We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Balinese experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jln Raya Campuhan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 210 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Truly a Balinese experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just returned from a marvelous stay at the two-bedroom villa, Frangipani, at the Ibah Hotel. What an amazing place: the grounds are kept in sync with the surroundings, lots of green, local art, walls and ponds. One truly feels the Balinese spirit at this place.
The location is wonderful, just out of town to be quite, but close enough to walk. Also, the hotel provides a shuttle into town. Staff was wonderful and helpful throughout!

The views from our villa over the valley were stunning. The pool was small, but ok for a quick dip in the morning or evening - for anything else there is the beautiful main pool: love that it is deep enough on one side that one can really swim but shallow on the other for relaxation. The nooks in the walls are superb for relaxation.

The villa was very comfortable with all amenities one needs, the beds were very comfy, the sitting areas great and every evening turndown service also set up anti-mosquito incense, brought ice and fresh water.

The spa was amazing and we very much enjoyed the Mountain Retreat. The therapists were professional and everything was perfect. I especially enjoyed the beautiful traditional setting with open windows providing a little breeze in a Balinese house rather than an air conditioned room. Perfect.

We also had dinner one evening, which was the only thing that fell a little short. While the dinner selection was good, the dishes lacked the intense flavors I am used to on Bali. Each dish was ok, but not great. This needs to be improved! Loved their breakfast though: Nasi Goreng was amazing and so were coffee, pancakes, juices, fruits and and and. Great selection.

After having read a few of the previous reviews one word on luxury versus local experience: While I would consider Ibah a luxury resort, it also provides a very local experience, which means that one is in the middle of a jungle, which in turn means, there can be situations that one would not experience in a luxury resort, like ants, cockroaches, bugs or frogs in or around the villas. We had a large family of geckos living in the roof of our villa. This is totally normal for Bali and this kind of setting, but might not be for every traveler. Ibah does not offer the glitzy, perfect experience that some people might expect, but rather a stay that perfectly reflects the culture of Bali, its people and the surroundings.

This was our second stay at Ibah and we will for sure be back for more! LOVED it. Thanks to the entire team at Ibah for a memorable, wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Go for a villa if you can, having a pool overlooking the valley is amazing. Also, the standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    57
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
197
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First time staying in Ubud we were recommend the Ibah by friends. We were greeted by staff and shown to our impressive private pool villa, our stay for the next four nights. The room was on the top of the hill which provided an impressive view, it was clean and functional and we received turn down service every night which was lovely. The staff were warm and welcoming, the service was top of its class and the food was impressive too. We also decided to have a couples massage at the day spa which ended up being the best we had in Bali.
Definitely recommend the Ibah for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ubud is very interesting but the dodgy sidewalks, wild dogs and fast driving can get a little intense. Hotel Ibah was the perfect retreat from all of that. The infrastructure is stunning and the pool is glorious. The staff are super friendly and the breakfast was great. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After reading so many great reviews on Trip Advisor we chose to stay at this hotel for 4 nights recently. It is in a great location, easy walking distance to the main hub of Ubud however if you do not want to walk then the shuttle bus is readily available to take you anywhere within the Ubud district.

Such a relaxing place to spend time, the staff were excellent and the food at breakfast first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The rooms are clean and large, the bathroom with a choice of indoor and outdoor showers was opulent. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone seeking some quiet time but with access to all Ubud has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Warwick Ibah was an absolute delight to stay in. Our villa was massive and extemely private. The room was very clean and had everything you needed for a very comfortable stay. The service was amazing. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. The free shuttle to and from Ubud was very convenient. The food in the restaurant was lovely and well priced considering you were eating in house. The hotel is very central to Ubud but just far enough out that you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle alone. The hotel pool was absolutely amazing and the little private booths built into the stone work were very relaxing with full food and beverage service. You literally feel as though you have the place to yourself as there are only a few villas in the resort. We will defintiely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Bali and it couldn't have been better. The staff were very warm and friendly, they ensured our 2 night stay was hassle free and luxurious. The Hotel itself was architecturally beautiful, being carved out of volcanic stone with about 10-15 rooms/villas max, all privately positioned along side the river. The photos definitely don't do it justice, as it was truly breathtaking. The location was walking distance to town and they offered a free shuttle whenever. We both had a massage that was soothing and very relaxing. Would not think to stay anywhere else when we come back to Ubud!

Room Tip: Royal Villa (102) was amazing, spacious and convenient - very private, including an outdoor shower o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

After staying in Seminyak for 9 night's at Amadea Resort & Spa, there was great competition for the cleanliness of rooms and service of reception as Amadea topped that with so much goodness. We were supposed to stay 2 days at Warwick. We checked in, and checked out within 3 hours. There were spider webs on every piece of decor, lamps, window, table. There were geckos INSIDE our villa. There were big black spiders the size of your palm on top of the curtains inside near the bed. Giant bull-ant on the wall behind the bed. And a bug on the bed sheets. Now, you tell me why they wouldn't fumigate the rooms of a 5-star villa on a weekly basis seeing as though its situated in the heart of the tropics? We're talking the pool villa. Staff at reception refused to refund our stay. We called a taxi at midnight and went back to Amadea in Seminyak to stay our 10th night - relieved with happiness sleeping in crispyclean white sheets and spotless room (insect-free) . This 4-star self rated put your cleanliness to shame Warwick! Never again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarwickIBAH, General Manager at Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Filz_Australia,

Thank you for commenting on your Bali experience here on Tripadvisor.com, I am glad overall you enjoyed your 10 nights in Seminyak.

Please rest assured we take all guest feedback seriously and have made an additional thorough investigation of all our accommodation in the light of your information.

We have also reviewed our intensive pest control systems, which are a combination of environmentally friendly external contracting and internal procedures on a twice daily, weekly, monthly and annual schedule for interiors and the resort grounds.

We understand your feelings regarding our 1-night cancelation policy, something standard throughout Bali, and regret you did not opt for alternative accommodation in the Ubud area.

I am pleased you were happy to return to Seminyak and enjoyed the rest of your stay. We hope you will return again soon.

Best regards,

Stuart Gemmell
General Manager
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa

Address: Jln Raya Campuhan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 210 Specialty lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Ibah is a prime example of classic and up-to-date Balinese hospitality and style. Exteriors reflect traditional Bali, with thatched roofs and stone walls carved with exuberant sculptures, making it the perfect place to discover the culture and spirit of Bali. The resort is situated on Royal grounds handed down through generations, alongside Holy springs discovered by a Hindu priest over four hundred years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Loews Hotels, Splendia, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas Hotel Ubud
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas And Spa
Warwick Ubud
Ubud Warwick
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.