We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and great experienec” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biyukukung Suites and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Biyukukung Suites and Spa to your Saves list
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Sugriwa No 89, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant and great experienec”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in the Jalak room for 3 N/4D. We just loved the experinece at the resort. Well maintained with all-woodden furniture and flooring , it is good utilization of a narrow space. The staff was graceful and V. helpful. The spa treatments were also v.good. Would def like to go back but maybe off-season when the rates are lower. The breakfast options could be made better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    84
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
35
94
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
everywhere man
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The mixed reviews here tell the story. It is overpriced, with small rooms pushed together on a long block of land leading down to the river, but the two-storey rooms with moss-draped bathrooms are very cute, the paddy field views wonderful, and it’s close to central Ubud. We got a $10 discount but still paid US$70 for deluxe room (high season walk-in). While well-appointed, this is a small mid-range hotel worth about $50 max. We should have pushed for a bigger discount, and suggest everyone else does the same!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I like the view of rice field just right outside the room. As the room is on second floor, I just lay on the bed and stare at the beautiful and peaceful view most of the time.
The room is small and just sufficient for 2 person. The room smells wet, damp, and musty when we first check in, but disappears few hours after aircond is switched on.
The double bed is consisted of 2 single beds combined together, so there is a small gap in the middle. The bathroom and toilet is downstairs, and quite dark at night. Overall its a nice and clean hotel, with a beautiful view of rice field, its just what we are looking for at ubud.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumatra, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I really am stunned at the reviews of this hotel. I normally avidly check trip advisor before choosing hotels but I ended up being taken to this hotel by a driver after a change in plans and so was interested to see what the reviews of Biyukukung were like at the end of my holiday. I honestly expected it to be ranked as one of the top hotels in Ubud.

We stayed there for 4 nights and were given a deluxe room as the standard rooms were being renovated. We were charged Rp500,000 (around $50) and were told that they normally charge $70 for that room type. They said after a couple of days we could move to the standard for $40, which seemed like a really good deal but we were quite settled after 2 days so didn't bother. We did have a quick peek at the ground floor of one of the standard room and the only difference seems to be the bathroom was smaller because it didn't have the large bath tub. The reception staff were absolutely lovely and made us instantly want to stay as they were so welcoming. The deluxe room is on two levels - the bottom level has a large hallway with a wardrobe, (safe inside) washbasin (with hairdryer, kettle and tea and coffee making facilities nearby), fridge and luggage rack. This then led on to the large bathroom at the back, which had a huge marble bath and large natural looking stone area with a really poweful shower. Upstairs was a really light airy room with massive patio windows overlooking the beautiful rice fields. The patio opened onto a little balcony and there was also a much larger balcony below with a day bed and table and chairs. The room had aircon and flat screen tv (with indonesian channels only). The bed was absolutely huge and extremely comfortable. There was a surrounding net but I think this was more for show as we didn't really encounter any mosquitos. Breakfast was between 7 and 11, which was lovely to have the choice to just laze around and have a late breakfast. Breakfast was very nice and better than other places we've stayed at in Ubud. As well as the standard coffee/tea and fruit platter, you had the choice of a variety of pancakes, jaffles or eggs done in any way you'd like. The breakfast area also had a lovely view of the rice terrace and also the beautiful infinity pool below. There was also free wireless internet access in the restaurant or you could pay a small amount to use the computer there. The hotel's in a good location - out of the hussle and bussle of the main monkey forest road but still within easy walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops nearby. We didn't try the spa so I can't really say what that was like although the staff there were very nice. All in all we would definitely go back, especially if we could get the same price deal again, which made this place the best option we'd come across in the Ubud area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The price, we payed was $65. The room very small, for our two cases was not really space. It has many equipment, like a fridge, hairdryer, TV set. But the TV had only indonesian channels (other hotels offer international satellite channels)

The bathroom and the room needs renovation, mosquito net was full of holes

really bad luck you will have, when the temple next door plays crazy music at 7 am to 10 am

But you find cheaper and nicer hotels in Ubud! We left after one night. This place would be great for backpackers but is to pricy for them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights in September 2009. We booked and I confirmed with my credit card back in July. However upon arrival at 5.30pm in the evening with my mother who had just been travelling for 24 hours and our 7 month old son. We get told there is no reservation for us. I showed them the email confirmation and they then had to ring 'Ari' who had conveniently left over 15 mins early. She insists that she sent me an email a week earlier 'double confirming' which is a load of rubbish as I had been checking my emails daily while away.
I had to stand there and fight for them to find us other accommodation. At first the people at reception thought is was funny and were laughing but soon they realised I was not leaving until they found as alternative accommodation at the same rate. This was proving not that easy as of course everything was booked out. They finally found us rooms at Greenfields Bungalows but at a high rate. I told them they had to pay the difference - which they did. (read by sepearte review about Greenfields - fabulous place!).
My only advise is that if you want to stay here is reconfirm your booking just before you travel to back sure they haven't double booked and cancelled your booking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Biyukukung Suites and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyukukung Suites and Spa

Address: Jalan Sugriwa No 89, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Biyukukung Suites and Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Biyukukung Suites and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyukukung Hotel Ubud
Biyukukung Resort Ubud
Biyukukung Suites And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biyukukung Suites and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.