We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Monkey Forest to your Saves list
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Sayulita, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Komaneka at Monkey Forest in Ubud for a week. From the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left our stay was awesome. We travel quite a bit and we felt like the room, all of the amenities in the room, the grounds, pool and food as well as its central location was just the best place that we have ever stayed. Internet is great too. The beauty and comfort with the attention to every detail addressing asthetics was matched by the hotel staff. Every person on their staff from garden workers, chef, restaurant servers always greeted us with beautiful smiles, requests to let them know how we are finding our stay and what more that they could do for us to make our stay better. They gave us a complementary dinner one night replete with personalized menus with our names on them. Their food is varied and delicious and presented always with bright smiles and a genuine wish that we enjoy their food...which we definitely did. They gave us a gift when we left and they made us feel like we were very special guests for them. I cannot say that for the many types of places that we have stayed. After our stay in Ubud we stayed in other parts of Bali and nothing came close to our experience at Komaneka at Monkey Forest hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    74
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
113
388
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a marvellous place to stay and we were simply delighted by the warmth of the hospitality provided. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, the food very good and the location very handy for Ubud attractions, but it is the customer service provided that stood out here. From the moment we arrived (having had a long trip up the mountain) we were simply made to feel very welcome. The hospitality provided to us over our stay simply exceeded expectations - a consistently warm, friendly and generous attitude that would be the envy of many others. It is one thing to train staff to greet guests and be helpful, but this came across as a step above - the staff seemed simply to want your stay to be as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we spent three nights at Komeneka during december 2012. What a pleasant experience. We were greeted with such warmth from the inception of our stay. The resort is absoulately clean and the service is excellent. We even noticed staff removing brown leaves from the trees. The breakfasts were very good as well. It is located in the heart of the town and we could walk to the restaurants and shops. Thank you Neethi, for going out of your way to make my daughter feel special on her 16th birthday by having a cake for her. If ever I come back to Ubud, Komeneka would be the resort of our choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for 6 days. The location is perfect for getting around in Ubud. The room was big and nicely furnished, but it is the service at this hotel that is amazing. Everyone went out of their way to learn my name, and the things that I liked. If I was sitting around reading, they'd bring me a glass of water and a cool towel. They really go out of their way to make your stay perfect - whatever your perfect might be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked a stay at Komaneka at Monkey Forest Road at the last minute after reading favorable reviews in my tour book. The family of Komaneka hotels and resorts has several locations in and around Ubud, but this one is on one of the main thoroughfares in the city, within easy walking distance to most urban sites of interest. You wouldn't know the location was on a main street as the hotel is set away from the road.

I called the hotel prior to departing for Bali and the staff arranged a pick up at the airport, where I was met upon departing the terminal with a very friendly driver who offered me a cold towel, bottled water, and beer. The driver was more than happy to explain the area sites during our journey to Ubud which gave me a good beginning understanding of Bali and the Balinese culture. A beautiful and welcoming outdoor lobby area greets you upon being dropped off at the hotel. The small number of rooms means more personalized and attentive service where everyone immediately learns your name. Staff immediately descend upon your car to cart your luggage away and offer a refreshing scented cold towel and delicious non-alcoholic fruit juices.

The staff seemed to take personally my comfort and enjoyment, especially Yuli, who came to the car to greet me upon my arrival, checked me in, and gave me a personal tour of my accommodations. When speaking with Yuli, it was as I were her sole focus and she did not let herself get distracted by other attentions. Yuli was present throughout my stay and went above and beyond in helping me tailor an itinerary that involved day tours to Hindu temples, the Taro Elephant Park, terraced rice paddies, Luwak coffee plantation, and a drive to Kintaman to take in a breathtaking view of Mt Batur and the lake below. Yuli offered some great restaurant recommendations and arranged very reasonably priced spa treatments at other Komaneka Resort locations - transport free of charge. They even let me have breakfast at the Bisma location (a beautiful retreat slightly outside the hustle and bustle of the city). My two breakfast meals were a delicious fusion of local and international dishes, accompanied by attentive service.

Regarding my accommodations, I had a luxuriously-appointed villa-style room with high end amenities. There was even a sunken glass-enclosed room with a separate bathtub. My room had a patio with comfortable furniture overlooking the pool area (and just to be safe, the hotel provides natural Komaneka-branded insect repellant to ward off any insects who think about biting). The villa had very high ceilings and, as a result, more area for the air conditioning to cover. Living in a more mild climate, I would have like to have been able to cool the room off even more.

One tiny blip: my bed was surrounded by mosquito netting (mostly for decoration) and in the middle of the night, one of the poles attached to the ceiling collapsed. I was not injured, just somewhat startled. Upon reporting it to the front desk the next morning, the staff showed up to my room within 5 minutes to fix it - excellent service recovery!

The grounds are beautiful, with the rooms and villas set upon one path with tropical foliage and fountains that runs the length of the hotel. A working rice paddy on the side provides a nice relaxing view.

When returning to Bali, I will do a beeline to Komaneka and not consider any other options. The staff made my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

The hotel has a shuttle that will happily take you to area restaurants, shops, and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usedom, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I will remember my 4 night stay for a long time. The staff was sweet, competent and friendly. The room was beautifully appointed and clean.

The complimentary breakfast was fantastic. Lots of options and they are comfortable with substitutions.

We got a complimentary massage (they patiently waited while I dithered between that or a pedi) where we overlooked the rice patty. Another level of relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights. When we arrived we both had the flu :( The wonderful lady who was checking us in asked us if we would like some herbal tea and we said yes. It was so delicious and such a nice gesture.

Upon arriving into the beautiful room, there were flowers in a love heart shape on our bed, we thought this was a cute touch.

We were so surprised when we had a card in our room with a basket of fresh fruit hoping that we get better from our sickness. We were very touched :)

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone, and i would have to say that this place was one of the nicest places I have stayed at, with wonderful attentive staff who remember your names.
I had a massage there as well and whilst it was more expensive than one from the street shops, it was so lovely and worth every penny.

Thank you to the staff at Komaneka for making our stay wonderful :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Komaneka in Ubud is designed as a sophisticated and contemporary lifestyle destination. It's 10 elegant villas, each with its 12 meter long private pool, and 34 spacious suites are completed with a half-olympic sized main pool, an Indonesian fine dining restaurant, luxurious spa-villa, and wedding chapel. Located at Jalan Bisma, in the center of Ubud, overlooking the the hills and Campuhan River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.