We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Hawaii
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“I could live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful hotel and spa on a river in heart of Ubud. It was the first hotel that we came across and they gave us a great rate.. but we wanted to see what else there was in town so we had our $15 a day driver take us to 4 other locations.. that ranged in price and size.. and we came back to Tjampuhan.. and wish we would not have wasted the time looking elsewhere. The hotel is built on a cliff.. above a jungle river. The rooms are amazing Bali style of course.. but really beautiful with balcony. Across the river was a hidden hindu temple that was reached on foot across a swinging bridge. The breakfast was in what felt like a temple on the property.. the staff was so polite and happy with flowers in their hair. Stay at least a 4 days. There was a great spa located in an amazing 1,000 year old grotto with oil massage performed outside overlooking the river. The town is wonderful of course with Balinese dance, art, shopping and restaurants all in walking distance. I would avoid the big art houses... they charge too much... even for Bali.. remember that what you pay in America is 10x what you pay in Bali for artworks. Go see Legong dance at the palace outside at night under the lights... The entire staff gathered to say goodbye and no one had their hand out for a tip. It was great.

Room Tip: overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    347
    109
    54
    38
See reviews for
133
414
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you want to get away from it all then it will be easy to achieve in this place. While set in beautiful suroundings being nestled down one side of a river valley that's about all it has going for it. To start off about the only amenities in any of the rooms is a mouldy bathroom and airconditioning. None of the rooms have internet, TV or even so much as a kettle. You are supplied with four small bottles of filtered water daily but if you want more you have to pay for them.
Happily there is a small 24 hour minin-mart just down the road where you can get 1.5 litre bottles of water for about 50 cents US. We were a family of five adults consuming a minumum of two liters of water daily.The other thing about the place is that being nestled on a steep hillside means that you are always trapsing up and down steps and some of these are downright dangerous.Murder on the knees and no fun for kids. The service was poor, staff were moody and the pools while deep enough to dive in seemed to be in perpetual shade. I can not recommend this place. Despite it's beautiful setting the Tjampuhan (pronounced champ-won) has few redeeming features. This was recommended by our travel agent. Next time I'll pay more attention to Trip Advisors reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This resort is set in one of the most beautiful properties I've ever stayed at or actually seen; huge amount of forest full of tall, think old tree's, its own temple, river flowing through with bamboo bridge, amazing spa dug out of rocks with lovely rock carvings etc. however in the room the bed linen is fairly old and the pillows I guess are ten years old plus!
Thats the let down.

A little bit of money spent on upgrading and replacing bed mattresses, pillows and bed sheets and this place will fly. It has a hot and cold plunge pool / spa apparently the pumps need fixing - its hard to find engineers in Ubud they say.

Breakfasts - a little look at the way they cook; margarine everywhere, - maybe some healthy options would be nicer!
What a lovely and thoroughly recommended resort property - no doubt they will improve and perhaps the GM will sit down with the owner(s) and have a re-think. This should be rated 5 all the way and with a little bit of a smart approach, it can easy make it. I love Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in one of their raja rooms. We chose this hotel due to its history and its geographical location. The hotel grounds are every bit as lovely as in photos, however this didn't make up for the lackluster room, service, or food we received at the hotel. We stayed in one of the lebak rooms down near the river. While the sights and sounds of the river and rainforest were nice, the room offered no privacy as it was located along a footpath between the spa and temple. The room was also dark and smelled of mold and the air conditioning didn't work very well, such that we ended up relying on the fan to cool our room. Throughout our travels in Indonesia, we have found hotel staff to be charming and professional. This was not the case at this hotel - the staff appeared generally ambivalent towards guests. We had to fill out our own hotel registration. Overall, we found this hotel to be utterly depressing. It has potential to be a truly great property with the right management and training.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Friends recommended Hotel Tjampuhan, and we were not disappointed. Cascading down the hill from the main road to the river below, the grounds are a riot of greenery, pools, ponds and wacky animal statues and decorations. At the bottom of the hill is the spa – and a traditional massage with the sound of the river rushing along just below is to die for.
Breakfast is at the top in a huge structure with a great outlook over the jungle and the villa units below. The food selection could have been better, and don't expect strong tea anywhere in Indonesia.
Staff are friendly and accommodating. They will all stop to talk and offer suggestions about things to see and do. The wifi is a little erratic at times, and don't expect the various bars to be open. But hey, Ubud village centre is five minutes walk (or the free shuttle bus) away.

Room Tip: From our room at the bottom of the hill, breakfast was 110 steps up! Good exercise, but ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you like greenery, this is the place for you, the rooms are really nice, ut be prepared for bugs, tropical, humid, green....bugs. They set up some kind of mosquito coils outside your room at night...

It is very interesting architechture, breakfast good, I found the check in staff a bit stuffy, but oh well... Ubud town is actually a good 20 mins plus walk, they do have a shuttle at certain times.

Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is warm and friendly. The spa is AMAZING!!!
A perfect holiday spot very central to everything.
A bit of Bali with all the comfort of home :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Tjampuhan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classic Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, built where two sacred rivers meet, has been legendary since 1928. As the first hotel in the artist colony of Ubud, this royal guest house graciously hosted celebrities and foreign painters such as Walter Spies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tjampuhan And Spa
Hotel Tjampuhan Ubud
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.