We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kenanga Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Switzerland
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and we enjoyed it a lot. The room was spacious, clean with comfortable bed. The swimming pool area is fantastic, one could spend days relaxing. Free shuttle to Ubud center till 5pm, but after that you can catch taxi for as few as 4$ one way. The restaurant: breakfast delicious, but dinner wasn't that great, neither the drinks. But the hotel/restaurant staff could not be more smily and friendly -- they were a part of our enjoyable stay. The wifi works perfectly in the pool and restaurant areas, but unfortunately it was almost impossible to use it in our room. All in all, it was great stay and we recommend it 100%.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    34
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
133
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a great stay in Kenanga.
The Hotel is a short distance from Ubud Center, but easily reachable by cab or the hoetl shuttle.
The location is fantastic - with the paddy fields in the background.
The pool is great - spent a lot of time with my 3 year old daughter in there.
The food on offer was quite decent (though a bit pricey).
Most importantly, the service levels was high excellent and very personalised (will specially mention Nityari who wnet out of her way to help with baby food).
I normally do not give a 5 Star - but these guys deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed three nights in room 9 which was a bungalow on the end of a block of three, behind the pool. The room was huge and beautifully furnished. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The infinity pool is stunning and overlooks the rice fields. The restaurant also benefits from this stunning view, and we found breakfast to be very nice. We had surprisingly little trouble with noise (roosters etc) and managed to sleep through until breakfast every morning.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kenanga Hotel is a 16-rooms boutique hotel, it has a superb view overlooking at the paddy field from swimming pool or Terracotta restaurant. It was a very enjoyable moment by relaxing there and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The room are very spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom area is large, bath tub is huge with a separated rain shower. There are 2 washing basins available. Bed is big and comfortable for a good night sleep. Terracotta restaurant has a beautiful scenery at night and staff were very helpful, food is not really great though. Kenanga Hotel is located around 10 minutes drive to Ubud town (non traffic jam period). Overall, we have enjoyed our stay and really enjoyed the pool and room. However, it will be great if the front desk staffs can further improve on their English and service. Btw, croissant served at breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staying at a kenanga boutique hotel was a refreshing change for us . We enjoyed having our meals at the Teracotta restaurant overlooking the paddy fields . Breakfast was served hot with a "homey" touch from the attentive staff .We were glad that the in-house Balinese massage turned out to be very good which is a must for a holiday in Bali. Providing field trekking in the morning is good and my husband enjoyed this very much. Overall , we are happy with the services except that we hope that kenanga can come up with a little more variety of vegetarian menu to encourage more than a 3days stay for vegetarian guests .
Will certainly come back again!

Room Tip: Choose a villa away from swimming pool if you want to enjoy quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Then staff were friendly, the rooms just gorgeous, bed was comfy (not too hard like many hotels in Bali), the staff are mostly friendly and their breakfast esp the pancakes and noodles stood out. The pool view is what holidays are made of! The tea time service was a treat!

The only thing was, it's a bit out of the main area (which is fine) but their shuttle only runs hourly and pick up and drop off at one venue only. Plus it stops at 5pm. Rather unfriendly compared to many of the Ubud villa type hotels in Ubud, I hope they change this before I head back there in a year or two.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for couple of days and I have to say it was a great choice. You can overlook the rice fields from the restaurant and pool. For me the restaurant, the nice view and the nicely designed rooms were outstanding.

Pro:
+ nice rooms
+ excellent service
+ free shuttle bus to the city
+ free bicycles
+ excellent breakfast with quality food

But in every hotel there are some areas to improve:

- sometimes the room smelled a bit moldy
- one evening I could here the TV from the neighbor room, what was quite noisy

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kenanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenanga Boutique Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenanga Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.