We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
dubai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff here are so helpful and friendly, they make you feel at home straight away. The rooms are roomy with a nice private balcony. I had a/c and a fridge. Bit of a damp smell in the bathroom and quite a lot of steps if you are feeling unfit! the spa at the bottom of all those steps is in a lovely setting next to the flowing river. All outdoors, so you get the sounds of nature all around. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into town, lots of shops on the way, or you can take the regular free shuttle bus from the hotel which runs almost every hour.

Room Tip: Book the Raja room with a/c and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    307
    101
    52
    36
See reviews for
118
352
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful with all our questions. The room was clean and tidy. The setting was wonderful. Very relaxing swimming in the pool. The hotel is within walking distance Ubud centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hi, we stayed here in early December 2012. The first thing that impressed us was the welcoming staff. Our travel plans for the next few days were discussed with great ideas and booked to accommodate our free time. The views and surroundings were incredible. Our room was very large and at times I felt like we were in an old fashioned movie star establishment. The staff were always greeting us with a smile and the pools were stunning. That was before we spent time in the day spa area. (Take your cameras) Many steps to keep your fitness levels up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Tjampuhan Hotel is high up on the hill, set in lovely gardens above the river Oos, a two dollar taxi ride into the town of Ubud. It's an historical place, full of Hindu statuary, dating to 1928, closely associated with Bali's vibrant art scene. The hotel has reasonably priced two-unit villas, each independent from the other, reached by winding stone pathways, lit at night. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, if a little dated and tired. They are not luxurious, but the history and setting more than compensates for any lack of mod cons. The bathrooms are large and the beds comfortable. Each unit has a porch with table and chairs from which you can watch the squirrels jump from tree to tree morning and evening. Staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside for me was the restaurant where the food was not a patch on the better restaurants in town and where the hotel staff seemed unusually quiet and jaded.

Room Tip: The far rooms were quiet and peaceful, if a longish walk from the lobby and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Tjampuhan in November '12 and understood that the facilities were going to be basic (part of the charm of Ubud). After 12 tours of Bali we decided to move around the island a bit more & check out Ubud. We stayed at two other hotels, one in Seminyak & the other in Tuban.
Unfortunately Tjampuhan only scored an average rating for us. The surroundings & views from within the hotel were magnificent. The charm and old traditional flavor of the place was wonderful.
The Rahja room was clean, large albeit basic. Sorry to say that the breakfast was terrible. we ended up eating down the road it was so bad. The staff were ok but some of the managers were hawking tours pretty hard in order to gain a commission which would have been ok if it was only occassional. The pool was filthy and generally unattended. Overall the place would be a good stay for 2-3 days but not 7 days as we did

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the reception we were amazed by the openness and distant views to the rainforest valley and the sound of the cascading river below , the individual rooms are beautifully and traditionally appointed, no fakes here , everything is original , dark timber walls , marble floors and huge balcony or courtyard , all face the cliff and views. And the sound of the river is so relaxing. The people are polite and courteous , the buffet breakfast is great , with ommelettes made to order , and everything you would want In the morning , fresh fruit, croissants, Danish , and Indonesian Nasi goren , fried noodles are yummy . The pool is clean and refreshing. Make sure you bring mosquito spray that's all you will need , I will return to the Tjampugan again and again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The character and charm of this place is amazing! I loved the spring fed pool, all the lush surroundings, and theme appropriate furnishings. Defiantly a lot of steps, but great way to at least make myself do a bit of exercising on vacation. I thought the staff was so pleasant and amazed at the bell hops strength carrying our luggage through the mazes of steps with out even a change in breath. No television and limited Internet made it more of an actual uninterrupted vacation and technology break that was very much needed! We only spent three days here and I would have loved 3 weeks here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.