We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with beautifull, traditional garden.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Munut Balinese Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added De Munut Balinese Resort to your Saves list
De Munut Balinese Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Penestanan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with beautifull, traditional garden.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in the old part of this hotel. No reception, swimingpool and restaurant there, what made it very quiet. We used the very relaxing swimingpool in the new part of this hotel (1 min walk)Big room with nice views : at the back a small terras with view on a ricefield, at the front a spacious terras with view over the beautifull garden.
Housekeeping could be better. Rooms are not very well cleaned.
We loved to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
76
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at de Munut Cottages, we were in room 203 a second level room that was bright and comfortable with lots of large windows overlooking the rice terraces beside the property even a very large window in the bathroom. The property is a 15 minute downhill walk into central Ubud - we did not do the walk back at night as the road is narrow and dark in spots but I am sure it is do-able. There are three choices for the included breakfast which were excellent - we tried all three. The rooms are air-conditioned and have a ceiling fan and a table and chairs on a balcony. We found the staff to be very friendly but they were not very good with wake-up calls (small thing). We enjoyed our stay at de Munut and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Des Munut Cottages was a lovely little place situated just outside of the centre of Ubud. I had read reviews stating that it was a bit too far from the centre of Ubud, but I did not find this to be the case. If anything the walk to Ubud was very pleasant and the hotel itself was well positioned for visits to the nearby villages of Campuan and Penestanan, which are both charming and have some great little shops and warungs (small restaurants). I would say though that as nice as the walk to and from the hotel may be, it would be difficult for those not in good health or potentially with small children. For everyone else it's great!

As for the hotel, it is set in lush tropical gardens that are well kept by their very attentive gardener. It's very tranquil and the pool, whilst small, is very quaint and certainly good for a nice dip! The staff at the hotel were very friendly, happy to help us book trips and drivers for us.

The breakfast was simple but tasty. Their scrambled eggs were cracking (mind the pun)!

All in all, a lovely little hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My group had a nice, friendly check-in experience with nice staff, attentive & bright. A good "welcome" drink of blended papaya was offered. Immaculate, modern, yet charmingly Balinese entrance, parking, and reception area.

Grounds were spacious for so few rooms, with nice Balinese architecture, stonework, gardens. But once inside, my room was as charming as a jail cell. Sparse dim lighting made it tough to work. Room was large and had a verdant view (bathroom view a little odd with picture window looking out to alley), but not one carving, painting or objet d'art on the walls. The bathroom mirror had a carved picture frame, that was it. It was so cheerless!

For Ubud, just not up to the standard that small Bali bungalows are offering at this price. The walls are SO in need of new paint... just filthy stains along the walls that are so unnecessary in a land loaded with paint stores. No mosquito netting like shown on the website.

This area of Ubud has a reputation of theft and I was very glad to see safe boxes available for individual guest use, in locked front office. It did seem secure at night.

We checked out after finding another place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel and grounds looked appealing, the pool very pleasant and restaurant OK.
But we were moved to other accommodation about 100m along the very narrow road. So it was awkward to come back for a swim or breakfast and taxi drivers didn't know where to find us.
Our room was quite ok but seemed to be one of a few set inside temple grounds, very interesting surroundings but we didn't quite understand the purpose of the whole layout.
The bathroom was quite smelly at times unless we left the window open.
I would recommend you stay in the main hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahang
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The good : It has a very balinese home feeling, with very beautiful shady homestyle surroundings/landscaping. Helpful & polite staff. They have a good reading area. Like the open-air attach bathrooms - good experience. I like the verandah too.
The bad: We had leaking roof problem in our room. We booked 3 rooms for 4 nights and all the rooms seem to have a damp smell, even after every housekeeping service. There were stains of lizard droppings on our comforter, the pillows stinks, the additional bed that we had was uncomfortable too.
I must say if you are not particular about comfortable sleeping, this place is ok, but if you are looking forward to enjoy your room, this is not the place. There are much better ones our there. When morning comes, i don't even have the mood to lazy on the bed any longer, not for even a minute....
Too bad we made a wrong choice

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I arrived late at night at De Munut and my deluxe room was nothing at all like those in the photos on the website. Very basic tiled room with bed and fridge. Room was reasonably clean, but there were squashed mosquitoes on the walls, including blood spots. It wasn't particularly appealing.

The outside bathroom was charming, but the bathtub was badly in need of replacing (old and cracked). But the hot water was plentiful and it seemed to be private and protected from any prying eyes.

One thing I would have preferred is some of the other rooms have had wooden venetian blinds installed. My room had flimsy white curtains which let in the morning sun and made sleeping in past 6am difficult. My recommendation is to request a room with the wooden blinds if you choose to stay here.

The best thing about this hotel is the pool area - lush tropical plants and a nice area to relax in.

Breakfast is basic but sufficient. Nasi/mee goreng or eggs are the only choices and the staff don't speak the best English so if you want to vary your order, be prepared for anything!

De Munut cottages has friendly staff and is located in Champuhan, in between the main Ubud centre (15 minute walk) and Sangiggan. One word of warning - De Munut is located up a very steep road, so be careful if returning to the hotel on foot at night. Probably best to catch a cab/motorbike. If you're only staying a short time, Warung Mendez on the same road about 50 metres towards Penestanan is a great choice and removes the need to venture into Ubud for dinner.

Compared to the other places I stayed (Greenfield and Kebun Indah), De Munut was below average in quality and value and was the most expensive of the three hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Munut Balinese Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Munut Balinese Resort

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Munut Balinese Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Munut Balinese resort was established on 1970 and formerly known as Munut Bungalows, then turned back into one of cottages in Ubud under De Munut Cottages. Now they are advancing themselves into De Munut Balinese Resort, a unique resort serving Balinese impression to their guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your De Munut Balinese Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munut Cottages Hotel Ubud
De Munut Balinese Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Munut Balinese Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.