We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenanga Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What struck us most about the hotel was the genuinely friendly and welcoming staff, closely followed by the exquisitely prepared meals at the open (but roofed) restaurant, our comfortable and tastefully designed room, and the unimpeded views over the rice fields. There's a free bus every hour to the center of Ubud, and free bicycles to borrow if you feel like cycling instead. (The roads are narrow and crowded with packs of weaving scooters, but road manners are very good and there’s never a feeling that you’re in any danger.) The reception staff keep a full list of tours, cultural events and things to do. We enjoyed a guided cycle trip downhill from Kintamani to near Ubud. The Internet wifi connection is painfully slow, although this is not the hotel’s fault: it’s true for all of Bali; and the bicycles could do with a bit of maintenance, but these are very small criticisms. We can unreservedly recommend the Kenanga Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 - 14 have the best views of the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    49
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
54
168
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great environment and views over the rice fields, with friendly staff and lovely, big and clean rooms. We had a great massage and delicious meals at the hotel restaurant with reasonable prices. I would love to stay here again next time I visit Ubud.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

After a long flight, long airport queues, to be whisked away to this tranquil spot was just what was needed. A cooling drink on arrival, and a " flowering" fragrant flannel, then dinner overlooking the fields, and finally a spacious well designed comfortable room. Would happily go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited Kenanga after purchasing and great deal from an online coupon website.
We arrived to much more than we expected - The staff were all amazing, and all became friendly familiar faces by the end of our four days. The in house restaurant 'Terra Cotta' was amazing, the duck on the menu listing as one of my partner's all time favourite meals. The room itself was beautiful - high thatched traditional Balinese ceiling, with a very gentle and homely feel.
A free shuttle service into the centre of Ubud is a great extra - saving a lot of money on daily trips in and out of the centre of great shopping and entertainment. The hotel is only around 10 minutes out of the centre, just far enough to feel like you have really escaped all of the mayhem, as you sip on a delicious cocktail by the pool, overlooking the remarkable rice fields.
Before arriving at Kenanga, we had stayed at one of Bali's most well known (and expensive) resorts, yet we both felt like Kenanga was really the highlight of our accommodation so far.
We can't thank all of the staff enough for making our stay so enjoyable, and certainly recommend Kenanga to anyone looking around the Ubud area.
S & K.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Suite was perfect for us and our 10 year old boy. Staff here is excellent always greeted us with a smile and helped with all out needs. The swimming pool was divine to jump into in the late afternoon heat. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast overlooking the rice paddies. Would I stay here do definitely it's easy access to Cafe Vespa in Penestenan and close to Paul Ropp stores.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed in this small (15 room) boutique hotel for 2 nights in mid January (low season). The grounds overlooking a rice field are beautiful, the room is perfect -- clean, comfortable, good quiet air conditioning. The staff were gracious and helpful (including the free shuttle drivers).

I was travellng solo and only wished I had someone to share this with. Sitting at the restaurant at night, overlooking the lighting in the rice field and the candles floating in the pool, begged for a romantic interlude!

People staying at other places should consider the Terra Cotta pool side restaurant. The atmosphere (above) is fantastic, and the food is delicious and well priced.

Only small complaint is dim lighting in the room. I had to layer two sets of reading glasses in order to be able to read at night. Other than that, this place is an idyll.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went to Ubud for a quick getaway...wanted to look at the art and at the same time just relax.

Decided to stay at Kenanga Boutique Hotel....it is right on a working rice field...met my requirements for peace and quiet.

I chose a room with a view of the rice fields and would recommend you select from rooms 10, 11, 12, 14, 15 and 16 (15 and 16 are upstairs). Great views, nice little porch to sit on. The rooms are very comfortable, nice soaking tub, free wifi. Very clean, very comfortable.

Service was wonderful...warm greeting, was never intrusive..but always there when needed. Props to Putra in the restaurant...such great service. Towels alway handy at the pool. Food was wonderful...breakfast was included in price of room and there was a good selection. Nice to nurse a glass of wine late into the evening and watch the fireflies flit about.

The pool was cool and hardly ever used...had it to myself almost everyday. There is a shuttle to town every hour...you do need to make arrangements for the return trip...they just need the time. I chose to walk each day (but I like to walk...you see so much more) It is about a 40 to 45 minute walk to town...depends if you stop at any of the spas or galleries on your way. Walking back to the hotel is mostly uphill and can take a bit longer...might chose to walk to town and arrange to be picked up for the return.

I plan on returning to Kenanga...it is a great spot and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Select the rooms with the view of the rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#19 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kenanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenanga Boutique Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenanga Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.