We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility in the fascinating but bustling Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenanga Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Kenanga Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility in the fascinating but bustling Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a short stay of 3 nights at this relatively new hotel in Ubud and found it an excellent way to begin our holidays in Bali. It is very elegantly designed and the staff are helpful. The restaurant has a really restorative view over the rice fields and the food there was excellent. We only ate the Indonesian food, but the other things on offer looked equally delicious. One of the real charms of this hotel is its size. It is not a huge resort and there are not crowds of guests around the pool etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    49
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
54
168
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've stayed at Kenanga hotel in October 2012 with our 2 young daughters, and we really enjoyed our stay! This hotel is just perfect: bungalows are spacious and really well decorated, the swimming-pool is relaxing and offers a view on ricefileds, so does the restaurant! And the staff is great! If you want to enjoy a relaxing hotel in the middle of ricefileds, we really recommend Kenanga hotel!

Room Tip: The bungalow is very spacious, and recommended if you travel with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This new boutique hotel is located in the middle of unspoiled rice fields providing to the guests the most picturesque view of what Bali has to offer. Located not too far from Ubud (around 5-10 minutes by car) and at walking distance from the Ayung River and next to a lovely way to walk in the middle of the countryside of Ubud, i think we can't expect a better location.
Kenanga is a very small property just opened a few months ago and if some details have to be upgraded or improved, the general impression is good and there is a potential to make of this property one of the most charming in Ubud and undoubtedly the one offering the best value.
We booked one bungalow and one deluxe room during our stay and if the deluxe room which was located on first floor. If the bedroom offers a nice private terrace overlooking the rice fields, I rather recommend to choose a bungalow for extra space and a much better bathroom. However, we'll have to wait the vegetation growing up for having a decent screen and being able to enjoy the terrace cause these bungalows are all located on ground floor and at this stage, everybody can see you from the pathways, even in your bedroom which is a bit annoying.
Decoration is quite pretty even if a bit too feminine and beds are really comfortable. Too bad the curtains are not obstructive enough and consequently, expect to be awake quite early or use eyes mask to avoid the light at 5 in the morning. However, I've talked with the owner, a very nice and implicated French guy and he told me they will try to solve these defaults. I've really appreciated how he's interested by comments to help to upgrade the quality of Kenanga and i'm sure the efforts will be constructive.
I just regret the choice of the materials not so good, especially the sofas terribly uncomfortable (principally in the deluxe bedroom category) and the very thin windows and main doors.
But this hotel is recommendable... The garden is charming; the pool has a reasonable size and offers stunning views on the rice fields (and the water is not as cold as a guest said in a previous feedback...); the breakfast is well done with a delicious Mie Goreng and staff is always smily trying their best to provide something great to all the guests.
I'm used to stay in the most luxurious hotels in the world and usually stay at Amandari when i go to Ubud. I wanted to try this hotel which is 10 times cheaper than the amazing Amandari and i haven't been disappointed (even if it was different from the hotels where i'm usually stay but really enjoyed this familial touch you can find at Kenanga). In a few months, when everything will be settled and all the young problems solved, I know this property will be very nice and the best value in Ubud.

Room Tip: A bungalow is better for a nicer inside space but you'll have to face a lack of privacy. For mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it's a great place to recover from jetlag. The staff are very friendly and helpful (one helped me book Indonesia train tickets on line). The train are comfortable and very clean. We stayed in room 11 which had a view on the rice paddy and room 16 which was upstairs and had a nice veranda and a beautiful bathroom (better than room 11). The hotel is 1 hour walk from the centre of ubud, but the hotel runs a free shuttle up until 5pm. The walk from town is uphill and on a busy, dark road. We got the last free shuttle in at 5 pm and caught a taxi back for 35k rupiah. Although the hotel is out of town, it's a really pretty location looking over the rice paddies in a tranquil setting. The pool was great. If you fancy a cheaper local meal, the Fuzion Resturant 5 minutes down the road is good value and very clean. The hotel has two bikes to borrow and the ridge way cycle/trek route in the Lonely Planet ends near the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Suh a beautiful spot ! The room was excellent , service excellent, free shuttle to Ubud really handy as Kenanga is not that close to Ubud centre, about a 15 minute straight drive. When you walk out of the hotel entrance you are kind of in the outskirts.
My only suggestions to management would be ( and these are minor):
Try and sort out WiFi as most of the time it wasn't available in the room as advertised.
Mosi net around bed so you can have a window open at night if you don't like air conditioning, disconnect light from fan in bathroom so you can have a bath in quiet, and a little more variety from the restaurant would be good. The food wasn't as great as it ought to have been considering the room price. Also, maybe don't charge guests for a cup of green tea if they opt for one instead of Balinese coffee at breakfast. The waiter was embarrassed to tell me I had to pay for it. Small things, but ones management could work on.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on second floor as you will have more privacy. My room overlooked the amazing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have no words to express how everything are soooooo excellent at this Hotel. And when i say everything i mean EVERYTHING. I am looking forward to be there again. Excellent staff, excellent people, excellent food, very clean, excellent decoration, so quite, excellent location, excellent view, everything excellent. Also they provide free shuttle bus. Only one suggestion, they should accept in the hotel only adults-no kids- even though we did not face any problem but on our departure date a family arrived with a child next to our room and it wasn't nice to hear voices at that paradise.Just a friendly suggestion :) Thank you Kenanga, a big thank you to all the people working there. Hope to see you again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Beautiful bungalows in a very serene setting. We found out the hotel only opened in May so everything is still brand new. We enjoyed the nice views over the rice paddies during breakfast and the beautiful pool. The staff were very nice and accommodating and would come back anytime to Kenanga.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenanga Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Lungsiakan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#19 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenanga Boutique Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenanga Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.