We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, service and character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Raya Sanggingan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 123 Hotels in Ubud
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing location, service and character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I am rather bewildered having read the negative reviews posted on here. It seems like those travelers sought a sterile and most boring environment. Ulun Ubud is stunning. The traditional Balinese architecture and intricate wood and stone carvings it boasts are most impressive and outweigh the so called run down rooms which are more than sufficient. The serene environment is the perfect getaway and the views from the balcony are picturesque. The hotels best feature however is the staff who promptly organised our trip to Mt Batur (highly recommended), our cooking class, dropped us of at any location required and one even gave us coffee home made by his Grandmother. Ulun Ubud is what Ubud is about and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Perched precariously on the hillside, our quiet little villa provided respite from the business end of Ubud (centre). Walking down to the room through tiny walkways and beautiful gardens was peaceful, they were well maintained and quirky (faces in the stones).

You can see this was "the" place to stay in the 80's and the hotel is in desperate need of some renovations, a bit of paint to start with would really lift the place. In fact, while having a swim with my husband we talked about how great this place could be with a small investment and a bit of effort.

The poolside lounges need to go, cracked and broken plastic do nothing for relaxation, and the pool tiles could probably use a little scrubbing. The view from the pool was the same as from the rooms - stunning.

The rooms were very large, and easily accommodated our family of three with ease. The double bed mattress was lumpy at best. The bathroom door was quaint, but beyond that was a bathroom that could really use .

The views though were magnificent, sitting on the large verandahs overlooking the river and rice terraces were what made this stay worth it. I would never tire of these views and thats what you pay for.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and being the only guests in this large establishment meant they were extremely attentive. They arranged a hire car for us when we left at a very good price, and were always on time using the free shuttle into the main centre.

I really fell in love with this hotel, and sincerely hope that a bit of money is spent to get it back to its former glory.

Room Tip: Not close to the main centre of Ubud which is a bonus, but in desperate need of renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

After carefully reading all the reviews, we went ahead and stayed 3 nights here in February. The reviews are completely accurate! The hotel itself is absolutely amazing! Sitting on a steep hillside overlooking the river, beautiful architecture and surroundings. We stayed in the honeymoon suite that is on the lowest level, right next to the pool. The room itself has an wonderful veranda and is quite spacious, but is in desperate need of renovation! The room smelled of mold, the walls had peeling paint and stains, half the lights in the bathroom were missing, and the AC dripped quite a lot of water. However, because of the privacy and beauty of its location, we still truly enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and will try their best to accomodate you. The free shuttle to central Ubud was great and very reliable. The breakfast is very simple, pretty much eggs and toast. If the hotel gets renovated, I would love to stay there again, but as of now, I would probably book somewhere else if I was going back to Ubud. Overall, it's a beautiful and unique hotel, and I truly hope that it will get renovated soon! It could be absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is great for privacy, beautiful veranda and view of the valley. Only a few steps fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Many comments echo my opinion. This is a hotel with tremendous potential that is being run into the ground. Although the view of the gorge and facing hillside are wonderful, there's a nice pool and the staff (although seemingly undermanned) are friendly and helpful, the rooms are awful with faded furniture, threadbare, even dirty, linens, and unkempt bathrooms. It's actually frustrating to stay because it's so obvious what it would take to make this a wonderful hotel but for whatever reason it isn't being done. Judging by the response when I asked a couple of staff why this is they get this question ALOT. With a serious renovation this is a hotel I would come back to. Otherwise, definitely no. (N.B. there really are a ton of stairs, particularly to the pool and rooms at that level and below. Clarify where you're staying.)

Room Tip: Confirm how far below the lobby your room is. There are a lot of uneven stairs. (I counted at leas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This resort is difficult to review because the setting, gardens and pool are truly beautiful & tranquil, but the rooms leave quite a bit to be desired, particularly the bathroom. Because of the surroundings, we were prepared to accept somewhat spartan surroundings, but the state of repair of the rooms, linen and toilet were really not acceptable. We learned, after a few days, that the place is closing for a complete makeover in March

Room Tip: Make sure you inspect rooms before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I think some of the people who are down on Ulun Ubud are missing the point. Ulun Ubud is not the Bulgari resort on the south side of the island. It IS a great place to get away from it all. Sure it may be ~3km from town but they offer a free shuttle that will get you anywhere you need to go in Ubud. With the added benefit that you will see a part of Ubud you may not have seen otherwise. You will sit perched on the side of a ravine over looking a beautiful river. You can have a decent breakfast on your private patio. You can't beat that. Perhaps the rooms could use a bit of an upgrade but I really feel like that is splitting hairs. We stayed in two rooms, 101 & 304. 101 was a great, modern room. 304 was a little more dated but I didn't go to Bali expecting my room to have video walls and a heated toilet seat.
I would not recommend this hotel for seniors, those with young children, or someone who is quite out of shape. There are a lot of stairs but honestly, that adds to the magical experience. The staff is amazing. If we had a problem they fixed it instantly, we needed something they helped us find it. They were very attentive. I only wish we'd had more time there.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs. All rooms seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Since it first opened I have been coming back to Ulun Ubud every year several times. Ulun Ubud actually is the private residence of a well-known local family of master carvers to the Regent of Gyanyar. Over many years the current owner had collected a wealth of elements of old houses on Bali and on Java - doors, household items, wedding chests, carvings - all in itself not just antiques but also artistic treasures. Located on top of a typical Balinese ravine, the owner then over 20 years ago began to utilise his collection and he started to construct individual cottages with thatched roofs, one by one, over several years. Each cottage is different from the other - the pathways are lined with Hindu spiritual elements. Being on a steep hillside means that some cottages require a bit of fitness if not strong legs. Each cottage has its own little verandah, a perfect place to retreat and to read, write or just listen to the sound of distant village life across the ravine, observe farmers cuttings grass for animal feed, and on festive occasions you hear the sound of gamelan drifting over the valley. At the bottom of the ravine there is a volcanic rock quarry, and you can hear the soft sound of stone work. The private residence of the owner, by the way, is on the left hand side when you enter the car park of Ulun Ubud. Have a look at the wooden gate, and take a peak through the doors ..a rare view of a classic house, with wooden carved wall elements that have become very rare now. If you are a collector you may get permission to be let into the inner sanctum to see what they currently have for sale - although the best pieces have long gone. Ulun Ubud is not a purposely designed hotel per se, it is a cottage-type accommodation, with a nice swimming pool on the lower parts of their property; to some the rooms appear to be need of an upgrade - but please accept the place for what it is ..it has a lot of character, and if you are into South East Asian art, particular architectural design and wood as both a functional as well as an artistic medium ..you will enjoy it more. Food here is simple .don't expect too much. Unfortunately there are no decent warungs nearby ..so you need to head down to Ubud, about 3 km , to get a good meal. Latest update: The owner of Ulun Ubud moved to another house, and the new manager feels he has to compete with actual hotels ..so prices have gone up and are at times not justified ..so do bargain when you book. In conclusion - Ulun Ubud is not your average tourist hotel, but it provides a homely atmosphere, in a real unadulterated natural Balinese setting.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper levels ..the lower you go the stuffier it gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Raya Sanggingan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulun Ubud Resort And Spa
Ulun Ubud Hotel Ubud
Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.