We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people of kamandalu were simply marvelous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamandalu Ubud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kamandalu Ubud to your Saves list
Kamandalu Ubud
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, 30% Off
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The people of kamandalu were simply marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed with flowers, fruits and were greeted by cheerful smiles n greetings each time we walked past any of their staff. It was a very nice n pleasant stay at kamandalu and their service too is marvelous. The food (dinner) really has standard and tastes so much nicer thn those we tried outside the hotel. :D they having weekly foggin sessions too which I think it's very good! Definite must go for those who want to relax and stay away from the buzzing city.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    218
    53
    13
    5
See reviews for
150
524
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

You know this is one of those times that you arrive deflated by the disconnect of the photos and the actual property. Selected a "private" villa and pool from the photo only to be subjected to a public place with a tiny pool. When contested, they immediately changed it. Ubud is not the Bali everyone imagines, but it is so peaceful. Simply relaxing. Having said this, do not sign up for the "Club" as it is a joke. You get 1 drink a night from the menu. The breakfast is good. Make sure that you get the room you want. The service is great, and the sleep quality is excellent. Get a private pool.

Room Tip: seclusion is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shazzattack
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed one week in the Deluxe Pool Villa - WOW!! Huge comfy bed with separate living area, infinity pool overlooking the forest with deck chairs and day bed. I never wanted to leave! A bit out of the way, but the Shuttle Bus departed for town most hours. Service was impeccable, staff incredibly friendly. Buffett breakfast daily was wonderful. BEWARE of the Bali Moon cocktails! They will knock you out! Only downside was their restaurant and room service was quite pricey, and not of great quality. That, and the spa is incredibly expensive! I would suggest eating out as often as possible and getting your massages elsewhere. Definitely want to return, am missing it already!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed during Chinese New Year in February 2013. Most of the other guests were overnighters travelling by coach from place to place. We had booked in for the whole week and we were so happy that we had. Our pool villa was lovely with a huge, romantic bed and great bathroom, but the garden was simply stunning. A biggish lawn area with trees and flowers to attract wildlife, some loungers, an infinity pool, a cooling stream leading down to a daybed perched close to the valley edge, with views of the tropical valley. Every time we left the resort, we couldn't wait to get back to the privacy and relaxation of our villa garden. Skinny-dipping was us!
The staff had those beautiful Balinese smiles and delightful friendliness, each evening we had a little gift left on our bed, and the food was great, but it was the garden that made it special. It wasn't cheap and the food and wine was pretty expensive but, in my opinion, it is the only reason ever to go back to Bali.
In case you are wondering, the only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is the lobby area. It's currently under reconstruction and is disappointing on arrival despite the best efforts of the delightful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 406 and the staff told us that villa 408 was equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to Bali for two weeks in February 2013 with my wife, and we stayed here twice as Wotif mystery deals. I had rooms 207 and 220. Both rooms are nice, basically a single bedroom with a nice bath and an outdoor shower. Each day the staff would leave a little gift when they cleaned. One time they filled the bathtub with petals; another time they left little elephants made from towels. The rooms were clean.
The resort is a bit older, but still great to stay. The beds are four-poster beds. They are a bit hard, but that's about the only complaint I could think of. We had no issues with insects or mosquitoes.
I can't praise the staff enough, never saw anyone that didn't smile, and they went out of their way to look after us. For example, we saw a man climb a tree and start harvesting a variety of mango; I asked one of the staff about and next thing I know she had arranged for the kitchen staff to prepare one with sauce for me to taste. No matter how silly my question, they were always willing to help.
There is a salt water pool but I didn't try it. The other pool is a standard chlorine pool, quite warm, with a poolside bar.
There is some construction work going on, but I didn't hear any noise and they have hidden it very creatively with a massive wall of bamboo, so it doesn't look too bad.
The place is a little bit out of Ubud, I recommend renting a car to give yourself some freedom to come and go, especially given the scarcity of taxis. Bali driving is not as scary as people make out, you just need to pay close attention to what is happening around you. There is a shuttle service to Ubud, but I didn't need to use it.
The room included breakfast; the buffet was fantastic with a lot of options (including vegetarian) and I ended up very full every morning. The staff were very considerate in preparing vegetarian versions of the hot dishes for me.
The food and spa in the resort are quite expensive, I recommend going into Ubud to eat/massage.
Finding the resort for the first time was very difficult. The signage is very poor. It took me about two hours of driving around (after some bad directions from the locals) before I found it. If you find yourself driving on a narrow path between rice fields, then you are going the wrong way! Tip: turn right at the black and white Viceroy hotel sign on Jalan Raya Andong, about 1.5km north of the traffic lights with the statue.
It's a very big resort, so there is some walking involved in getting to the villas. The walk is quite pretty though, plenty of flowers, a large lily pond, and even some lizards along the way.
In summary, it's a fantastic place to stay, and if I was in the area I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had booked and stayed 3 days in Kuta and wondered why people went to Bali? After moving to Ubud and checking into the Kamandalu we where more then pleasantly surprised. Staff where friendly and helpful. We had up graded before booking to a Pool Villa and it was fantastic. The infinity pool, the daybeds and general outdoors of the villa and view was excellent.
Villa rooms extras are great, afternoon tea, cocktails, soft drinks and waters available inc in the cost. Meals and drinks where well priced. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool Villas. Bed a bit hard, but we generally sleep on a water bed so what can we expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed 3 days here...

No complains...

Awesome and beautiful resort.... Staff very helpful... Food was also very nice...

Nice place to stay in ubud.

Pool villa was very nice ....pools are cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamandalu, General Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Prashant2769,

We are honored that you decided to spend your honeymoon at Kamandalu Resort and Spa. Thank you for your compliments on our beautiful resort. Everyone is a family here at Kamandalu Resort and Spa and we do our outmost to welcome our guests to our home.

Thank you for your compliments on our food.

We are pleased that you enjoyed staying at our spacious and private pool villa.

We hope to be able to serve you again soon in the future.

Sincerely,
Kamandalu Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kamandalu Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamandalu Ubud

Address: Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80561, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#29 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamandalu Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamandalu Ubud is a 5-star boutique resort and spa located conveniently in a serene area of Ubud, Bali, a place long famed for its rice terraces and Balinese traditional arts.The resort's compound of 58 luxurious villas is a resemblance of an enchanting Balinese village. Individually designed with thatched roof, each villa features a spacious bedroom complete with modern amenities and outdoor showers. For the ultimate in privacy, some villas have their own private swimming pools. The resort is beautifully nestled between the green rice paddies and the tropical valley, just a 10 minute drive from the center of Ubud with complimentary scheduled shuttle service to center of Ubud. The resort is an hour comfortable drive from Ngurah Rai international airport on well paved roads. Airport pick-ups and limousines services can be arranged by the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kamandalu Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamandalu Resort And Spa, Ubud, Bali Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Resort Ubud
Kamandalu Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamandalu Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.