We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for just anyone...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jln Raya Campuhan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not recommended for just anyone...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

After staying in Seminyak for 9 night's at Amadea Resort & Spa, there was great competition for the cleanliness of rooms and service of reception as Amadea topped that with so much goodness. We were supposed to stay 2 days at Warwick. We checked in, and checked out within 3 hours. There were spider webs on every piece of decor, lamps, window, table. There were geckos INSIDE our villa. There were big black spiders the size of your palm on top of the curtains inside near the bed. Giant bull-ant on the wall behind the bed. And a bug on the bed sheets. Now, you tell me why they wouldn't fumigate the rooms of a 5-star villa on a weekly basis seeing as though its situated in the heart of the tropics? We're talking the pool villa. Staff at reception refused to refund our stay. We called a taxi at midnight and went back to Amadea in Seminyak to stay our 10th night - relieved with happiness sleeping in crispyclean white sheets and spotless room (insect-free) . This 4-star self rated put your cleanliness to shame Warwick! Never again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarwickIBAH, General Manager at Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Filz_Australia,

Thank you for commenting on your Bali experience here on Tripadvisor.com, I am glad overall you enjoyed your 10 nights in Seminyak.

Please rest assured we take all guest feedback seriously and have made an additional thorough investigation of all our accommodation in the light of your information.

We have also reviewed our intensive pest control systems, which are a combination of environmentally friendly external contracting and internal procedures on a twice daily, weekly, monthly and annual schedule for interiors and the resort grounds.

We understand your feelings regarding our 1-night cancelation policy, something standard throughout Bali, and regret you did not opt for alternative accommodation in the Ubud area.

I am pleased you were happy to return to Seminyak and enjoyed the rest of your stay. We hope you will return again soon.

Best regards,

Stuart Gemmell
General Manager
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    74
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
253
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

One of the most unique properties I have ever stayed in. Walking to our suite you feel like you are in another world. Moss covered stone. Intricate detail carvings. Flowers everywhere. The sound of the river below. Beautiful pool. Gorgeous rooms and bath. Serenity! The free shuttle into/back from town was fabulous. Even though drivers are easy to come by I didn't want to negotiate prices all the time. Easy to walk into town as well. In my opinion- perfect. Not too close to the hustle and bustle but close enough. The hike along the ridge was breathtaking. Worth doing! We stayed 5 nights over New Years and were treated to a special private dance performance. Staff was very kind and helpful. We travelled with 2 small children. I would not say the property is situated for small children though. Lots of stairs and bumpy stone walkways- not good for strollers or new walkers but that's what makes the ambiance so unique. The suite is partially open air, for sitting outside and listening to nature in the evenings with a cold drink. Heaven. Must be careful of bird/bat droppings (which housekeeping cleans up first thing every morn). That being said, If you are looking for a special experience- look no further than the Ibah! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

An excellent hotel, not cheap, but worth the price. It's just the right walking distance from the town centre, without having to be part of the tourist herd.
The staff at the hotel had that usual Balinese friendlinese and smiles, which makes the difference between Bali and somewhere visually similar, such as Vietnam, and they were very professional in the way they conducted their day's work, without disturbing the peace of your holiday.
I and my wife had a really enjoyable 8 days holiday at the hotel - so enjoyable that we extended our stay by 4 days - and although I remained sceptical that a lot of the night animal sounds were a product of electronic speakers and 21st Century stereo technology, I would recommend this place to anyone who needs a short respite from the chaos of modern living.
Thank you, Ibah.

PS. My wife adds that the Spa wasn't so excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, but we were not happy to find out that we had to pay extra for internet access! And by the minute, no less! Not cheap either! This is pretty outrageous considering that you can get free wifi in any local cafe, restaurant or even convenience shop in Ubud!
On top of that we experienced some problems with connectivity in our villa and no one was able to help us. We had to come down to the lobby every time I wanted to use interned on my laptop. Incredibly inconvenient. Management obviously does not understand the needs of guests.

Another small detail that you would not expect in luxury hotel: no real milk for coffee! Only thin, no fat milk. Pretty outrageous for those of us who just want normal milk in our coffee.

On the other hand the staff is delighful and pleasant all the time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarwickIBAH, General Manager at Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Veronicabali,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to advise that complimentary WiFi internet is available to house guests in our restaurant, lobby and poolside areas at no extra charge.

At an optional extra charge, according to your time requirements, high-speed WiFi internet is available in all our accommodation at rates competitive with similar hotels and resorts in Bali.

Also, depending upon your choice of room category, or the package or promotion you select, you can also find additional value benefits included in the rate, for example: Transfers, Breakfast, Internet, Spa services and/or romantic dinners.

We highly recommend making your reservation using the resort’s official website in order to find the most attractive packages and promotions.

Thanks again and we hope you will return to stay with us soon.

Stuart Gemmell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent four nights here with a friend.. It was a fantastic experience all in all, not perfect but no major complaints. We stayed in Villa Gardenia close to the reception. Lots of steps up to the villa which didn't bother me but might cause concern for those less mobile. The room was quite spacious, we had twin singles positioned fairly close together under a single canopy, but it didn't feel claustrophibic and there was room enough for both of us. The bathroom was huge with the average toiletries. Service to the room was a little hit and miss at times, such as the welcome drink glasses not being cleared the next day, and turn down on the bedding inconsistant.. but minor gripes. The shuttle service was excellent for getting you around Ubud, staff extremely friendly and the resort itself simply beautiful. The pool is just gorgeous. Breakfast was not included with our stay however we were upgraded to a larger villa which was lovely. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for nine days at this beautiful place. The breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and there were many staff. This is a very quiet resort/spa and you hardly ever see another guest except at breakfast. The free afternoon tea is nice. We were there in the rainy season, so it was pleasant to it and okay scrabble whilst watching the rain thundering down, and the fish swimming in the many ponds. There are frogs, geckos, the occasional squirrel and birds to entertain. The bats fly in near the front gate at dusk. I hate bats, so i s avoid them! The spa is gorgeous, and the staff expert and professional. Good manicure and pedicure. Costly, but you can get a hot stone massage or other treatments at the spa just outside the front gate for one third the price, but the quality is not as good as Ibah.

I think they should give you free wifi in a place as pricey as this.

My only problem was a bad fall in the Acacia Villa. With much bruising and a nasty cut. Many people would have broken bones in a fall like this. None if the villas have adequate lighting of steps outside. The bathroom steps in Acacia are Marble with no hand rail and you cannot see the edges at night. They moved us to another safer villa. The walkways are dark and difficult at night if you are unsteady on your feet. Use a torch or stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check the steps and lighting if you are at all unsteady, likely to fall or trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you arrive you feel as if you have walked into a strange, but amazing jungle palace come luxury hotel. You walkalong jungle paths with hidden buddhas, small ponds and under a green tropical canopy - for someone living in a city it's pretty exciting.

We stayed at the pool villa, which was built in Balinese style. It was a huge room with high ceilings a large soft bed with mosquito netting. This is necessary to keep mosquitos away - and a large spider, which decided to visit us one night). One minus (for some) is that you have to walk up stairs to access the room, but not many.

The bathroom is outdoor and it's an amazing feeling taking a shower amid the sounds of the jungle. The outdoor space including the (private) pool was perfect for reading and relaxing and had epic views over the jungle.

The hotel is just down the road from Ubud city and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

I'd definitely come back and recommend this place warmly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa

Address: Jln Raya Campuhan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Ibah is a prime example of classic and up-to-date Balinese hospitality and style. Exteriors reflect traditional Bali, with thatched roofs and stone walls carved with exuberant sculptures, making it the perfect place to discover the culture and spirit of Bali. The resort is situated on Royal grounds handed down through generations, alongside Holy springs discovered by a Hindu priest over four hundred years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas And Spa
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas Hotel Ubud
Warwick Ubud
Ubud Warwick
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.