We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in. Having never been to Bali, I was uncertain about staying in Ubud, but I was not disappointed. The jungle setting, paths, ponds, swimming pools and open-air buildings were incredible. Our room was clean and beautiful, and the staff was friendly, helpful and always available. The spa was another visually stunning place and the relaxation was perfect. We ate three meals a day at the hotel restaurant because it was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    307
    101
    52
    36
See reviews for
118
352
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel provide very good service with friendly and helpful staffs. We book online, when we arrive they welcome us with nice cocktail while we are waiting for the counter to check us in. The process takes less than 10 min and they carry our luggage all the way to our room located 2-3 min walk from the lobby. We have spacious room with a King size bed, the bed was not too soft which we like it very much & billows were really good, our room was located deep inside which very near to the Tjampuhan river which we can hear the water flowing and the bird singing. This hotel was build according to village concept next a river, we saw a couple of ants crawling around the bathroom floor but no worry as it doesn't harm us, we even see dragonfly when we sit at the corridor for a chat. They do not provide shower cap or cotton bud in the bathroom and they provide soap instead of body shampoo, but did they provide hair shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.

They have 2 swimming pools which both are facing the forest and river which give you a very relax feels of the whole environment. They also provide free WIFI with computer near the lobby, but no WIFI and TV in the room which we like it this way, because it's a relax holidays anyway, we don't really want to be disturbed. They provided free shuttle services to Monkey Forest Street and the museum where you can find all the restaurants and shopping. The 2 things that we are miss about this place were their yummy breakfast with my favourite banana pancakes and their lovely staffs that you may want to talk to them just like a friend.

Room Tip: If you wish to stay away from the noise from the main road, choose a room deeper inside nearer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We came here on a reccomendation- sadly we were very disappointed: We stayed in the Walter Spies old house and the main room was so dark that you couldnt see in to the corners; the lights were dingy and it was dark and depressing. Despite the fact that the whole selling point of staying in this part of the hotel was that it was the 1930s artists old house, the bathroom was modern but uninspiring with a faint smell of urine. We stayed for 3 nights after initially planning to stay for 7, and only because we wanted to see Ubud. The first night we ate in the hotel restraunt and the next day I had a bad tummy ache and diarrhorea. My husband also got sick from eating brekfast although perhaps he was slightly ambitious in eating sausages in a third world country (?). When we complained the restraunt manager came and did offer to refund our food bill from the first night although initially tried to blame my tummy bug on spicy food, which was ridiculous as we had been in bali by then for 2 weeks and also eating spicy food. On the last night I got a scare as some creature, i think probably a very large lizard we had spotted outside the room, came in to my room and i could hear whatever it was knocking a bowl of fruit over and dragging quite a large piece across the floor where it proceeded to drag it under the fridge and eat it- i lay awake on the bed feeling quite unsettled. Also the last thing was that perhaps we might have enjoyed the grounds more if it hadnt been for the fact that they were renovating the pool and so the whole time there was constant noise of electric stone cutters, clouds of dust coming up from the valley floor and trails of workers traipsing up and down the steps past our room carrying stone and concrete on their heads- the hotel made no mention of this when we booked which i think they should have. I also found the staff really not very friendly or helpful. If you go, good luck, it seems some people get a lot out of the place, but it really really wasnt for us! . . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was by far the best hotel I have stayed in, in terms of view. The rooms were immaculate and they overlook a cliff and a stream below. The staff were incredibly helpful and were more than happy to carry bags - there are only steps so it is nice to have them carry your bags. It is a short walk into ubud centre but there is also a shuttle bus that will take you there. The only fault is that you have to pay around $7 to use the spa/sauna/steam rooms but even then it is worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Love this hotel, not good for very young kids or people who have difficulty in walking, no tv in the room which is a plus in this enviroment. rooms pretty basic but clean large and airy. Gardens all set on terraces which are stunning, very peaceful place to be, 10 min walk to the hustle and bustle or an hourly complimentary hotel minibus into centre of Ubud. Breakie is ok coffee not good but plenty to keep you going. generally the ambiance of the hotel and grounds are just fantastic,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

i love the environment, forrest, river, trees, garden, spring water pool, spa. but not much with the room. the bed very comfortable but interior are too old, low maintenance, the bath room too.. too bad.. :( but i think i will be return again, because the ambiance is so amazing n peaceful here..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sth australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

OMG what an amazing hotel ,stayed in this wonder full paradise in jan for 3nights being a hotel business owner at the Gold Coast I was soooo impressed the beautiful gardens , the serenity,the wonderful staff ,beautiful spring water pool and the spa you can go on and on , has for my amazing room banyan one was beautiful and clean all you can hear was the river flow , and nature t it's best 3days of bliss just what I needed ,Thankyou to all the wonderful staff I will be back in oct I hope cheers margherita

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.