block of three, behind the pool. The room was huge and beautifully furnished. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The infinity pool is stunning and overlooks the rice fields. The restaurant also benefits from this stunning view, and we found breakfast to be very nice. We had surprisingly little trouble with noise (roosters etc) and managed to sleep through until breakfast every morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kenanga Hotel is a 16-rooms boutique hotel, it has a superb view overlooking at the paddy field from swimming pool or Terracotta restaurant. It was a very enjoyable moment by relaxing there and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The room are very spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom area is large, bath tub is huge with a separated rain shower. There are 2 washing basins available. Bed is big and comfortable for a good night sleep. Terracotta restaurant has a beautiful scenery at night and staff were very helpful, food is not really great though. Kenanga Hotel is located around 10 minutes drive to Ubud town (non traffic jam period). Overall, we have enjoyed our stay and really enjoyed the pool and room. However, it will be great if the front desk staffs can further improve on their English and service. Btw, croissant served at breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#40 of 147 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#2 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#4 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#38 of 147 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#75 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kenanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenanga Boutique Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenanga Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.