We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a beautiful spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud, Bali 80761, Indonesia (Formerly Waka di Ume Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Ubud
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay in a beautiful spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

When I was looking for somewhere to stay in Ubud I wanted something away from the main strip, and something with a view, at a reasonable price, this was it.

It's currently under renovation but will be complete by mid December from memory. The makeshift restaurant was still a nice setting though. The Staff there are all wonderful, I must praise one of the transfer drivers who drove me around town to find a clinic to buy some Panadol for my daughter too..

We had the Lanai Rice Terrace with Pool, massive room, great pool and view, and little hut for lunch as well. I did miss having a TV by the end as my 1 year old didn't handle the humidity outside too well and would have been handy, as we were confined to the Villa more than we wanted to be. But that's not a complaint at all.

Food/Drink prices are high compared to the previous 3 nights in Seminyak, and also compared to going out in Town, but the food is excellent. $6 for a Milkshake is too much though.. The aircon in the room is directly behind the bed, which is fine to keep it cool but the noise was annoying trying to get to sleep because other than that it's completely peaceful there.

It's a beautiful resort, with some nice views, and not too far out of town with the hotel shuttle very handy. My wife used the Spa and mentioned it was wonderful also. We would go back.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a pool, even though the Resort Pool is brilliant.. But we loved our own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    82
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
223
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Waka di Ume was an absolute pleasure to stay at. The staff were incredible and treated us like royalty the whole time (including two upgrades throughout our stay). They seemed to all know our names within hours of checking in and no request was too large for them to fulfill. The setting was an oasis in the middle of rice paddies and gave a much more authentic "Baliense" feel than that of the typical tourist hotels. The swimming pool was amazing, and many activities were offered. The shuttle ran regularly into the centre of Ubud which was the perfect way to sample the local restaurants, then come back to the tranquility of the hotel. I especially loved the long baths on the balcony watching the sunset every night - heaven! I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely experience to anyone needing some rest and relaxation. We were certainly sad to leave and look forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just come home from the Waka yesterday. Was nice, however is a bit tired and is currently under renovation. Annoyingly they did not inform us of this when we booked. We stayed in a rice terrrace pool villa, is good for 2 x singles as there are 2 x beds or a family. However the A/C is inadequate for the space and does not cool the bed in the open area, which is hot all day. You need to change and use the main bedroom if you want to stay cool. Room and bathroom was pleasant, is quite rustic, if you like shabby chic look you will love it. Pool was nice addition, though the main pool area is quite scenic and shady.
Due to renovation the breakfast and dinner area is very basic, definately not up to standard for the money we paid. Breakfast was average, they need to step up the quality of the bread, pastries and provide a toaster, cold toast is not acceptable, however the staff are lovely and did heat our toast when requested.
Afternoon teas were not at all impressive, the cold toast re-emerged one day as a small club sandwich. We did actually send ours back one day and again, the staff are so lovely they brought us some nice cake, much more befitting tea time. However we were expecting something a bit more lavish as other resorts in Ubud serve some pretty awesome teas.
We ordered room service twice for lunch, hamburgers and sandwiches, which were great and tasty.
The yoga was not on when we stayed, is only 2 times a week which is a great pity as their yoga room is beautiful. The spa is expensive compared to rest of Ubud, but the facility itself is nice, but not 5 star. We felt if the prices were dropped we would have used it a lot instead of going out for treatments.
Shuttle to town was always on time and staff very polite and sweet.
Lastly, when we arrived the free wi fi was not working , unfortunately needed a trip into an Ubud cafe to connect. Didn't happen again during stay but we could have done without the irritation. Again the staff were helpful and apologetic. Honestly, this has happened to us before - thats bali - but we have always recieved either a room credit, dinner etc. we felt they should have compensated us for that inconvenience.
If you like a nice room in the rice fields, you will love it, but it is not a 5 star resort, and is at the pricey end for rooms and suites in Ubud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nestled in a rice-field, and away from the hustle and bustle of the city and shops, this Resort provides a great place to unwind and relax. Do not look for a TV--there aren't any in the rooms! This means that guests are motivated to make full use of the facilities--swimming pool, yoga center, walk in the rice fields, or laze with fine food and drinks at the restaurant. The town is nearby in case you want to visit arts and crafts museums or showrooms. Prices of branded goods are also reasonable at the town. Will visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Waka di Ume is located in a beautiful setting and is ideal if you'd like to totally unwind and relax. The gardens are immaculate and add to the tranquility of the place. The relatively small size of the complex made it a real haven in contrast to the busier tourist destinations in Bali. The pool area is very enticing and a great locaton to have a swim or read a book.
However, the highlight is definitely the friendly staff who are totally attentive and welcoming.

Waka di Ume is just out of town but the 20 minute walk into the centre of Ubud is very managable and the hourly shuttle service is handy. You can take advantage of the numerous spa centres in Ubud as most are prepared to do a hotel pick up and drop off.

The hotel lobby and restuarant are undergoing some renovation but the alternative breakfast venue (the Yoga Room) was a perfect setting providing a leisurely start to the day.

I have no hesitation in recommending this resort to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

* Amazing spa!!!!!! I enjoyed the 2.5 hour package and left walking on a cloud
* Lovely room with a beautiful view
* Serene pool area
* Great food
* Hourly shuttle to the main street of Ubud
* Good location 10 mins drive from main street of Ubud
* Staff very friendly and helpful

Thanks for a wonderful retreat. I fully recharged my batteries and am ready to get back to my busy daily existence.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room for a beautiful view of the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were lucky to secure a room with our own private pool which was above the main path so we felt this was lovely and gave us privacy. Our arrival welcome drink was so refreshing as it took ages to come from Legian due to the crazy Saturday traffic.. We enjoyed the breakfast and dinners we ordered as room service and it was lovely to sit and see the rice paddies as our view. The pagoda set amongst a lotus pond was a beautiful place to sit and order a refreshment and just be. The pool and yoga room sure looked nice but we didn't use the pool seeing we had our own private pool. Our bed was super cosy and romantic. We loved the fact there was no TV as we could just lie and look at our fabulous bamboo and wicker ceilling. We really loved our sunken bath too. The afternoon tea served in the restaurant was also very yummy. We didn't stroll along the road as we found it a bit busy with loads of motorbikes zooming past and i think part of the whole experience is to just enjoy Waka Di Ume. We ventured into Ubud after we left and it certainly is a very busy, bustling place from the tranquil one I remember from 14 years ago.. Going back to Waka Di Ume..who apparently own the rice paddies..there was much laughter from rice paddy workers as they carried on with their duties and we appreciated how simple and joyous life can be. Waka Di Ume does offer a unique experience with a difference. We really had a romantic time.

Room Tip: Try not to have to go to UBUD if you can help it..this is the place to stay and hang amongst it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud, Bali 80761, Indonesia (Formerly Waka di Ume Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural ans artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of nineteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 4 Villas with private pool, 1 Terrace villa, 4 spacious Di Ume suites and 9 Lanais Rice Terrace. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Centre and meditation centre, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Waka di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Ubud Resort And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.