We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Raya Kedewatan | Br. Tanggayuda, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This being our first time to Bali- I relied heavily on reviews for our choice of accommodations. With such stunning reviews, the Puri Wulandari was way beyond my dreams! We stood in awe as we arrived from the crazy, bustling city traffic and were driven to the doorway of Paradise. There was not one tiny detail the staff overlooked.

We had an extraordinary butler, Made, who was outstanding. He was available to us constantly, and he made certain we were well cared for when he was away from the Resort. We had meals in the restaurant, and meals delivered to our room. When was the last time you had a pizza delivered to your room by a butler and a server - crisp white linens spread on your table, and a full table setting appearing in moments? Of course there were fresh flowers delivered with each meal, and a linen napkin draped across my lap- all for my pizza lunch meal!

Every aspect of our stay was tended to. From activities, to towels, to meals and trips to and from Ubud. Even buckets of ice were brought to our room upon request after I twisted my knee, and needed some help.

Service was outstanding, and the villas phenomenal!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    40
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
157
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We loved our stay here. Beautiful settings; helpful, kind staff who played with our kids and glamourous but laid-back accomodation all made for maximum relaxation. Very highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

a gem of a hotel with a wonderful view on the jungle. near to the liveliness of ubud, but the hotel itself is a tranquil place with friendly stuff, good service and priceless view from your private villa with a pool. if you want to relax in paradise, but sometimes want to have a walk or do some shopping or have a dinner in ubud, this is the place for you. ubud center is a 15 minutes drive, use the free shuttle 4 times a day or just call a taxi. you cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

All the staff strive to service you the best possible way, always smiling and greeting you in every possible occasion. Service was swift and precise. The butlers went all the way to not only service us in the hotel, but also to organize tours and restaurant reservations; really good, personalized service. The villa is beautiful, with a stunning view(just lacks a bigger desk; the mini bar could have juices and snacks instead of soft drinks and beer only). The common areas lack a bit of personality and soul, and some areas are a bit run down, but not enough to spoil the experience. The price is not cheap, but it is generally worth it. One single little thing caused some discomfort: we lost our room key and the manager charged 25 USD for it. The amount is not the problem, but the attitude; in such a classy boutique hotel, the manager should have a bit more of savoir faire.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Puri Wulandari in August 2010 and we stayed for four nights.

We did extensive research prior to booking. We chose the Puri Wulandari based on its location, styling and recommendations from other travellers. The website looks a little dated and doesn't do place justice. We're tough customers! However, we were very impressed.

The design of the villas is excellent. They are very spacious, like a small compound really and the styling is Balinese with some refined colonial features. The outlook is very green and lush, overlooking a beautiful valley with the sound of the river flowing beneath. There is a refined, thatched roof on the sleeping quarters of the villa and outside covering the courtyard. From the bed we looked out through the mossy stonework to the forest across the valley. One morning I made out monkeys crashing through the trees on the other side of the valley.

The private pool is exceptional and private and there is a sunken stone bath, which is stocked each day with scented flowers and candles. The outdoor shower is relaxing and fun. Each day there was a different, small dessert in a box in the room also.

The staff is friendly and extremely polite. We ordered dinner and breakfast on half of the days we stayed in the room. The staff arrived with foil-lined bamboo steam baskets, which they unpack onto a lined table cloth.

Regarding the location, it is a 10 minute ride into Ubud town centre. There is a beautiful rice field at the front of the grounds and the lush valley at the back. There is a sporadic free hotel shuttle. However, I think we paid $8 for the hotel shuttle outside of the set times, which was cheap. We were paying roughly $5 for taxis to return us to the hotel. We were considering the location and proximity to Ubud Town centre. Ubud is quite mountainous and lined with deep valleys. Some kind of shuttle/taxi is necessary if you want to stay in the kind of peaceful valley that Puri Wulandari is located.

We would return to Puri Wulandari in a flash. Because the website is a little lacking, I took a video, the link for which is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AgMl83LVYQ

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Puri Wulandari is indeed Ubud's best kept secret . We were truly impressed with the property's beautiful views and serene environment and great staff. It simply made our stay to be one of the best we had. We do travel exrtensively to many five star resorts and PW personal service definitely ranks up there in comparison to other top five star hotel chains.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed we experienced the most hospitable warmth from the staff. Our butler was very informative, accommodating and extremely helpful. Check-in and out was very efficient and easy.

Location of the hotel is a little far from town, along the same row as Four Seasons and Amandari, a litlle far from town but there is a complimentary shuttle service that takes you to town although not very frequent.

The 2 bedroom villa was very spacious with an outdoor sitting area, dining table and private infinity pool overlooking the Ayung River . The bathroom was almost as spacious as the bedroom. Every amenities you could expected from a top five star resort were available, from a huge sunken bath to an outdoor shower.

At the time we were there the hotel was far from full which we did not mind at all, making it even more private. If you are looking for a memorable stay with personal service and wonderful, peaceful setting at a fraction of the cost of a five star resort, look no further! I have certainly found my paradise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

If u want a gorgeous spacious pool villa with a magnificent view this takes the cake we were gobsmacked when we walked in havnt seen anything like it bfore. Great service, nice staff, quiet as, amazing gardens, villas are staggered down the side of a hillside. There is also an awesome outdoor shower. As usual if u eat or drink anything at the resort u will pay big time same in the haven at seminyak that was ridiculously pricey. We had a free 2 hour spa there, beautiful experience. I have only one complaint u need to be aware of the distance to ubud township. Make sure u have all your supplies if u dont want to eat there, even tho you have a butler and shuttle bus its never when u want it like asap, it takes a while to get to town and it is sooo busy almost as busy as seminyak with a few less bikes . Ubud is a huge town i thought it would be tiny. We got sick of travelling for ev thing so we got our butler to get us some jimbeam whiskey in town late one night they will do whatever you want but a a price. Cost us $67 aus for a 750ml bottle and we left half behind.LoL.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan | Br. Tanggayuda, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#30 Family Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Wulandari is Bali's latest luxury boutique hotel and spa. It overlooking to the Ayung River and is constructed in typical Balinese style with thatched roofs, local wood finishes and volcanic rock walls are blending beautifully with the natural surroundings. You will stay in one of 35 villas - amazing how cleverly luxury has been wrapped in this setting. Each villa has large king or twin bedrooms with an open air living room. Especially for our Srikandi - One Bedroom Villa furnished with a Bale Bengong (Private Gazebo with day bed matrass). Huge sumptuous bathrooms with outside showers and sunken baths, all our villas have their private swimming pool. We have 24 hours Butler Service and Buggy Service. Our Lila Ulangun Spa combines with Yoga Room, Beauty Salon Treatment Room, Sauna, Hot and Cool Jacuzzi. Two restaurants, each with stunning views, will delight you with International, Italian, Indonesian and local Balinese cuisine's. Golden sunset while you enjoy your afternoon tea or cocktail at Barong Bar with amazing view of the famous Ayung River. Puri Wulandari is truly enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Wulandari Ubud
Puri Wulandari Hotel Ubud
Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Wulandari Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.