We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Monkey Forest to your Saves list
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 147 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unparalleled service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for the second leg of our honeymoon.

Rooms:
We initially booked to stay at the nearby Rasa Sayang but were offered a free upgrade after the first night's stay and we were not disappointed. The only difference between the rooms, which were both exceptional, was the stunning view. AppleTV option was a nice additional extra.

Location:
Was pretty much spot on if you are looking to spend some time in the hub of Ubud, although the hotel was nicely set back from the main road so that it was peaceful even during the day time. As mentioned in other reviews there is the option to visit the other Komeneka resorts; we decided to spend one afternoon at the Bisma to make use if their impressive swimming pool - the midges were a bit of a pain though - But we were glad to be staying at Monkey Forest due to its superior location. We travelled from the hotel to the airport, which took just under 2 hours.

Food:
Breakfasts were to a high standard with a good array of choice and cooked to order. I would personally miss out the afternoon tea option which was not as good as the breakfasts.

Service:
Best till last. Service was unparalleled; there's clearly been a conscious push to make this the differentiating factor. Any questions or queries were dealt with efficiently and without fuss. Staff were consistently friendly, greeting you at every opportunity. They even went as far as to arrange a free transfer to and from the restaurant Swept Away at the Samaya (a must if you are in the area).

Overall, would highly recommend to those looking for a relaxing retreat whilst staying in the centre of Ubud.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    80
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
143
461
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying four nights at this wonderful property in July. What a delight. The staff and food were incredible. The rooms and grounds are enchanting. We had a group of 15 and we enjoyed the place so much we held our last group dinner onsite instead of in one of the area restaurants. The area streets are bustling, but you can walk most anywhere. There's tons of shopping & oodles of dining and nightlife options. The top spas will come and get you, but there's a wonderful spa on the premises. I would definitely escape here again. If you need to be in the center of Ubud, treat yourself to the Komaneka.

Room Tip: Any room! You can't miss with this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

In the center of Udud, ideally located for shopping and culture, this very quiet-romantic restaurant (belonging to the hotel with the same name) offers very good food at correct prices. You will enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A bit of paradise in central Ubud - only 5-10 mins walk from the Monkey Forest and right on the main road that has all the good restaurants and shops. Amazing service- nothing is too much trouble. If you ring them for something, they have it in your room within minutes. Breakfast was amazing- big, yummy and kept us going until the very good complimentary afternoon tea. The spa was excellent. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner in the Pool Villa.
Luckily had our private pool, as renovations going on meant the main pool was filled with dust and not great to swim in. Villa itself was very luxurious and fantastic in ground bath.
Staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, very attentive to making up the room and ensuring we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Only downside was the toilet running and the flush not working very well, and some unwelcome bugs in the room.
Breakfast was okay - nothing too exciting.
Location was perfect - walking distance to the main parts of Ubud.

Room Tip: Pool villa is quieter and worth it for the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Actually, I did not plan to stay at Komaneka Monkey Forest. Just because Komaneka Bisma full-booked, we suggested to stay one day here.

Amazing.....They welcomed us very friendly, so we felt served personally. Unfortunately, the hotel was under renovation and our rooms were near the area of renovation. From our suite, we can hear the noise of the building work activities. To see this condition, I expressed my disappointment to the hotel staff.

Without our asking, he offered us another room that more quiet. However, conditions were not much different. So, the hotel staff immediately gave another option, he helped us to check the availability room at Komaneka Bisma. Unfortunately, no available suite at Komaneka Bisma....so he apologized for the inconvenience and offered us a free massage for both of us as a compensation.

The point is how the hotel staff served and treated us. I appreciate to his initiative and sensitivity in serving their guest. Komaneka Monkey Forest is the best ..... all of you have the service attitude. Thanks a lot, guys! See you at next visit :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I loved staying at Komaneka at Monkey Forest. It is located right in the heart of Ubud, which makes it extremely convenient to get anywhere in the city. The market, shops, monkey forest, and numerous restaurant are all a short walking distance away. As for locations that are a little further than walking distance, Komaneka offered a free shuttle to anywhere in Ubud.

The resort itself is beautiful and surrounded by many trees and well-maintained grounds with flowers, plants, and fountains. My villa was clean and wonderful. It was equipped with Apple TV, a large bathroom area, private plunge pool overlooking a rice field, and was very spacious. Freshly baked cookies were placed in the room every single day. The service that I received while staying here was exceptional. The staff make you feel like family. They are helpful, attentive, friendly, and social. I've never felt so comfortable and spoiled anywhere else!

There are so many perks to staying at komaneka. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The villa with a private plunge pool was huge, quiet, and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#4 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#2 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#40 of 147 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Komaneka in Ubud is designed as a sophisticated and contemporary lifestyle destination. It's 10 elegant villas, each with its 12 meter long private pool, and 34 spacious suites are completed with a half-olympic sized main pool, an Indonesian fine dining restaurant, luxurious spa-villa, and wedding chapel. Located at Jalan Bisma, in the center of Ubud, overlooking the the hills and Campuhan River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.