We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, easy-going place, a small paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud, Bali 80761, Indonesia (Formerly Waka di Ume Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“relaxing, easy-going place, a small paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

After a long search, we choose this small hotel outside Ubud for a 2-night stay and were very charmed with the whole atmosphere and treatment; we got a splendid suite-room on the top-floor (only 1 level up), with great views on the rice-fields from our large terrace. The accomodation was very good, great room and bathroom, top comfort. They have a good complimentary transfer-system downtown in both directions. Their afternoon-tea is heavenly with all kinds of good small pastries - too good! And the pool is of a good size too.
Breakfast can take a while, because they prepare and serve it for each table separately, but this is not so bad; the view from the breakfast-terrace is breathtaking. And the service is excellent, the staff is very friendly and helpfull.
It is too far to walk downtown, but If you prefer nature and silence, in a small boutique-hotel, just go for it!
We definitely should return to this 'garden of Eden'!

Room Tip: all rooms are good and have views, ask the high floor; why not try a suite? it is a paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    85
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
234
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Superb stay in a gorgeous location.
Don't like the tourist areas of Bali much in general, way too commercial, but Waka di Ume Resort is totally worth the stay. Tranquility, serenity, calm, good for the soul.
From the warm welcome to the easy, but sad to leave, departure.
My son and I had a massive room overlooking the rice paddies, outdoor shower, bath the size of a mini pool, verandah to watch the fire flies and stars. Enjoyed afternoon tea of tasty treats, great restaurant menu and meals. We recommend the fabulous, evening cooking lesson in the outside cooking hut, even in the evening rain, don't have lunch beforehand.
Lovely pool and plenty of spaces for relaxing. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Easy (for us) walking distance to Ubud central, monkey forest etc There is an easy and free shuttle.
Take the time to explore the off the beaten track art outlets.
Charming staff, nothing too hard.

Room Tip: Anyone is lovely and most overlook the great views, but could ask to be close to the rice paddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed alone in a Lanai Terrace which I think was one of the hotels more basic villas. It was however, magnificent nevertheless. Location is good while being slightly out of town the hotel offers an hourly free shuttle ride into town or taxi or motorbike lifts are very readily available & cheap.
I had the most beautiful bathroom in my room with a slate stepped sunken bath & garden shower (though still indoors). The bed was comfortable & I enjoyed waking up like a princess in my king sized moquito canopy bed.
The gardens r magnificent & ponds with running water features everywhere created a sense of tranquility just perfect for relaxation. The pool was also magnificent & meals were great. Meals not as cheap as in town but still much cheaper than I'd pay at home.
I had a package including yoga sessions which turned out to be fabulous private lessons that I will never forget & two massage sessions in the spa.
One of my massage therapists (Puri) was far better than the other. She was so thorough & courteous & as cute as a button. I noticed another reviewer had written she had a allergic reaction to the oil. I'd have to say whilst each person is different, I have very sensitive skin & I also selected the ylang ylang oil & found it lovely on my skin & smelt so delicious. My skin has never been so good as when in Bali.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a special stay...perfect for a romantic honeymoon or anniversary or as a special experience to spoil yourself or ur family.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Park
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at Waka Di Ume for 6.5 nights and none of us wanted to leave. The staff are just incredible, the setting is beatiful, the food is fantastic, the rooms are heavenly, the grounds and facilities are tranquil. I really can't say enough nice things about this resort. We were a group of 2 mature adults and 4 young adults. Everyone loved it. It's nice being just that 1.5klms out of town, you can totally relax and of course it's close enough to take advantage of everything in Ubud. On arrival you are greeted by the most charming hotel staff I have every met. You are presented with a delicious drink and fresh cold towels to freshen up with, from there on it just keeps getting better and better.

The only down side was that we had booked and received confirmation of the 3 bedroom villa, however on arrival were advised the 3 bedroom villa was double booked, other guests were arriving the following day and had supposedly booked prior to us. It was sorted by way of putting us into a 2 bedroom villa and a 1 bedroom unit right next door. Altough it meant that 2 of our children had to share 1 kingsize bed, kids are 18 and 16, so they weren't too impressed with that at first, only other option was to take a room with 2 single beds at the other end of the resort. Looking back, we could have stood our ground and insisted on the 3 bedroom villa, but it's such a tranquil place that making a scene would have spoiled the entire atmosphere. In the end it didn't matter much, everyone was just loved the place.

I was prepared for insects, but did not encounter a single mosquito, very suprised. There were some geckos around, which may be why there weren't any mossies??

The views over the rice paddies are lovely, especially at sunset, we could also see the lights of Denpasar in the distance at night.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Travelled with a friend and spent 5 days at Waka Di Ume. The hotel was quite although it was at high capacity. The rooms are lovely and ours overlooked the rice fields which were actually being worked not just used as a pretty back drop. Huge bathrooms and a very comfortable king size bed. The breakfast was very good, cooked to order with plenty of variety. There is a shuttle bus down to Ubud although one day we mixed up the times and asked for a taxi. “No need” said an employee and took us down in his private car on his way home. You wouldn’t get that in Australia. All the staff were helpful and very charming; nothing was too much trouble from booking a tour, to late evening room service for a sudden desperate cocktail fix. The pool however was OMG freezing, invigorating but caused goosebumps. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Brilliant, Staff are so courteous, and love to have you stay!!
Walking into Ubud is a little difficult, but Villa happy to drop off and pick up..
Restaurant was full our first night, so they offered to set up a romantic dinner..candles, personal service, and choice of menu...no extra charge for this most delightful dinner overlooking the rice terraces :)
Room service very prompt, and again, no extra charge...
Rooms were absolutely spotless, towels changed twice a day..fully recommend for a relaxing break~~

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The location of this hotel is away from the bustle of the shops; located amongst the padi fields. The hotel provides an hourly car ride to the town. The rooms are big and airy, with mosquito nets. The standard of the hotel is expected as there are enough excellent reviews on this hotel.
We would like to highlight the stupendous service of the hotel staff. The sincerity of the staff can be seen from the gardeners, the housekeepers to the drivers; everyone is very helpful. It is such a delight to see such great service.
The downside to living in the "kampong" are the insects and the lizards and there are plenty of these in the room. Just make sure you have your slippers on when you walk in the room as you do not want to be stepping on the nasties from the lizards when you get up from your bed.
The other thing is that I wish the hotel would be abit more lenient in allowing late check outs when the hotel is not full.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of books as there are no TVs..which is great. Wifi is available in the rooms. Bring p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Suweta Banjar Sambahan, Ubud, Bali 80761, Indonesia (Formerly Waka di Ume Resort)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of quiet and serenity, only a minutes form hustle and bustle of Ubud, the cultural ans artistic heart of Bali. You will stay in one of nineteen individualistic and distinctive dwelling units, scattered down the gentle hillside flanked by rice field. The resort has 4 Villas with private pool, 1 Terrace villa, 4 spacious Di Ume suites and 9 Lanais Rice Terrace. The resort on-site facilities include 2 levels Padi restaurant, Traditional Balinese Kitchen on the rice paddies for cooking lesson, The spacious Yoga Centre and meditation centre, The open stage, a monumental wedding chapel, Gallery, an Organic garden, and A luxury three level ultra modern Spa in rice terrace. Everywhere at Waka di Ume, you are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun fabrics, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Di Ume Hotel Ubud
Waka Di Ume Ubud
Wapa Di Ume Ubud Resort And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wapa di Ume Ubud Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.