We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Bunga Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Bunga Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kedewatan Village | PO Box 141, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 324 Ubud B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is my second time here and I find it as delightful and wonderful as the first time. The views are magnificent, as if you were sitting in a lush Balinese painting. The pool on the edge of the cliff is a real treat (and clean, too!!). The staff is a delight. It is an utterly relaxing place that is as beguiling as it is comfortable. Rooms are huge and very comfortable. This time we had a delux room with a jacuzzi bath from which the view of the valley and mountains below was breathtaking. The gardens are beautiful and lush and the cool breezes that sweep through in the afternoon are just a delight.
It is located a bit out of the center, but there are bikes to borrow and free shuttle service to several spots in town.
We love this hotel, and hope to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
50
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, nsw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I booked this hotel while staying in a villa in Canggu on line. What attracted me was that it only had 10 rooms, aircon and located on the mountain side looking over the Ayung river.
Rooms were normally $AUD153 for a junior suite, but i paid $57 incl. bfast. the room had a 4 poster bed and bath. free wifi and satellite tv. 2 swimming pools, spa and fantastic grassy area for me to do my yoga and meditation in the morning looking onto mountains and river.
they organised a scooter for me so i had no issue with the location as it would have been a good 20 minute walk to centre of ubud (or more)
the staff were lovely and even though the spa charged in US dollars, they were so lovely i was prepared to pay the prices and have a shower with nothing but a shell curtain separating me from the mountains outside.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed at Puri Bunga for 3 nights and although it wasn't a nightmare, it wasn't anything to write home about either. Yes, the views from the restaurant terrace and some balconies were awesome, but it is not very conveniently located for Ubud central - but the hotel offers a free shuttle in the morning and afternoon. Getting back general did not cost us the world, but we were generally charged between Rp40,000 and Rp60,000.
The rooms were okay with nice bed linnen but oldish towels, but the rooms were a little damp although that might be hard to avoid in Ubud. Aircon worked fine.
The main problem we had was with service. The people were absolutely lovely and willing to help, but generally their english was so poor we could hardly order a cup of tea from the restaurant or make sure our taxi would be there on time to take us to our bus to our next destination!
Also, we had prebooked online and no one could find our reservation at check-in: 2 people who shared our taxi and who had not booked at all were suddenly given priority and got into a room 45mins before we did and the staff just let us wait until they sorted out our booking! That certainly was not nice after travelling for about 10 hours from the Gili islands ...
We were also told the main pool was broken, although it looked like it was okay. The other pool that was working properly was not so inviting and looked like it could do with some cleaning and minatenance.
These things are all not massive problems, but with the cheapest rooms starting at aorund US$65 we think you can get something better at a better location for that money.
Nice touches were the free afternoon tea (that is, if they understand what you're ordering), free 15min foot massage (bit of a try to sell you spa services, but still) and the breakfast was included and okay. Wifi was free, but only worked at reception, which is a bit of a hike from our room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The hotel is situated in a beautiful tropical décor, overlooking mountains, valley and river. Room nice and roomy. Nice outdoor shower, but I was a bit concerned that the window and bedroom door facing the outdoor area have no locks, I get the feeling it can be broken in quite easily from the wooden lattice at top of the outdoor area. The place is very relaxing but quite isolated. Not easy to communicate with staff at the reception in English, but nevertheless they are all nice and respectful people. Watch the guy with the green 4x4 occasionally at the reception, hire him if you want to get ripped off, he asked me Rp 800, 000.00 for a half day tour. Breakfast quite meager.
You can see in picture N0 3 the bedroom window & door I am talking about & the lattice at the top of the outdoor area.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Bland on 1 st impression. even a bit spooky as we arrive late.. Reception counter just a table. BUT STAFF are courteous n always ready to assist yet unobtrusive. Stayed 2 nights in deluxe room. View of Sg Ayung n surrounding valley breathtaking especially in the misty early morning.. Felt real good just taking in deep inhalation. Both bedrom , bathroom are hugh. Jacuzzi works well. Guessed staff made effort to clear the swimming pool ( quite small tho) of fallen leaves n debris prior to our arrival. Cud see young naked children frolicking in the river as well as rafters.in the evening. Moved over to standard superior room as other had prebooked on 3rd night.. Staff did well to clean up before we change over.,. breakfast however simple toast, eggs, fruit, beverage daily.. Only setback it's distance to ubud market. We did some trekking once n arrive main bazaar after 40 mins walk.. quite fun to do it once. Along the way there'll be transport offers ranging 10000-20000baht for 2 person 1 way.
They also oblige with late check out n even showering in one of the room. Great stay ! Luv it !

  • Liked — view, staff service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — much too quiet at night especially when we are the sole occupiers in such a hugh compound n reception desk is unmanned
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Bunga Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bunga Resort and Spa

Address: Kedewatan Village | PO Box 141, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Bunga Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa is located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It offers ten suites, all of which have air-conditioner, cable TV, and Internet connection. Some of its amenities include spa and massage service, swimming pool, yoga class, and free use of mountain bike. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Antonio Blanco Museum, Monkey Forest, and Basakih Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Bunga Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bunga Hotel Ubud
Puri Bunga Village Ubud
Puri Bunga Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.