We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Balinese Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Tirta Tawar, Banjar Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“True Balinese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was perhaps our best experience during our stay in Bali. The villa is tucked away in the village of Junjungan and is about 3 -4 kms from the main Raya Ubud road. However, the ride to the villa is worth every bit it as you pass by many kiosks and rice paddy fields. The villa itself is absolute value for money. The spacious rooms, excellent housekeeping and the infinity pool at the centre of the villa just make this place a home away from home. What inspired us was our interaction with the resort owner Made. He is a kind and friendly person with a strong desire to help his community people to gain employment and he trains a group of young boys and girls in hospitality. His efforts were evident in the manner and professionalism with which these kids attended to all our needs ranging from housekeeping, room service to catering.

We were touched by the friendliness of the staff. For us, this was the Balinese cultural experience - getting to know the local people .On our last day, we gifted the staff with school stationery and Australian chocolates as a token of our appreciation. The delightful looks on their faces spoke more than words can describe.

I would strongly recommend this place and we look forward to making this resort our home in future visits to Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junjungan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Tazpa
Warmest greeting from villa junjungan resort pool and spa,
thank you you had writting and shared all of your feeling and good experience during your stay at villa junjungan resort.
all of us stay many thanks for your stay and good support for us.
We are really appreciate for your recommend our villa and you will coming back on your next trip.

kindly regards
ESTY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay if you want to find some peace and quiet. It is a little far out of town, but the do provide shuttle in and out. Calling the driver can be a pain as you have to ask someone with a Balineese phone. Great staff! Beautiful place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junjungan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr.Aaronday

Many thanks for your stay at villa junjungan resort and also thanks for taking your time to give us a support by writting and shared your feeling during you stay with us.hopelessly you stay with us again

Warmest regards
ESTY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This graceful little resort had all the necessary amenities about 2 km out of Ubud. The hotel shuttles guests to town just about any time. Nestled in the rice fields, we could watch the white herons coming and going while sitting on our balcony with the setting sun. Beautiful design, watercourses everywhere, good pool, inviting restaurant, varied menu. The hotel staff were VERY helpful, caring, and friendly, and English was spoken well enough. Air con in the spacious room struggled to keep up with the heat, but managed.

Room Tip: They all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junjungan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. Gordon
Warmest greetings, from Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa.
Thank you for choosing Villa Junjungan Resort as your place to rest while you are on vacation to Bali.
We are really appreciate because you have given us support through the reviews about what do you feel than you've written and shared on TripAdvisor.
And we also would like to say Merry Christmas (for those who celebrate) and the Happy New Year 2015.
Best Regards
ESTY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pro :
Clean - Rooms, lobby, pool, lavatory etc. is really clean and neat.
Comfortable - Stayed for 2 nights here and had a very good sleep each night. Beds are a little tad small but it's fine. Air conditions are good and cold.
Breakfast - Simple. Not too heavy.
Environment - Beside the rice field which is beautiful. Peaceful and quiet. Sleep with the sound of crickets, frogs, and geckos(lizards).
Service - Made Surata (Owner Manager) is really helpful and speak fine English. The rest of his coworkers don't. Make sure to have Google Translate in handy.
Wifi - The whole villa is equipped with FREE WiFi facilities. Although it's a little slow. It's perfect for checking out your social websites, news and so on. But don't expect a good experience on watching YouTube and others.

Cons :
Bathroom - Water pressure is really low. Hot water isn't that perfect as it's inconsistent.
[We don't feel comfortable with the decorative picture hanging in the bathroom. That picture makes the whole lavatory so eerie with Illuminati aspects. Makes urinating at night difficult. Somewhat the whole villa is filled with 3 - 4 pictures of naked women and so on.]
Location - Situated in a remote area with roads leading to the villa at night super dark. A 10 minutes ride to Ubud town.

Room Tip: Get the cottages facing the rice terrace and fields and also the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in this villa for six nights with our two daughters (13 years of age) in July 2012 while enjoying our vacation in Bali. The villa, which has been open since one an a half year, is situated close to Junjungan, approximately 5 kilometers north of Ubud. It is located just near the rice paddies, a very quiet and beautiful place. The villa consists of two separate cottages with a terrace looking out over the rice paddies and one luxury family room, which is connected with the lobby and does not have a terrace. The lobby serves more or less as an extension of the family room, has some seats, a DVD player and books that can be borrowed. This section of the lobby is for general use and not exclusively meant for the visitors of the family room. According to one of the reviews of April 2012, the rooms could only be accessed via the lobby. At the present time, this problem has been solved by placing an additional wall in front of the doors, providing more privacy.

The ‘luxury family room’ is a 2 bedroom apartment with a separate bathroom. Both bedrooms are approximately 20 sq meters. The ‘master bedroom’ has a flat screen television, a small desk and one twin bed and a closet. The other bedroom has about the same surface and had two separate beds (placed next to each other), a closet and a small desk. All beds have mosquito nets. The rooms are basically equipped and have air conditioning. Everything was clean and seemed to be new. There was a small bar of soap and one shampoo/soap dispensers mounted on the wall. There is no safety deposit box. A free WIFI connection is available, but the quality is poor according to European standards.

The inner walls of the two bedrooms and bathroom are open at the top but of course as a whole covered by a common rooftop. For this reason, there is no proper noise isolation between the two bedrooms and bathroom. Furthermore, there are some small spaces between the roof and the outer walls, which may allow mosquitoes and other insects to enter the room. You may ask the staff for a mosquito coil or use a repellent before you go to sleep.

Next to the luxury family room the villa also has two cottages which are considerably cheaper than the family room and have the advantage that they are detached from the main building. The cottages have a spacious living/bedroom, separate toilet, open air shower and small bedroom with one bed. Personally I had the feeling that the price for the luxury family room seems relative high compared to what the cottages offer. If you are traveling with a maximum number of three people, I would advice to book the cottages over the family room, since they simply provide more privacy.

The villa has a nice ‘infinity’ swimming pool of approximately 15x 4 meters, which gradually increases to a depth of 2 meters. The pool is therefore not suited for children who cannot swim.

In respect to the safety: There are no fire detectors in the room or hall and escape routes are not indicated. However, all rooms are located on the ground floor, in case of emergency escape via the window is possible. There are no fire extinguishers readily available for the guests, but this seems common in Indonesia. A night guard is present.

The staff is very kind and attentive and deserve a big compliment for making our stay very enjoyable. They truly made you feel at home and gave you a warm welcome every time you came back after a daytrip or dinner. There are quite some ‘trainees’ present, trying to get some experience in running a hotel or apartment. The rooms are cleaned and the garden maintained daily. For the guests of the family room, breakfast is served near the lobby and is rather basic; continental style with plain or banana pancakes. Some variation would have been welcome! There is a possibility to have dinner in the villa as well, but the quality is not outstanding. I suggest having dinner in Ubud (try Café Wayan on Monkey forrest road!)

Since the villa is approximately a 45 minutes walk from Ubud, there is a ‘free shuttle service’ available, meaning you will either be brought or picked up in Ubud by the owner or driver for free before 5 pm, with a maximum of two trips. For transportation after this time, you will be charged 40.000 Rp. Note that the normal price is probably lower, it wa not difficult to get a drive back home for 30.000 Rp. The driver of the hotel can take you on a trip to the highlights in Bali for 500.000 Rp. Highly recommended, but do avoid having lunch in Kintamani were the driver is probably trying to take you. The restaurant over there serve a buffet style lunch for a ridiculous price and without any doubt give commission to the driver. Kintamani is well known for these ‘tourist traps’.

In summary: If you would like to stay in a quiet place in the middle of the rice paddies for a short period and you won’t like to stay in a more expensive hotel or apartment, this place might be what you are looking for. It’s good value for money. However, If you are looking for a true comfortable, top-end luxurious stay I suggest to look for another place to spend your holiday since the apartment itself is rather basic.

Room Tip: If possible, book the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Had a fantastic stay here August 2011, and decided to go back again in March 2012. It certainly didnt disappoint. The rooms, views and hotel surrounds are just equisite, plus the staff I would have to say are the most pleasant and helpful I have encountered anywhere. Made (manager)- you are awesome! If you want peace, tranquility, beautiful surrounds and lush terraced rice fields as your views, and fire flies as your local pets, this is the place for you. I have reviewed this hotel previously, unsure as to why it is not showing now.

Room Tip: I would always choose one of the rooms facing the terraced rice fields, very private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Really nice villa in an amazing location. View on the rice field. If you are looking for something quiet and peaceful, this is definitely the place to be. The service is excellent and the staff an absolute kindness. We asked for a package tour, everything was provided including the driver, Dewa, which was also our guide for 2 days. We spent an amazing time!
Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junjungan, Owner at Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear all my guest, many thank for all your review and support our small and simple Villa Junjungan resort pool& spa. If you sta at the Villa junjungan Resort mean, your $ spent with the right way.
We sure can meet you again some days.
Good luck for you and your family.
Made Surata/owner manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa

Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar, Banjar Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa is a special & unique place, with 4 rooms to offer a familial atmosphere. The villa is surrounded by rice fields & has an outside pool with a jacuzzi. Villa is situated at only 7 minute drive from the center of Ubud and 45 km from the Airport. From here you can visit the main interesting places of Bali.Villa junjungan Resort pool & spa own by local person,and the most of staff from local village person and family, that mean your $ spent with the right way. See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Junjungan Resort Pool & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.