We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biyukukung Suites and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Biyukukung Suites and Spa to your Saves list
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Sugriwa No 89, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lets start with the positives, the scenery is beautiful overlooking the rice fields, the hotel staff are lovely, the beds were very comfortable, the pools were kept very nice and the location was perfect (right near monkey forest and many supermarkets/restaurants/shops). The breakfast was ok (choice of eggs, pancake and omelette - still hungry after through, they don't feed me much!)

..I hate to complain but - the rooms SMELT. everytime i would come back from an outing I would go eughhh. There were cobwebs everywhere, mould in the shower, dirty toilet spiders, their wasn't much security or way of keeping the mosquitoes out as there are holes on the doors...

I stayed in the 'PIPIT' room which maybe it is the worst one? wouldn't stay here again. They need to up their cleanliness in the rooms!!

Room Tip: PIPIT room - maybe the standard- not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    84
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
35
94
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our agent booked 4 nights in this small resort. First impression was good. Nice views over the rice field, free wifi, great breakfast, nice swimming pools, airconditioning. However, the rooms are dirty. Sheets were not clean, there is dust everywhere, fungus on the walls, toilets did not flush very well. The open air bathroom was a complete mess after some heavy rain. The location is ok, 10 minutes from the monkey forrest and 20 minutes from the centre of Ubud. However, sitting in front of the room, with the great views was a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

over all is good cozy with beautiful scene ray , however a little comment for bed with smelling , may be because of tropical weather with high humidity . location is in central of Ebud which you can find many good resturants and their famous Dirty Duck originate in 1999

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Location of this hotel was tucked away behind the famous Bebek Crispy Duck. A short work to Yoga barn if anyone love yoga. It's not difficult to find. Also a short walk to Monkey Forest road.
The view of the padi field is so surreal and once you sat outside your room, it's like another world. Quiet and peaceful. Great for couple and families too.
Too bad I fell really ill on the day I checked in. Only thing bad is, they do not have room service. I was so sick that I have to walk out to have food. Luckily it's not a far walk to all the eating places.
I suggest they should partner to some of the nearby restaurant for delivery at least. People get hungry and wish they don't have to leave their room.
Luckily the staff was nice enough to bring me breakfast when I told them I was sick.
Also, they brought me to the nearest clinic to see a doctor. thanks so much.

Since they gave 50% off for spa, I decided to take the package. although it's a bit more than those along Ubud.I find the spa room are nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located in a rather central part of Ubud I suppose although it still feels rather distant from the heart of the city. It is surrounded by paddy fields in mountainous area so you can expect breathtaking views and cool temperature. Beds are slightly below average, especially the extra bed. Toilets and amenities aren't the best in terms of cleanliness. Breakfast is NOT buffet, but you get to pick a la carte offerings from fried rice to pancakes. The main let down from our stay at Biyukukung is the service and the staffs. The guy who attended to us at the reception is not very friendly and helpful, perhaps even almost rude. Probably because we are local teenagers and not foreign tourists. He even demanded for our room keys when we left the hotel for a morning walk which is unreasonable as all our valuables were still inside. Aside from the extremely poor service, the rest is just fine. Look for an alternative if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As we could only stay during week ends, this hotel was not easy to book due to its high popularity. Fortunately we managed to secure 2 rooms for 3 days at end of March and were happy with our stay.

The rooms and pools were very clean and nice. Frankly, the price we paid was very reasonable in view of all the free facilities & amenities included. The room interior and exterior were very well planned - simple & functional but very stylish. All rooms had open view to a beautiful rice field. The ambiance and serenity were very relaxing too.

Service level had a lot of rooms for improvement especially with the older staff in both restaurant and front desk: they seemed reluctant in meeting guests' needs. Their younger staff (apprentices and new entries) were much more pleasant and accommodating although their knowledge for facilities & service skill must be improved (due to lack of guidance). I felt sorry for such a nice hotel with young enthusiastic staff but mediocre service level among the senior front liners. I tried to meet with the manager (owner representative) but was told that he was away over that week end. That's probably why their service was so slack during our stay.

Definitely this is a great value hotel is your travel style is free & easy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were more quiet. The newer rooms next to rear pool were more spacious and more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I LOVE BIYUKUKUNG

This is my first time in Bali and decide to spend 02 nights in Biyukukung. And they didn't make any disappointment for me.

We drive around 01 hours from Ngurarai International Airport to UBUD. Resort is located a bit out of UBUD town, but close to dirty duck and coco supermarket. Location is fine for us because we have a car. If not, this hotel may be a bit out of town for you.

With a warm welcome of staff, they served us a cold fruit juice upon arrival and escort us to room. We book deluxe room, which 02 storied townhouse. Down stair is bathroom with shower , fridge area, and upstairs is the room.

Room is really good, overlooking the step rice field , standard size twin bed with nice wooden floor, good air condition. Bathroom is huge, separate bathtub and shower. They come with HUGE bath where 02 people can use in the same time.

There are 02 swimming pools for 30 rooms , that 's really special. One is located back of reception was nicer than another pool where located in superior area. Both of them overlooking the rice field

Breakfast is decent and up to standard, you can select from menu both western or Indonesia breakfast in set menu, every set come with fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Restaurant is overlooking the rice filed as well.

Resort is free wifi

Improvement

-Cleanliness : Bathroom is a bit dirty, some sand stain on the bathtub
- Wifi is not work well in raining
- Deluxe room is not suitable for children and elderly people. As you have to claim up and own
to the room. The Stair is narrow and you may fall
- No elevator in this hotel



Overall, I am really like this resort , Definitely back if I come back to Bali again

Room Tip: Book Superior is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biyukukung Suites and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyukukung Suites and Spa

Address: Jalan Sugriwa No 89, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Biyukukung Suites and Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Biyukukung Suites and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyukukung Hotel Ubud
Biyukukung Resort Ubud
Biyukukung Suites And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biyukukung Suites and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.