We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attention to customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Komaneka at Monkey Forest to your Saves list
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent attention to customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

For a holiday perfect location attention to detail nothing toohard for the friendly staff who are keen to make your stay unforgettable. Had a pool villa awesome to come back from shopping and jump in to cool down

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    67
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
105
371
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is the perfect combination of an absolute luxury private villa with a wonderful friendly efficient staff and a magic location right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road with easy foot access to the town. The staff, Dewi, Koman, Wayan (penjor) and Maritha always addressed us by name "Bapak W and Ibu P" welcomed us with smiles, seamless service, flowers on bed, and hand-written welcome note.
We stayed at the Komeneka Monkey Forest Road, but had dinner at Komaneka Raisa Sayan and later after a guided morning temple & paddy field trek we breakfasted at Komaneka Tanggayuda - all beautiful with seamless service.
Highly recommended if you desire wonderful friendly 5 star service with a smile, totally private villa with pool and paddy field view in central Ubud.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra on a pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

May 19-21. What a wonderfully calming place to stay. A tranquil retreat after hitting the pavement of Ubud. Dewi, Juni and staff made for a wonderful though short stay. Position of the hotel is great, rooms are comfortable, clean and bright. We stayed in a villa overlooking the rice paddies but can also recommend the valley view villas also. The main pool is beautiful. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a great hotel. When we were having Internet issues on the first afternoon they straight away bumped us up to a pool villa, no questions asked. The room was amazing.
They also offered us a late, 2pm checkout, as our flight was not leaving until 11pm.
The hotel itself is extremely luxurious, in a great location, with exceptional staff. They have thought of all of the fine details as well

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My family and I have been to Ubud many times. We have stayed at different 5 star hotels outside of town, rented villas and tried a couple of bargain places in more convenient locations...but nothing comes close to this hotel. The combination of 5 star experience WITH the perfect location (right on monkey forest road) makes for an unbeatable property. We travel with 2 kids and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. From taking our 10 month old and walking him around we feasted on the HUGE breakfast to the warm welcome we got every time we returned from a shopping trip, you are going to love the people here. Breakfast (as mentioned earlier) is huge and delicious with some of the best banana bread you can find anywhere! A free tea with light snacks in the afternoon is just icing on this delicious cake. Really and truly, if you don’t stay here you are missing out!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Me and my wife were honeymooning in Bali and while visiting Ubud we chose Komaneka for our stay. The hotel location is great, right at the heart of the town, convenient location for shopping and lots of other restaurants nearby. Also the monkey forest and the Ubud palace are all at a walking distance.The stay was very pleasant and their hospitality was heart-warming. We had a late night flight and so we requested for a late check out and our check out time was extended by a couple of hours. Moreover since we had time to kill the hotel arranged their driver to take us to visit the art museum nearby. Also we were allowed to use the shower and other hotel facilities to relax and freshen up until we were ready to leave. It was a great experience staying at Komaneka. The only downside to this property is that there were mosquitoes and other insects around and I did get bite quite a few times. I could see during the day there were staff spraying insecticides but with all the greenery around insects are inevitable. Still I feel more serious measures have to be taken to control this. But overall it was a great experience staying at Komaneka.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have travelled to Bali 7 times and always stayed within Sanur area, however for something different we decided to spend 4 nights in Ubud this trip. We had decided on the Komaneka at Monkey Forest and upgraded to a pool villa that overlooked the rice paddies. These villas are centrally located in Ubud and easy walk to shops, restaurants and the monkey forest. The highlight for us though was the personal approach the hotel put into making us feel special. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Dewi and the staff.....including every staff member greeting us by our Christian name throughout our stay. The personal approach taken by all the staff made this a memorable stay. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in various parts of the world, but the customer service and intimacy shown by this team stands head and shoulders above any other complex. If you are considering this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Komaneka in Ubud is designed as a sophisticated and contemporary lifestyle destination. It's 10 elegant villas, each with its 12 meter long private pool, and 34 spacious suites are completed with a half-olympic sized main pool, an Indonesian fine dining restaurant, luxurious spa-villa, and wedding chapel. Located at Jalan Bisma, in the center of Ubud, overlooking the the hills and Campuhan River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.