We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Monkey Forest to your Saves list
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of central Ubud. It is close to so many excellent restaurants and shops. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. My room was spacious with a sunken bath tub and a very comfortable bed. It had a balcony that you could sit on and look at the rice fields. The gardens were lush and wonderfully maintained. It is truly a tropical oasis. My only complaint was that the WiFi was erratic and I could not always access the movies on the TV. However, the staff were working on this problem and I suspect by now it would have been resolved. Afternoon tea is a nice touch and served everyday. There is also a huge selection of breakfast choices. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    74
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
113
388
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After enjoying two magnificent stays at the Tangayuda property we thought we would give Monkey Forest a go. We stayed in a beautiful pool villa overlooking rice paddies. We did have some trouble with our pool on our second day, but the fabulous staff moved us without any fuss and even offered us a glorious treatment in the spa for the inconvenience. We loved the location of this resort with many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The staff are more than happy to make reservations for you and they even dropped us off a Naughty Nurri's and returned to collect us once we finished. Overall we really enjoyed our 3 nights here and loved the location but I do prefer the views from the valley pool villas at Tangayuda.

Room Tip: Private pool villas are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The most amazing thing about this wonderful resort is the contrast from the chaotic street scene in front ("Taxi? Taxi? Tomorrow?") and the calm in the resort itself. We (my wife and son and I) had a pool villa, and it was the most peaceful retreat you can imagine. We backed onto the forest with a stream in the valley below, next to rice fields. The staff is incredibly friendly and seems honestly happy that you are there. The food is very good in the dining area, though there are so many choices nearby that we only used it for our first dinner when we arrived late and for the breakfasts.

I've stayed in many places, but this one is a very special and memorable one. I would easily spend twice what I paid for this and still feel I got my money's worth.

Room Tip: The pool villas are worth the extra not just for the plunge pool, which is nice, but for the extra q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

As older experienced travellers this was the most beautiful place to stay. It is centrally located in Ubud and is very quiet. The villa was beautiful...the attention to detail we have never seen any other resort. The staff were exceptional..they were attentive but at the same time discreet. Any request was met with a smile and attended to immediately. The food was also beautiful, nothing pre-cooked, all cooked fresh. We also had an amazing body massage. Thankyou to everyone at Komaneka Monkey Forest Resort for making our stay a memorable one..we will certainly be staying here again next time we are in Bali, also will recommend this to our friends. Rob and Jenny

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thank you to Yoga and the staff at the Hotel,very friendly and professional. We stayed in a beautiful Villa over looking the rice fields. The massage was was the best we,ve every had. Enjoyed every minute, thank you again.

Room Tip: Villa Room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

June, 2013: My husband and I stayed at the Komaneka Monkey Forest and cannot recommend it highly enough!
The staff were not only professional and courteous in every way but also gracious and warm in their welcome and daily encounters with you.
Our accommodation was outstanding with a welcome card from management and staff and surprise welcome gifts too. The room was beautifully presented as only the Balinese can do and so CLEAN.
Breakfast was a lovely surprise with the extensive menus to choose from and the food did not disappoint.
Afternoon tea by the infinity pool was truly wonderful and the savoury and sweet foods offered a delight along with the percolated coffee or a choice of teas.
The grounds were beautifully kept and it was so PEACEFUL even though we were just off the main shopping road. Very well located.
A wonderful airy and beautifully presented library/reading area and Spa overlooks the green fields and is so restful and relaxing.
The KOMANEKA brand is excellent and we were driven (complimentary) to the other 3 hotels in Ubud to have a look around to see what they offer. We also chose to have breakfast at 2 of the other hotels so that we could enjoy the experience - we were not disappointed. Staying at a Komaneka hotel you are able to have a meal or a day or part day at the pool of one of the other hotels, even afternoon tea and have a complimentary driver to take you and pick you up.
We will definitely go back next year and stay here again as it was outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room and it was truly wonderful. We believe all the rooms are located so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

5 day stay. Wonderful , friendly staff - nothing was a problem. Hotel was first of 4 Komaneka hotels, but did not show its age. Lovely integration with nature throughout. Very quite and calm.
Stunning spa with top-notch masseuses. Spa treatments marginally more costly than in Ubud town, but much better.
Superb location in town - I suggest that this be considered for first-timers who like to walk and shop / browse, rather than stay out of town.
Absolutely nothing to fault - it gets a 6 star rating.

Room Tip: Pool villa with private pool is highly recommended - we stayed in room 104, which was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Komaneka in Ubud is designed as a sophisticated and contemporary lifestyle destination. It's 10 elegant villas, each with its 12 meter long private pool, and 34 spacious suites are completed with a half-olympic sized main pool, an Indonesian fine dining restaurant, luxurious spa-villa, and wedding chapel. Located at Jalan Bisma, in the center of Ubud, overlooking the the hills and Campuhan River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.