We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Monkey Forest to your Saves list
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The location of the Komenka on Monkey Forest Road is magic. The pretty lanterns, garden and architecture delighted me. After meeting some lovely people and exchanged a few laughs and smiles we were taken to our suite and were each presented with a welcome gift. OMG this place is spacious and beautiful. I am a sucker for those glossy floors and super high bamboo hut like ceilings, ooo and the suspended canopy beds with the romantic mosquito nets (not that we saw any mosquitoes) and of course we were absolutely delighted with the flower petals arranged in a heart shape on the bed. WOW here's a place that focuses on the finer details.
I am especially impressed as it has been the right kind of view that I have been searching for, spacious without feeling too distant. Our suite overlooks the colourful sunrise, the magnificent palm trees, frangipani trees and even rices paddies. Ah pinch me I'm in Bali!!
Atmosphere – Excellent with a chic foresty feel to it right in the middle of Ubud.

Service – Outstanding and friendly
Room – super fabulous, chic, romantic and spacious with large windows and natural light
Bed – Large, comfortable and dreamy
Shower – great hot water supply

We were absolutely chuffed with the Komaneka on Monkey Forest. It has a very special regal yet foresty quality to it. Very cool indeed.

Afternoon tea at the Bisma was also a highlight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    74
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
113
388
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Absolutely beautiful. Location is very convenient in the middle of Monkey Forest Road with shops and restaurants on your doorstep. The hotel however, is a welcome respite from the chaos outside. We were made very welcome, attention to detail was perfect, pool beautiful, and rooms were amazing. The spa was fantastic and good value especially with its breathtaking views. The staff were very keen to do everything to please. We couldn't have hoped for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Komaneka Monkey Forest in early September in a pool villa. We thought it good value in $AUD terms. On arrival we were charged one nights tariff which was (I think) calculated from a $USD price converted to rupiah. We were concerned by this exchange dance but on the card statement at home everything was above board and as quoted. A word on exchange – for $100aud – at my bank 780,xxx rupiah and bank charges – airport 720,xxx – at the Ubud money changers (plentiful) 890,000 to 900,000 rupiah. Moral of the story; take some home currency with you. Our villa was, spacious, well air-conditioned, giant bed, mega bathroom, outdoor areas with sun-lounges and a shady patio with dining table and daybed, and the vista of the adjacent rice paddy across the pool was the icing on the cake. The staff were courteous, competent, and attentive. We very much enjoyed the variety available on the included breakfast. We only dined at the hotel one evening, and wine was in short supply and pretty bad (sorry to say). We stuck with beer after that; plentiful, good and inexpensive. An email sent the day before our arrival detailed a number of free inclusions one of which was a shuttle service to the centre of Ubud. We were travelling when this email arrived, and so weren’t aware of the shuttle which we would have used had we known.

Room Tip: The pool villas are adjacent to the rice paddy. Don't know what views the other rooms have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our booking was with Komaneka Monkey Forest, a hotel I had always wanted to stay at. On arrival we were offered the new Komaneka Rasa Sayan and ended up staying 1 night there. However we moved back to Komaneka Monkey Forest the next day as we preferred having the garden to walk through. Our room overlooked the pool, waterfall and rice fields. It was heaven. Moving from one htel to the other was no problem for all the wonderful staff. We even went over to Rasa Sayan for breakfast. It was all the little touches that made this hotel so special.- thank you Komaneka.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We booked in here for 4 nights after 2 and a half weeks on the fairly remote islands, hoping for some life but also some luxury.

We caught an early morning speedboat from Nusa Lembongan to Sanur. The boat pulled up onto the beach and in the scramble out I was tipped head first into the sea ! The driver we had booked was really sweet and brought us to a public convenience where I picked the seaweed out of my hair and emptied the sand out of my bikini.

Semi-tidied up we all set off for Ubud and arrived into this beautiful hotel at about 9.30. The extremely charming young man explained that "our room " would not be ready 'till 2p.m. , but that they would upgrade us to the honeymoon suite at another Komaneka property a fair bit outside Ubud free of charge and that this was available immediately

Now normally this would have been music to our ears , but we really did want to be in the centre of things. Ever the diplomat, my hubby asked to see one of the rooms at the hotel we were in. We were shown into a stunningly beautiful room, perfectly made up with rose petals on the bed etc. etc. So we said , thanks but no thanks , we would really like to stay here please. The receptionist explained that "the guests" were still in "our room " so sadly we would not be able to have it 'till 2p.m. We hung around for a while, then had something to eat in town and I took my extremely dishevilled self off for a massage, having even more seaweed and sand removed from my nooks and crannies, arriving back at 2 p.m.

Lo and behold my hubby had been checked into the very room we saw at 9.30 ! Now either the room had been occupied the night before by a couple of extremely tidy ghosts who didn't sleep in the bed or use the bathroom or have any luggage or we were told a teeny weeny little white lie by the extremely lovely and charming receptionist.

After that the rest of our stay was fantastic.The pool, the food and the wonderful spa was amazing. We loved being so close to everything and being able to walk everywhere was fantastic. I had been to Ubud in 1991 on my big backpacking trip around the world , when it was my favourite place. It was fantastic to come back with my lovely husband and share it all with him.Unbelievably we found the very bungalow I stayed in then, just around the corner and still owned by the same charming family.

Ubud has changed alot since 1991, but then so have we all. Overall I loved it this summer just as much as I did back then and the people are still just as lovely.

Would give it 4 and three quarter stars !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Booked into Monkey Forest and upgraded on arrival to Rasa Sayan just over the road in the middle of Ubud. As you would expect from a new hotel everything was pristine. Staff - all so young..were very friendly and helpful and welcomed us home every time we came back to the room. Room was spacious, with massive bath and rain shower, all mod cons. Balcony view not fantastic but in middle of Ubud would not expect great views from side of the hotel. Pool was beautiful. Breakfast was great. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had reservations at Komaneka Monkey Forest but were given the option to stay at the brand-new Komaneka at Rasa Sayan, about 75 meters across the street from the Monkey Forest hotel. In our opinion, this facility was outstanding in every respect. We had a very spacious, modern and well-designed room with every conceivable ammenity. The staff and the restaurant were beyond phenomenal. They thrive on providing excellent service and ensuring your stay was a memorable one. We spent blissful days/4 nights and will stay there if I return to the Ubud area in the future. Komaneka provides the services and atmosphere of a much more expensive resort at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, towards the back of the building and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Komaneka in Ubud is designed as a sophisticated and contemporary lifestyle destination. It's 10 elegant villas, each with its 12 meter long private pool, and 34 spacious suites are completed with a half-olympic sized main pool, an Indonesian fine dining restaurant, luxurious spa-villa, and wedding chapel. Located at Jalan Bisma, in the center of Ubud, overlooking the the hills and Campuhan River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.