We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I've been in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kenanga Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 hotels in Ubud
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place I've been in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Put simply, I wish we could have spent our entire 11 nights in The Kenanga in Ubud. Ubud itself is beautiful and my initial trepidation toward going was that my fiance and I are sun lovers (and were escaping Melbourne's cold winter!) and that there wouldn't be enough sun. There was. Now for the hotel - this place is just lovely. The pool is beautiful overlooking stunning rice paddies and if you want you can sun bake there all day. We did that for half the day and then took the complimentary push bikes and rode into town to explore. Staff at the hotel are simply exemplary and I know a lot of superfluous language can be used to describe the Balinese (as, generally, they are such nice people) but here every wish and assistance was provided. And so genuinely. My fiance got food poisoning (or giadia?) elsewhere in Bali and the staff were great. Even after we checked out at midday (our flight was midnight) they let us shower in a separate spare room at no cost so we could be clean before heading to Denpassar to fly home. Just such a nice gesture. AND the food is just GREAT. Top chef. Read other reviews on Trip Advisor re. the restaurant...

Pros: stunning room, big bath and shower, his and her sinks, beautiful pool with plenty of sun, first rate restaurant, breakfast complimentary and top notch, great staff, clean, boutique-esq (only 20 rooms or less I think), complimentary pushbikes, close to rafting area (15 mins so you're not wasting a whole day picking up other people - we did it and that was stunning)

Cons: a bit out of town. As the crow flies only a few kms so when we booked I thought we could just walk into Ubud. You can (I ran there and back one morning but it's about 5-6km each way depending on where in town you go) but it is all downhill in, uphill (obv) back. Quite good exercise!

Also a "Pro" for me as I'd run it each morning and sometimes cycle up and back a few times during the day for some more exercise.Having said that traffic is not crazy like Seminyak so you can hire a motorbike safely for 70rp per day (c$7USD) or there is an hourly shuttle service from The Kenanga finishing at 5pm (after that a taxi one way is 50rp or $5USD, so nothing. I hired a motor bike and felt completely safe (no 16 y.o bogan aussies wearing bintang singlets hooning around half pissed that is for sure) albeit I have ridden many time before.

This was our 4th time to Bali just to have a quick, cheap break before our honeymoon in late Jan-14. We had 8 nights in Seminyak (where we had been twice, Gili Islands once) and 3 nights in Ubud this trip. If we go back to Bali again I will spend all the nights in Ubud at The Kenanga. Thankyou to the staff for re-igniting my love of Bali.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room with a view of the rice paddies I guess but you get that from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    30
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
124
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, so carefully designed. We arrived at the hotel and after speaking with friendly staff at reception we had our first look at the efinity pool looking over rice fields - absolutelys stunning. Our room then although just a standard room was beautifully designed with that bit of extra thought, for example a wardrobe that opened in the corridor and bathroom, just our style. With flowers on the bed and in the bath, and a complimentary chocolate cake (which was delicious). We enjoyed afternoon tea, ubud, dancing, the restaraunt (good curry), and a cooking class with the chef. The chef was great with good handy tips, and good humour too. We made chicken soup, bananna leaf wrapped tuna and coconut pancakes. We would recommend the milkshakes and spring rolls. We also went on a walk in ricefields with one of the staff members, which was the only thing we wished we took better shoes and were prepared for sludgy thin edges to walk on. The only thing to also watch out on is the 21% tax on activities aswelll as food! But we would have loved to stay here longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this amazing boutique hotel for 10 days recently. Transport to the hotel was hassle free as we had pre-arranged our pick-up from Densapar with the hotel.

Check-in was courteous and quick. We were shown to our room and absolutely loved it. Modern and tasteful decor with a Balinese influence. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever had while travelling. And sleeps here are very peaceful.

WOW, we couldn't believe what a magical place this is at night. The chorus of sounds here is amazing, and watching fireflies, small bats and birds in the sky at dusk while sitting at the one of the many comfortable loungers is just magical.

We were treated to a very professional 1 hr. courtesy Balinese massage on our 1st day in the lovely spa overlooking the rice fields. Every member of the staff here is so friendly and helpful. You won't want to say 'goodbye'.

Food at the Terra Cotta Restaurant was of a very high standard at all times. The breakfasts are 'made to order' and wonderful. They seem to have very good chefs here. We never tried everything on the menu in our 10 days, as there is much to choose from. Presentation was first rate and the menu is well thought out. Starters through to desserts (including their own home-made gelato and sorbets) were sooooo delicious. We had some meals out in Ubud, but not as good as at Terra Cotta.

We will certainly be back here when we need to have some amazing R and R.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be great. You won't be disappointed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a Scoopon deal to stay here and boy did we get the best deal ever. we stayed in a bungalow room for two nights which is fantastic. The perfect set up the room has everything you could need and the bathrooms are huge with a fantastic huge bath, This rooms are cleaned to the highest standard. This was my ninth time to Bali and I have never stayed at a place that ticked all the boxes to such a high standard. The staff are fantastic. We had the best massages of our trip here while over looking the rice fields.The food to the highest standard. The pool is gorgeous. Breakfast is fantastic here. We will be back again for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with amazing views of rice fields all around, peaceful and romantic ambiance. Lovely decor and design, comfortable rooms with a wonderful terrace overlooking the fields. The pool is wonderful specially in the afternoon, and the restaurant serves generous and delicious breakfast and dinner. Try the lemongrass iced tea while you relax and enjoy the view.
Friendly and helpful staff, they have shuttles to the center of Ubud during the day. It's great for relaxing, getting a sense of Bali's lifestyle and culture and connecting with your loved one.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kenanga for four nights in June and had a great time there. We stayed in a bungalow which was of fantastic quality, beautifully decorated and the grounds were a bit of a surprise, coming off a busy road into a beautiful and peaceful setting.
We tried the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner during our stay and found it all to be great quality and everything was served with a smile and genuine hospitality. All the staff were very pleasant and eager to ensure we had a good stay.
Kenanga is a bit further from the centre of Ubud than is ideal but being closer would compromise on the quietness I suppose. We took advantage of the shuttle a few times and whilst it stops at 5pm, we found taxis to be cheap enough for us to still experience Ubud and we ate out a few nights without any transport hassle.
I always say I will write reviews on Tripadvisor and never do (this only being my second one, and the other another place in Bali as part of the same trip) but we were impressed enough to want to say thanks and share our good review.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just back from 3 restful nights at this beautiful spot. Set 10 minutes outside Ubud in Lungsiakan Village you are 1000 miles from noise and care! Overlooking rice fields as far as the eye can see you are just transported to heaven! After busy Ubud downtown it is a blessing to get back here and feel the serenity. We had room 15 upstairs, great views, so spacious and perfect. The restaurant served a delicious breakfast each day (included), we also had lunch, dinner and drinks here,,all very high standard and recommended. The infinity pool is wonderful and at night the place is amazing with the reflections and lanterns throughout the fields. Truly magical. The charming staff could not do enough for us and I can only rate this as excellent, 5 stars. Well done Kenanga..hope to return one day !

Room Tip: Room 15 has nice views and large balcony. Not a bungalow but we preferred it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kenanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenanga Boutique Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenanga Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.