We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful honeymoon!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamandalu Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Kamandalu Ubud to your Saves list
Kamandalu Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deal, 25% Off
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful honeymoon!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Kamandalu for our honeymoon for 8 days in April 2013 and had the most wonderful time!!!

We stayed in a pool villa that had the most stunning views from the day bed and decent sized private pool!!!! The bed was set up with 'swan' towels and we were given a special honeymoon cake! The bed was stunning, huge and comfy.

The staff were absolutely wonderful and some of the friendliest I have ever come across whilst travelling!

The resort itself is set within stunning grounds (it really does look as beautiful in real life as in the pictures!) and all ways had a quiet very relaxed atmosphere, there is a real traditional rustic feel to it whilst still surrounding you in luxury! There were never anymore than a few other couples milling around the pool area at any one time! We went during Easter break and there were families with children there. They tended to stay around the main pool where the parents could keep an eye on them so if you prefer things a little quieter then the infinity pool is brilliant! Great views and because the sun loungers are on a viewing platform below out of sight of the pool it is a lot quieter than the main swimming pool!

The free shuttle bus is great and very prompt and they always send more transport if there are more guests that can fit in at one time! Don't panic if you miss the last one though as it costs £5 or under in a cab to get back to the resort!
I would not choose to walk there as it really is quite a distance in the heat!!!!!!

The food at the resort is excellent and whilst it is always going to be more expensive than food in Ubud (£3-£5 main courses) it wasn't as expensive as I feared! Main courses start from around £10 (exchange rate at the time!) and go up depending on the meal, which for a 5star resort I thought was quite reasonable! Just be careful when reading the menu as we missed a zero when looking at the wine list and ended up spending about £60 on a bottle of wine which turned out to be one of the most expensive purchases of our trip!!! (It was very good wine though!)

A couple of very small negative points. Our villa (405) was partially overlooked by another villa and the day bed was not private at all (could be fixed by moving it to the other side of the 'garden') the majority of the pool and outside area was completely private though!

The only bar at the moment is sunken in the main pool, a bar area with a few seats that you could have a drink at without having to sit in the restaurant would be nice for the evenings!

My main disappointment was the 'Village Club' which was a small sterile windowless room (windows too high to see out of) past the gift shop! We were told we were entitled to a free cocktail each evening between 6pm and 9pm each time we went in there was no one there, after several days we discovered you are supposed to ring through your order and get it delivered! This seemed far too much of a waste of time and we didn't really want to spend to much time in the room so we didn't receive a single one of our 'privilege' cocktails! A system of giving couples vouchers that they could use each evening would be a MUCH better way of doing things!!! And let people enjoy their drinks in much better surroundings!!!

We did use the village club to wait for the shuttle bus and nibble on biscuits during 'afternoon tea' but whilst there we took one small lemonade and one small coke from the fridge. There were no prices or anything on them so we assumed they were complimentary only to be charged at the end of the stay!!!!! This really seemed a little unfair considering the lack of information and the fact we hadn't had the 14 cocktails we could have claimed by this point!!!!

Over all the stay was very nearly perfect! We had a wonderful time and Kamandalu is bar far the best and nicest 5star hotel that I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world!!!!!!!!!!! If I could go back in time and book our honeymoon again I would ABSOLUTELY choose Kamandalu!!!!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful, beautiful resort!!!!
Xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    201
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
138
487
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent five fantastic nights at Kamandalu. Aside from the resort being in first-class condition, it was the staff who really went the extra mile to make my stay enjoyable.

They spent a considerable amount of time assisting my friend and I prepare our day-to-day activities. Their advice was great and honest.

They even went and bought me some medicine when I injured myself during white water rafting.
I have travelled to more than 30 countries, stayed at many hotels. This resort so far, is my stand-out favourite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a very relaxing 3 night stay here and wished we'd stayed longer! Our villa was very private, clean and well set up. We even had a day bed outside, which overlooked some beautiful jungle scenery. Another highlight was the outdoor shower- a real luxury! The staff there were the friendliest in Bali, and were keen to assist us whenever required. Buffet breakfast was delicious, with plenty of variety, however the waffles and pancakes were usually only luke warm by the time we got to them. There are two beautiful pools, both surrounded by more jungle scenery, and one with a swim-up bar. Drinks and food were nice, but at least double the price of what restaurants in Ubud offered. Too far out of Ubud to walk really, but the shuttle service is available, and taxis are cheap. The staff will also drive you into town themselves for about $5. Overall, a wonderful, relaxing stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are traveling with our 10 month old and have booked a pool villa. The hotel has been more than happy to accommodate a few requests, answer numerous questions, and arrange additional transportation. I am also impressed that the hotel not only takes the time to respond to guests postings on tripadvisor, but addresses each concern and compliment! We haven't been there yet, but I'm already impressed with the service they are providing!! So far 5 stars!

More when we return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our Kamandalu Resort and Spa experience was very peaceful and quiet, a great location for honeymooners or those that are in need of a rat-race getaway. The hotel provides a shuttle service from the centre of Ubud to the resort, but in the evening the shuttle runs are not as frequent so we found we needed a taxi. It would be quite a walk from the resort to the centre of Ubud. Rooms are very spacious and an outside shower was a decadent surprise. Be warned the canopy beds are quite high off the floor and the three of us found the mattresses were on the firm side. Service was excellent, staff were so polite and caring. Breakfast and evening meals were standard and reasonably priced. We did not use the spa/massage facilities as they were quite expensive. The swimming pools were beautiful and clean. Perhaps we needed to spend another night to fully enjoy the resort's surrounds and ambience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It took us a while to choose a hotel in Ubud and I'm very glad that we finalized with Kamandalu Hotel. It's one of the most beautiful hotels I've stayed in. We got a Pool Villa and it exceeded our expectations. The room itself is spacious. It has a beautiful, big bed with a canopy and the bathroom has an indoor floor tub and an outdoor shower. Outside our room, you can find a gorgeous pool and a day bed where you can hang out.

You can choose from two communal pools - a huge main pool and an infinity pool overlooking the forest. In the middle of the main pool is a cocktail bar where you can enjoy some drinks. Unlike other hotels, the main pool is open until late.

The overall ambiance of Kamandalu Hotel is very, very serene and relaxing. You can find a lot of lush trees and plants.

Service is A+. The staff are very accommodating and they do everything with a warm smile.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a Pool Villa, it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a nice resort, quiet and peaceful, with great landscaping and is a very good place for relaxation. The staff is very friendly and always smiling. We went during the low season so it's a very good deal and not too crowded so service is excellent. We did have a pleasant stay and would love to go back again.....

Monica Piah
21 March 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamandalu Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamandalu Ubud

Address: Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kamandalu Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamandalu Ubud is a 5-star boutique resort and spa located conveniently in a serene area of Ubud, Bali, a place long famed for its rice terraces and Balinese traditional arts.The resort's compound of 58 luxurious villas is a resemblance of an enchanting Balinese village. Individually designed with thatched roof, each villa features a spacious bedroom complete with modern amenities and outdoor showers. For the ultimate in privacy, some villas have their own private swimming pools. The resort is beautifully nestled between the green rice paddies and the tropical valley, just a 10 minute drive from the center of Ubud with complimentary scheduled shuttle service to center of Ubud. The resort is an hour comfortable drive from Ngurah Rai international airport on well paved roads. Airport pick-ups and limousines services can be arranged by the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kamandalu Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamandalu Resort And Spa, Ubud, Bali Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Resort Ubud
Kamandalu Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamandalu Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.