We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okawati Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Okawati Hotel to your Saves list
Okawati Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Wanara Wana, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

One of my favorite spots on the planet. Upgraded a bit since our first visit
But still a small special welcoming place. Quiet. Pampering. Excellent location
Close to food, shopping, temple dances and rice paddy hikes. The owner is
lovely and she and her staff helpful with advice and tickets for events and sights.

Ubud is getting more modern but still great

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    77
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
36
108
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The location is great - on Monkey Road - but on an alley 2 rows off the road which made it very quite. Air conditioner worked well. The room was ample, clean, large. Clean, pressed linens every day. The staff was very helpful and delivered our breakfast daily to our patio at the scheduled time. The choices at breakfast were good - I had the fresh mixed juice (delicious),either the omlette or poached egg. It was alway accompanied by fresh fruit and delicious homemade yogurt. The only downside is the shower. The water pressure is SO LOW that I only showered once. I could not wash my hair. Instead I went to a spa, had a treatment and showered there. The toilet water pressure was fine but the shower really sucked. For the price I would stay somewhere else - or perhaps we should have insisted on another room. We were in room 7B.

Room Tip: Water pressure in 7B sucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have been staying there for 2 nights. Rooms are lovely prepared, with comfortable beds, working Aircon and good living space.
Hotel area is just wonderful, clean garden with nice flowers and plants all around, nice pool with clear water, quite deep...
Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit juice and great pancake.
Staff is nice and supportive.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody willing to sleep in the traditional Indonesian atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a smaller hotel with a pool, good fresh food, helpful staff and a nice lush garden. We had the family room, which is big, with the much needed aircon. When you exit, you are right in the heart of Ubud and close to the monkey forest.

Services are wifi, laundry, trips, cute geckos and daily morning offerings at your doorstep. We had a relaxing stay here.

Ps in the rating it says there is fitness and children's facilities but there are none.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are pretty dark, so a first floor room would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ban huay kor, thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

In December 2012 myself and two other female Peace Corps Volunteers spent 4 days at the Oka Wati Hotel & Restaurant in Ubud. We found it very inexpensive, tranquil, clean, pleasant, and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. It was close to all the activity but also quiet with a nice pool. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Traditional building in a wonderful, quiet garden with huge and clean pool, located centrally with all Ubud sights like monkey forest, temples, market and boutiques and restaurants etc. within walking distance. Just opposite the hotel (beside the soccer field) you can rent mountain bikes, book tours (we warmly recommend the Eco Cycling Tour) and exchange money at a rather good rate.

Mrs. Oka Wati and her team are very friendly and professional hosts, we immediately felt at home. The service was terrific – you can enjoy your breakfast directly on your terrace in front of the room (as if you were at home), each afternoon we found a thermos jug with hot tea on our terrace table (free of charge), the breakfast was the best we received in Bali (try the banana pancake and pineapple pancake!!).

Mrs. Okawati introduced us to local traditions and hinted on the local balinese events that happen every few days. We thank her for the pleasant stay in her place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Oka Wati Hotel is a quaint and traditional hotel. I believe in it's day it must have been incredible. I have read that there are upgraded rooms, however the room we were given was dark and in dire need of upgrading, especially the bathroom (ants everywhere) and a broken window repaired with red tape. There is a nice pool which was always kept clean and was very refreshing after a day of walking around town in the heat. The gardens around the pool were kept manicured, but could also use a little sprucing up. The bed was big and comfortable and the large deck was nice for relaxing on and enjoying the breakfast they deliver each morning (yes the honey yogurt is delicious with the fresh fruit!).
I believe what keeps people coming back is the location and the wonderful staff. You can be in the center of Ubud in virtually minutes and the staff were incredibly kind and helpful. What surprised us is that you are so close to town, which is a bustling traffic busy area, yet hear none of the noise associated with the town when you are back to the Hotel. It is a very peaceful hotel.
The Hotel is also located down an alley, so when arriving by taxi you are dropped off on the main street (Monkey Forest Road) and then you have to walk (with your luggage/bags) to the Hotel. Vehicles cannot drive to the hotel. Although there is a restaurant service in the Hotel there are many restaurants located close by in easy walking distance. We felt very safe walking around Ubud at night, but do recommend that you have a flashlight with you for walking back to the Hotel. Sidewalks are very uneven and dangerous for walking in daylight and even more dangerous at night.
We booked, through the Hotel, a bicycle day trip starting up near the Volcano and riding through the rice paddies, villages and ending with a wonderful lunch with a Balinese family. We enjoyed the nightly performances held at the temples and the Palace. And we had many wonderful meals from the various restaurants located all over Ubud. We did a hike around the rice paddies starting at the bridge, which turned out to be a full day as we took our time visiting the various arts and craft stalls along the way and stopped to talk with locals living and/or working along the walk.
Despite the taxi drivers and massage girls constantly asking for service, and the mother's begging with their children (which we found appalling), we loved Ubud for all of the arts and crafts (i.e. wood carvings and paintings) and scenery and decided to stay longer than originally planned. However we stayed at Oka Waki for only three nights, and then left for another Hotel, also located close to town, basically because we found the room too dark and gloomy. I would recommend this hotel if you like old and authentic hotels, but ask for an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okawati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okawati Hotel

Address: Jalan Wanara Wana, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Okawati Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us If you want to be close to all the action in Ubud, yet away from the noise and hustle, you have found the right place. Only 1 1/2 blocks from the center of Ubud, on a quiet alleyway off Monkey Forest Road, we are in close walking distance to the market, tourist information, evening performances, soccer field, major shopping, art museums and galleries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Okawati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okawati Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okawati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.