We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali

Save Saved
You added Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Promo, 40% Off
Ranked #32 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very enjoyable stay. This was our third trip to bali this year. We stayed at Seminyak the last 2 trips n wanted to try something different. Ubud was chosen because we wanted a resort with a nice view n we were not disappointed. We were given a 2 bedroom pool villa as all the 1 bedroom pool villas were occupied. We loved the view. It was overlooking the Valley. It was a very enjoyable stay. But if you are looking for good food, then Seminyak will be a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    180
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
121
422
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were looking for Balinese village experience for start of our journey.
Stayed at Garden Villa for 2 nights and it was perfect, tranquil atmosphere.
Beautifully manicured ground & villa.

Noticed construction work going on next to the main pool but noise level was tolerable while we were there.

Little out from Ubud centre, but free scheduled shuttle service 5-6 times a day.
Taxi to/from airport cost approx 230,000 rp (A$23) or can be arranged by hotel at US$60.

We arrived late around 11pm, check in process was very efficient and pleasant.

Breakfast : Breakfast time 7-10am, limited selection but sufficient. Little crowded between 8-9am, Other resorts we stayed offer breakfast until 11am and choice of dining at villa at no additional charge. Kamandalu resort might consider to offer the same.

Swimming Pool: 1 Infinity pool with valley view near yoga house and 1 main pool at the center of the village. Both very quiet as most villa has private pool. Minor gripe for me: Happy hour should be buy 1 get 1 free! not buy 2 get 1 free!

Room: clean and well stocked amenities. TV is old style & small but didn't bothered us.
In-room Safe is quite old & awkward to use. Had to repair few times as it beeped continuously.

Overall very pleasant and relaxing stay. Staff very friendly and efficient.
We love to come back and stay in villa with a pool & valley view next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in villa 201, a two bedroom villa with the most incredible views! The infinity pool overlooking the jungle was beautiful and added a real wow factor when we arrived. We could have stayed in the resort and not left for the entire stay. The hospitality in the hotel and Ubud in general was first class and very welcoming, everyone was so polite and really did set the bar high when it comes to service.

The hotel was in the process of carrying out refurbishments but these works did not impact on our stay in anyway and the staff went out of their way to ensure that nothing was affected, and to be honest we wouldn't have known if they hadn't of mentioned it. The grounds were kept immaculate and it was just a thoroughly nice place to be. There were two very beautiful communal pools, but we did not use either of them choosing instead to stay around our private pool.

The online gripe I have is that the bed linen, mosquito nets etc could have been cleaner. They weren't particularly dirty, more stained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Kamandalu is very natural, we stayed 2 nights there, very peacefull. The staffs are profesional, very kind and helpful. we didn't take the honeymoon package, but they treated us very well, the give us the honeymoon cake, gifts, and other decoration inside the room like the other honeymooners. We appreciate so much for this, we are very happy and will remember our great memories there. Thanks :)

Room Tip: the one near the valley will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Due to the good recommendations we decided to stay in the Kamandulu Resort. Our aim was to spend our last two days on Bali here. The price of 170 Euro a night seemed okay, but now as we have been here we have to say that it was way overpriced. The whole hotel is quite old and the room was not okay. There were dark spots on the curtain and sheets, the bath tub was dirty and the hygiene products were of low quality. Additionaly there were renovations going on in front of the window and we had a look on a dirty roof. The most dissapointing fact was the breakfast. No fresh juice, just cheap concentrate, no big choice and ants all over the cereals. The hotel as such is not recommendable at all and we will not come back!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel: We had a stop in Abu Dhabi, Anantara was very comfortable there and classes bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had the deluxe pool villa #200 and it was simply divine. I do get the feeling that we got the pick of the bunch, judging by the resort map. If you are going to stay there, I think it appears to be worth spending the extra cash to get a pool villa backing on to the river, especially if you want privacy. At most, I think I flashed a farmer on the neighboring hill.
The buffet breakfasts are better than the in room dining in terms of choice. The lunch and dinner menu was very limited, best to head in to Ubud for the babi guling. The new restaurant they are building should be far superior. That said, there was as cultural night with bbq on our final day and that meal was indeed a highlight of the entire trip.
The staff were polished, friendly and incredibly helpful, even the gentlemen tending the gardens!
My only real concerns were the problematic wifi and the layout of the villa. The main structure was more of a concrete house, which did feel claustrophobic at times. I personally prefer the traditional open plan living style, but I am sure the predominantly western clientele appreciate the modesty provided by walls - even from their own partners ; )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here from Aug. 18-22, 2013 with a photographic tour group. Our cottage was impeccable and spacious. The outdoor "day bed" seating area provided lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfasts were very good and offered variety. Bathrooms have an indoor tub and lovely outdoor private shower. There are two swimming pools. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall, a quiet, peaceful Oasis in busy Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali

Address: Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#25 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamandalu Ubud is a 5-star boutique resort and spa located conveniently in a serene area of Ubud, Bali, a place long famed for its rice terraces and Balinese traditional arts.The resort's compound of 58 luxurious villas is a resemblance of an enchanting Balinese village. Individually designed with thatched roof, each villa features a spacious bedroom complete with modern amenities and outdoor showers. For the ultimate in privacy, some villas have their own private swimming pools. The resort is beautifully nestled between the green rice paddies and the tropical valley, just a 10 minute drive from the center of Ubud with complimentary scheduled shuttle service to center of Ubud. The resort is an hour comfortable drive from Ngurah Rai international airport on well paved roads. Airport pick-ups and limousines services can be arranged by the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamandalu Resort And Spa, Ubud, Bali Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Resort Ubud
Kamandalu Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamandalu Resort and Spa, Ubud, Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.