We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa to your Saves list
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Guys we just spent 2 nights on our honeymoon trip at kupu kupu barong in barong private pool villa, the hotel is excellent location and view are more than perfect, people are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very clean although its in the jungle so i am sure there is a huge effort exerted there.
Although i was given a villa that had a very small pool with an unclean deck due to ants and the pool was very dirty with ants from the deck, we called for someone to clean it but i guess it is a disadvantage of villa 16 although it had a perfect view of the river and the greenery.

I had a huge concern on some maintainence work that was done near our villa with noisy machinary and workers but i took 3 calls to the receptionto get them at least stop the noisy machine as it woke us 7 am.

The butler service is great and very friendly.

Overall it was a nice experience, i have photos of the hotel and the view.

Room Tip: Villa 16 was a bad choise coz we didnt use the pool and the deck due to ants and insects in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    128
    40
    37
    24
See reviews for
102
535
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I came to Ubud to enjoy the great hospitality, relaxed vibe and beautiful surroundings it's so renowned for. We found it all during our three nights at the Kupu Kupu Barong!

The hotel offers all of the services one may expect of a hotel of this class but in such a way that you instantly feel at home. A 'butler' is assigned to each room/cottage for anything you may require or want to ask or arrange. The surroundings of the hotel are maginificent, especially the views from the restaurant and the 'bird nest' make you wish you could stay around a whole lot longer! The staff is extremely attentive and the 'golfcart' service is really useful if you dont feel like walking the potentially many steps to or from your room (even though it's like walking through an old jungle temple with great views - really cool!).

Things that could be better: the breakfast is a la carte. The quality is really good but it has to be your thing. All extra services offered by the hotel (e.g. tours, dinner, taxi's outside regular shutlle service) are charged in USD and very much on the steep side compared to when one arranges it in Ubud.

Things that were exceptionally good: the rooms were beautiful and fitted with the latest audio/tv equipemnt, the premises and views are amazing, the location is 10 mins by car outside of Ubud which gives it a really 'zen' feel but isnt too far away but best was the service: impeccable and extremely kind.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was shocked when I saw the lobby faceing the valley. I was reservde the Ayung river view villa. Every morning I could sit in the balcony or walked in the valley, hearing the sound of the water running, looking at the beautiful scenery. I was enjoyed it very much. The sevice of villa was also very comfortable

Room Tip: all room is good thanks hehe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We lived in a Ayung river pool villa and it was outstanding. Really quiet and private, nicely furnished, good stereo equipment. From the very first moment in this hotel we were surounded by attentive staff. They have a great ability to be there when you need them and to be invisible when you want privacy. They always ask what you are going to do today , but dont be annoyed by it, it has a purpose:this way they know where you are going to be at any given moment and thus helps you to avoid any troubles. For example, if your pick up to some tour is late, they call the company and ask about the situation so you wouldnt have to move a finger. They try to clean your villa twice a day and make sure you have enough drinking water suplies. But when you hang a privacy note it's really like you are alone in a jungle. At night there are a lot of jungle voices but we loved it. Though if you're not a nature fan, choose another hotel that offers rooms and not private villas. The only thing that really should have been better is food. I do not recommend eating there cause it's really overpriced and not so deliciuos. The same can be said about mango tree spa. It's not really worth it cause prices in comparison with ubud spa's is 10 times higher (I'm not joking). The best spa in Ubud is "Bali Botanica". Try it!!! If You want to book a tour do it in the city, it's going to cost half the price that hotel is offering, same goes to hiring a car for long distances. Overall a really great experience in Kupu kupu barong(which means big buterfly:) I cannot imagine anything better in Ubud. Just magical!

Room Tip: The Ayung river pool villas. Especially the ones that are far downhill. Very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at kupu kupu in October and it exceeded our expectations. The staff are incredibly friendly and super helpful. The food was amazing and the setting beautiful. Nothing was too much for the staff and we never felt like we were asking too much. The location is just far enough out of town to be quite, yet central Ubud is only 5mins by car. We'll definitely be back hopefully sooner rather than later. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing and special.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is just outside Ubud which is perfect if you want to get away from it all but still have the ability to go into Ubud for dinner etc.

We stayed in 'Village Duplex' room which was huge with all the facilities we needed, very big bathroom.

The staff were really friendly. Our one complaint was the food was never hot enough (temperature) and was not as good as we got in town...this was a good thing as it meant we got out and about more than we might otherwise have done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was shocked when I saw the lobby faceing the valley. I was reservde the Ayung river view villa. Every morning I could sit in the balcony or walked in the valley, hearing the sound of the water running, looking at the beautiful scenery. I was enjoyed it very much. The sevice of villa was also very comfortable. Every hotel staff was very nice. So I will go back next time and recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: The Ayung river view pool villa is valued to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ubud
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#35 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.