We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

this is one of old hotel in ubud bali. with good temperature, river side with natural tropical forest.this is ideal place to recharge your soul.

first to open the balcony door, flower aroma will wellcome you to make you relax. Choose 2nd or 3rd level, so you will find an amazing view from your balcon.

Food is delicious, with very very warm service from the waiters.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    348
    109
    54
    38
See reviews for
133
414
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were given a room at the top- furtherest away from the river. This room was very ordinary and did not have the spectacular views of the lover rooms.
One of the drinking glasses in the room was not clean - had lipstick thick around the rim. One of the white bath towels had brown streak on it. There were no tea/coffee facilities and room service closed before we arrived - thus we only had 2 small bottles of water to drink.
There were small insects attacking us when we got into bed. The fridge was not clean.
Breakfast was very limited - under cooked omelette and cordial juice. We were not impressed.
Nice setting but not good service.

Room Tip: Ask for one down near the river rather than hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A charming and slightly rundown place with lots of atmosphere. We stayed for six nights. On the second morning I woke covered in very itchy bites which we eventually realized were bed-bugs. We asked for another room, which was lighter brighter and bedbug-free, although a bit noisy. Management never really acknowledged the bed-bug issue or offered any refund. But inspite of all that - and the construction work going on by the pool...somehow we still like the old place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed in Ubud in the Tjampuhan since 18 years and always glad to ocme back. The location is simply outstanding on the slopes of a jungle river and still close enough to Ubud centre for walking. The Spa is located almost down to the river with carved stone caves - simply amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I started travelling to Bali in the 80's, on my second trip I discovered Hotel Tjampuhan, art of it being the Palce of the King of Ubud, which is the restaurant and reception, over many acres the tropical landscape is doted with buildings of usually six rooms with balconys, giving you privacy and yet experiencing the natural surrounds of the jungle like area of Ubud, with a river passing below, had a massage in the amazingly carved spa, and you look out over the water as it rushes by, I love this place, I have just come back from Bali on my 5th trip and I have yet again stayed at Tjampuhan for the 4th time, because I know ts a guaranteed perfect stay, keeping up a great standard, cheers Grant Franklyn-Smith

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level away from the road are a must and corner suites are large and have great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed every night, by far the most beautiful and relaxing hotel we stayed at during our trip and would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers. Beautiful scenery and stunning traditional carvings throughout the complex grounds.
Pros- Scenery, costumer service, location, very nice rooms, traditional, great spa service, breakfast included, room service, free shuttle, very friendly staff, cost friendly.
Cons- No wifi or safes in rooms, positioned right next to a main road which can make the stay somewhat noisy at times,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here earlier this year and we were utterly blown away by the surrounding natural beauty of the hotels setting, it is honestly worth staying just for the setting!

Positives:
The staff were very friendly and very helpful (a bit of advice however would be to organise your own excursions with a) your driver or b) yourself. The hotel will overprice and earn off certain excursions they could offer you, although they are a great way to get about and do some brilliant things but you could save money organising it yourself).
The natural spring pool is incredibly refreshing and beautiful (not heated so be careful in rainy season, it gets very cold!).
The spa is also very picturesque but you do have to pay for this facility which we both agreed would have been a nice touch to have at least basic access to the saunas etc. as part of the booking.
This hotel runs its own shuttle bus service included in the booking fee which is a really nice touch and drops you off at a museum in the heart of town, the service runs every hour on the hour and the last bus back is at 9pm which can be a bit annoyinng if you're spending the night out in Ubud, but hey, it's free!

Negatives:
The room: we stayed in (Superior Agung) which was very dated, we love the old and traditional feel to rooms but this is dated and needs something as simple as a touch of paint and some damp-proofing. The room can be quite dingy but this really wasn't too much of a problem, we were out pretty much all day and used the room just for the bed. Also expect the room to be damp with some damp mould on the walls (what do you expect in a rainforest?). You get some creatures in your room (there are no mosquito nets ..... just a plug in deterent which isn't much use.) Gekos are amazing so we were fine with having them in the room but some of you probably wouldn't so it's worth a 'heads-up'.
The bed is like sleeping on a bible, and probably as old! We did however have some good nights sleep on it which I put down to the tranquility of the location. It does also get noisy at night (not a problem for us but worth noting - remember: you're in a rainforest ....)
The food: Pricey ... Even for hotel prices this was the most expensive place we had seen, we didn't eat the meals at night as we had heard bad reviews about it from other guests as not worth the money. We had breakfast included which wasn't bad but not great really. The breakfast is a buffet style which is a nice touch so you can fill yourself up but the food really isn't all that great (the omlettes are good however).

Overall this hotel is stunning the location is ideal to get into Ubud with a free shuttle but I don't think we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with air-con! Some don't come with it as standard . . . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.