We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in an amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud, Bali 80761, Indonesia (Formerly Waka di Ume Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in an amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night after spending 4 nights at the Puri Sunia Resort. We dropped into the hotel at around 11 am and tried to negotiate a price; there was very little negotiation even though the hotel appeared to be quite quiet.

We eventually got a bit of a deal on a first floor suite room. Our room was on the corner and had two balconies; one overlooking the pool area and the other overlooking a rice field. The location of the hotel is absolutely stunning and very peaceful; the pool is fantastic and not too cold. The jacuzzi didn't smell too great so we didn't spend too long in it.

We had afternoon tea at the hotel which we thought was pretty basis. Our afternoon tea at the Puri Sunia hotel was amazing with a huge selection of teas and delicious cakes whereas the afternoon tea at this hotel was a little basic.

The shuttle service into Ubud was really useful and reliable.

The hotel offered yoga classes, however the cost of a class was just ridiculous!

Overall I thought the rooms were amazing (very clean, large and really beautiful) but the services let the hotel down a little. I think if we hadn't just come from the other hotel we probably have rated this hotel higher.

Having said all of this - I would still highly recommend this hotel for the surroundings and the amazing rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    84
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
232
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited Waka di Ume with a group of 9. We were treated specially from the moment we stepped from our taxi with a cold drink and a frangipani lei. There were several highlights to our stay. A relaxing massage in a room open to the rainforest, a market tour to Ubud food market to see the food that would be selected to use in our cooking class that evening under the guidance of the Restaurant Chef and Arika. The table was set amongst the rice paddys . It was a truly memorable moment. Our group of nine had an unbelievable experience.

This is a very special place and I would truly recommend it to anyone. The staff were always ready with a smile and were available and helpful. The food was delicious. The scenery astounding - rice paddies one way, rainforest the other.

All modern amenities to make your stay comfortable.

Do go there - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Many rooms have twin double beds, if you want a king size request it. But all are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We recently visited this resort again after a long time, and found it to be just as good as we hoped. Even though the resort was full, it was very quiet and peaceful, and the view from the patio is always relaxing. The staff are excellent, and the breakfast is fantastic. Special thanks to Sudiara who remembered us from last time (about 5 yrs ago)! I would recommend the Waka to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday away from the crowds

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I loved this resort. It is Ubud, the pool is great, There is no mobile ph. reception, no TV, just quiet and relaxing. Very nice sitting on patio after a days tour to see rice paddies and not hear anything. Staff are wonderful, and food is quite nice as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent a few days at Waka Di Ume and could not have asked for anything more. The staff are excellent, the included breakfast is great, especially the Indonesian breakfast and the room and view is brilliant. Rice paddies might not sound like much of a view, but it was so relaxing sitting on the patio looking over the fields.
The pool setting is really unusual, set amongst the vegetation with rock walls covered in moss. Almost an ancient feel to it all and no better way to cool off at the end of the day
The girls in the day spa know their stuff, as does the yoga instructor.
Ubud is a beautiful pace to escape to for a chill-out session, and Waka di Uma will make sure you get to town and back with their hourly shutle.
Overall, simply stunning

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My daughter (20 years old) and myself recently stayed in two Ubud resorts but I would highly recommend Waka di Ume. The staff were amazing, we loved the pool area, the gardens, the rice fields and the food!
I would certainly go back, next time with my husband, as it is a very romantic location and gives the real Bali experience with rice paid trekking and the staff are from the local village. Located 2 km from Ubud does make it a quiet but the regular shuttle service was good, except when you miss the last one.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheaper rooms overlooking the rice fields without the private pool but it was love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at Waka di Ume for 7 nights during February. We had such an amazing time, free upgrade on our first night (for staying a week), free breakfast daily, plus two free massages. The shuttle bus service is excellent. The staff were very friendly with great attention to detail! The rooms were fabulous, and the food was sublime! We were there for Valentines day also, and had an amazing private dinner which was reasonable in price and very romantic! All of the services and activities available were also fantastic! Once we left for Seminyak, we found no other resort could compare! We plan to return to Ubud soon and also plan a stay at the sister resort Waka Shorea!
Thank you for making our Bali experience simply amazing!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic, we in particular enjoyed the rooms over looking the rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud, Bali 80761, Indonesia (Formerly Waka di Ume Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural ans artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of nineteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 4 Villas with private pool, 1 Terrace villa, 4 spacious Di Ume suites and 9 Lanais Rice Terrace. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Centre and meditation centre, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Waka di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Ubud Resort And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.