We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One my favourite stays in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alamanda Accommodation to your Saves list
Alamanda Accommodation
JL Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One my favourite stays in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've had the best time in Alamanda, the family are genuinely sweet, welcoming, and helpful. Made, has a very big heart! The Alamanda Hotel/Villas is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Ubud. I was lucky enough to rent out one of their rooms for a whole month and I thoroughly enjoyed the garden like atmosphere, the beautiful bath tub, the traditional balinese carved doors, and comfortable bed. The family gave me a beautiful dinner during Nyepi (the day of silence) when it was not possible to go out on to the streets. I will always go back to Alamanda when I stay in Ubud I just love it there.
I should also probably mention that for such a beautiful hotel in the heart of Ubud, Alamanda is VERY inexpensive. You get a lot more than your money is worth staying there.

Room Tip: My 1st favourite room is in the building on the left, up the stairs, turn left. Lovely patio and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Best value in the whole of Ubud, the family running the accommodations are genuinely good people. Very friendly and incredibly helpful. Alamanda is set in the heart of Ubud so you are very close to the shops, restaurant, monkey forest etc… The rooms are beautifully renovated, very relaxing, and traditional. You get a lot more than your money’s worth in this hotel. I stay there every time I go to Bali, and I have done so for the past 4 years. HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Quiet, intimate, and relatively private setting. Spacious rooms with ceiling and oscillating fan, bathtub and hot shower, lots of windows and mosquito netting on the bed. Breakfast is modest but very tasty. Alas, WiFi is notoriously poor/slow/intermittent all over Ubud and Alamanda is no exception. Our toilet lacked a health faucet but our neighbor's toilet did not. Our bathtub needed a serious scrubbing with soap scum remover and mildew killer. Otherwise, a fabulous find. I look forward to returning!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent a wonderful relaxing week at Alamanda, in a room with an entrance like a temple. The door and windows were beautiful! The location is convenient, as it is right in central Ubud, close to all the restaurants, shopping, and dance performances, but it is tucked back through an alleyway, so is extremely quiet. Our room had a lovely patio on which we were served delicious breakfasts each morning at whatever time we arose. The room was clean, had a hot water shower, fan, large bed, couch, wardrobe, thick bath towels.

The owners are absolutely lovely. They had us sampling durian from their own tree, talked to us about Balinese culture and the Ubud area, took time to explain good walking routes through the local rice paddies, and were able to organise tours and transport at economical prices.

Because Alamanda is tucked down an alleyway, their sign can be a bit hard to see from the road. Just look for the big, green Lemonade Mexican restaurant sign, and you'll have found it!

In response to the last review--made by someone who did not actually even stay here--yes it is on the basic end of the accommodation spectrum (though by far the nicest we've found in this price bracket ~$25), so if you are looking for a place with a pool and aircon, you can spend two to three times as much down the street... But if you are on a budget and looking for an authentic Balinese home stay in a peaceful garden setting, look no further!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently booked into Alamanda after reading reviews on trip advisor, but although the people were very sweet I did not stay there as I felt it was much too basic for me. The photo of the lovely outdoor setting must belong to another property as the garden is a mess of building works. I finally found another lovely place to stay and for only a few more dollars had a swimming pool, beautiful garden and much higher standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahaina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sumaui, the Matriarch, her son Made, his wife Ni Made and their 3 children are what make Alamanda the warm and inviting accommondation that it is. The guest is enveloped with the Bali spirit as their extended family and friends come and go within their compound. Their easy grace warm smiles and laughter is genuine. The rooms are clean and pleasant, breakfast included and coffee/tea available all day long. If sightseeing advice is needed, Made can help arrange for your requests to be filled, or knows a trusted someone who can. Alamanda is located in Ubud, but situated off from the Monkey Forest Road, down a small walkway (gang) allowing for a sense of privacy. This location is ideal as most of Ubud can be accessed by walking. If safety is a concern, this is an excellent choice. Many times, myself and others have left luggage at the compound and make off island trips knowing all will be well upon return. The price is affordable and at times, (during slow seasons) negotionable.I have been returning to the Alamanda for over 15 years, for a yearly 2 month stay, and have more praise than room to write here.p.s. What is interesting, is that Alamanda is always improving!

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room overlooking the gang receives loud late night club music several nights of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I had plan to stay in Ubud 1 week but the guest house and the family are so great I extend for 8 more days. The owners are nice, the included breakfastS are simple but really amazing !, the location is perfect and the room more than acceptable especially for the price you pay. Queen or king bed, clean, hot water, wifi and nice furnitures. The only thing missing in some rooms is a fridge and it is the only one reason I choose this title for my comment. This place is just amazing with enjoyable room, nice owners always ready to help and the luxurious vegetation / superb items. Definitely a place to be in Bali after trying Kuta, Denpasar, jimbaran and Seminyak in this 4 stars accomodation. :) Thank you Made and your sweet family !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Accommodation

Address: JL Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alamanda Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Accommodation Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.