We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect start to our honeymoon.. we felt like royalty in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa to your Saves list
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 123 Hotels in Ubud
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The perfect start to our honeymoon.. we felt like royalty in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

As soon as we stepped into the lobby overlooking the mountains of Ubud we felt the royal treatment. Starting from the bell captaing to the receptionist and finally the personal butler who drove us to our private villa with a pool with a golf cart.
The "Ayung river villa" we stayed in was breath taking with a heavenly view overlooking the forest and the Ayung river with 360 degrees panoramic view of the surroundings. It had a private pool (it is private) with a sun deck, the room itself was lovely with all the facilities needed as well as a jacuzzi. Since it was our honeymoon they offered us a welcome note and a cake.
Breakfast was amazing (a choice of American, Indonesian, and Continental) we always chose the American breakfast and it was worth it. Room service was very delicious we had the "Udang Gureng" every night and some spring rolls (forgot it's name).
The only thing you should take care of when going to Kupu Kupu are the insects and mosquitoes (but this is a general concern in Bali, since you're in a forest :))nevertheless will definitely go back if we have the chance to.

Thank you to all the lovely staff in Kupu Kupu Barong, you made our dream come true ;)

Room Tip: Ayung river villas (with the private pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR975478, Public Relations Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Warmest greetings from Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa…

Thank you for trusting Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa for your honeymoon venue in Bali.
We are all here very pleased since you would spend your time to give a positive comment about our villa, staffs, restaurant, food and services. We are thankful for your compliment and we also happy to make your dream comes true. We’ll ensure to improve our property, facility and services for our guest satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa in the near future to celebrating love, enjoy the nature and tradition of Balinese culture in the heart of Bali Island, Kedewatan village, Ubud.

Kind regards,
Ratih
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    119
    36
    34
    24
See reviews for
97
496
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

After a long flight from Denmark it was like coming to heaven. The welcome was warm and we felt at home from the first minute. The butler gave us a nice explanation of everything on the resort, and whatever we asked for we had a kind and heltful reply. In the restaurant we vere also welcome by mr. Kasana and his crew, and the food we got there every day was excellent. We can highly recomment this place if you want to relax, having good food and be treated like kings and queens. Dorte and Mogens

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR975478, Public Relations Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Warmest greetings from Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa…

Thank you for trusting Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa for your accommodation choice during your holiday in Bali.
We are all here very pleased since you would spend your time to give a positive comment about our villa, staffs, restaurant, food and services. Mr. Karsana and all of our service staffs would be very proud to hear this complimentary. We’ll ensure to improve our property, facility and services for our guest satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa in the near future to enjoy the nature and tradition of Balinese culture in the heart of Bali Island, Kedewatan village, Ubud.

Kind regards,
Ratih
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 3 years ago and it was a wonderful experience. We really wanted to come back to this place as we had good memories.
This time, it seems to be a completely different hotel. There are constructions in various location and it was really noisy in our room. We cannot enjoy our terrace at all. They offered us a spa to apologize but our stay was ruined. It is really disappointing for the price that they charge you.
The service is not as good as before and the food not consistent (the same dish was on the first day really good and the day after overcooked and taste differently).
Really disappointing second experience in this hotel. We will not come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widana, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

"Warm greetings from Kupu Kupu Barong and Tree Spa-Ubud".

Thank you very much for the very constructive feedback you have given us subsequent to your stay. The time that you have spent at Kupu Kupu Barong and Tree Spa-Ubud is not only appreciated but also honorable. While I do apologies for not having lived up to your expectations, we appreciate the detail to which you have gone to give us your positive comments and also the ones that were not so positive.

We are going to work on each point noted and plan steps to ensure non repetition and trust that someday, you would give us the opportunity again to show that we could do differently.

We highly appreciate your trust in choosing your accommodation with us, despite of some bad reviews in TripAdvisor.

Once again thank you very much indeed for your value comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our lovely resort.

Kind Regards,
Made Merta Widana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The moment we checked in, welcoming was bad ... as honey mooners we were promised of so many things, we were promised to have a relaxing time, but we never did.
To start with, service was very slow people hardly understood what we wanted. There was no internet but one computer in the lobby which was hardly working.
Suites were ver y dirty and full of different kinds of insects we were swollen all over.
View was not nice, the river wasin a hollow hole and was barely seen unnless you climb up the reception area ..

Food was awful, I was very sick after having a rice with vegetable meal!
Going to Ubud, was not interesting as forseen, all paintings and local art was the same everywhere with different prices u have to bargin until you loose your breath …
Its not a place for honeymooners whatsoever, I think it is a place for people who would like to discover nature or do some adventure …


very bad

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. On behalf of management Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we implore your apology for the inconvenience during your stay, and we already pass your feedback to our team. We do taking your comment as a significant input to our service and facility improvement.
We wish you’ll always stay healthy and happy and we will be very happy to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future, with our upgrading services and facilities.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Fantastic resort with great views over the river, good food and amazing service. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated.
We will be back.

H. & L.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than safe and satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.
On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.
We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback. We wish you’ll always stay healthy and happy to have another Ubud’s culture and nature exploration, and we looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We unfortunately only had 2 nights at Kupu Kupu Barong in an Ayung River Pool Villa. The 180 degree views were absolutely breathtaking, the room was more than adequate with large spa, private pool overlooking the river, jungle clad ravine and rice padis, large bed, outdoor day bed, pool lounges, 2nd balcony and separate shower and toilet area. The staff are very friendly and attentive, breakfast was excellent and the location perfect.
This is the type of room you do not want to leave, even for meals.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than safe and satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.
On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.
We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback. We wish you’ll always stay healthy and happy to have another experience to explore Ubud, as we looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

It’s truly an extraordinary place. Everything is more than perfect ; the nature , the view the service and food

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than safe and satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.
On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.
We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback. We wish you’ll always stay healthy and happy to have another Ubud’s culture and nature exploration, and we looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#34 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.