We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good scrubbing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bumi Muwa Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bumi Muwa Ubud to your Saves list
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Needs a good scrubbing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here mainly because it was close to the Monkey Forest. As others have stated, the hotel was very difficult to find. There is only a small placard on the side of a wall that shows the name of the hotel. It is on top of the hill on Monkey Forest Rd, on the right, and next to a store called Oleh-Oleh.

Positives:
-The grounds were very impressive upon entering. The plants and trees appeared to be well kept.
-The staff were friendly and helpful.
-Nice pool
-Good location. There are many shops and restaurants along the street.
-A/C worked great

Negatives:
-Upstairs room was dirty
-The ceiling and curtains are covered in mold and other unidentifiable stains.
-The detergent used on the towels and sheets smelled like bad after-shave.
-Towels are old and ratty
-Shower-head covered in limescale.
-No safe

For the price we paid to stay here, we only expected to have a basic room. But the smell of the sheets and mold on the ceiling did not make our stay comfortable. Perhaps the other rooms are in better condition. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
36
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were very pleased with this accommodation and really had a very pleasant stay at Bumi Muwa. The location is central (although a little bit difficult to find in the beginning because it is down a small alley behind the shops that face the front on Jl Monkey Forest - most of the accommodation is situated like this, because of the rice paddies and infra structure of the city). But once you know where it is, it is actually so central and a good walking distance to most of the main tourist sites as well as the big Coco Supermarket. The garden and swimming pool area are so beautiful and they clean the area on a regular basis. Every day we ordered our choice of breakfast for the next morning in advance. The food was always very tasty and freshly made. We just loved the fresh fruit, smoothies and pancakes. Our double bedroom and en suite were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Our little veranda stoep had a beautiful view over the garden. Very good AC in the bedroom. The staff members were all very friendly and helpful. They even arranged a private driver for us for our next trip to Sanur. We will definitely recommend Bumi Muwa to every tourist visiting Ubud. Without any doubt, we will stay here again on a future visit to Ubud. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful. Our best wishes accompany the young and friendly staff members of this excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Overall very comfortable, the room was very clean and a nice view of the swimming pool. I was happy with the quiet and quality of service. I liked the room design too. It's not a luxury hotel, but that's not what you expect. I like the simple furnishings, and tiled floor (much cleaner than some Bali-style over-elaboration.

It was very clean, and I was happy here.

Room Tip: Second floor; Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I would say I will not recommend for this hotel unless you are a backpackers or you are looking for something real budget hotel, in fact the hotel is not that cheap compared with other boutique hotel.
I would say this hotel is really sooooo out from our expectation. It is located at the busy Monkey Forrest road and no one would actually realised it's entrance if you are not becareful enough. When my driver dropped us there, we were like almost fainting. You can't imagine how small is the entrance at the main road. it is only fit for two normal size person.
The moment once you stepped in the room, it looks old and it was filled with the fragrance air freshener.However, later on when the fragrance of the air freshener went off, you will experience the bad smell of the wet weather. And the bed is so noisy whenever you move your body.
There are leakage on the ceiling in the bathroom. My hubby even claim uncomfortable inside the bathroom .

Overall, we put a cross to this hotel!!!Although the staffs are very helpful enough and the breakfast was normal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is located near the south end of the busy Monkey Forest street, but I actually passed it by several timed as the only street sign (placed on an opposite wall, so visible only if you walk in the north direction) is unnoticeable.
Once in, the place looks like a true oasis with lush garden and calm atmosphere. I stayed 3 nights in a ground floor room and have overall positive feedback : the room was spacy, air con, big bathroom, comfy bed. A bit too dark for my taste and if you open the sliding door it feels like exposing all your room to other guests passing by, so it does not give the sense of security (however the door looks cute). The biggest downside is the smell of mold which cannot be aired away even with the aircon!
The staff are very friendly and always greet you with a smile. Ask for a free map of Ubud at the reception! The hotel location is strategic and close to everything you may wish to visit in Ubud. If you want to go further , ask them to book a driver for you (price slightly cheaper than if hired from the street). And they also serve one of the best breakfasts in Bali!
I did not use the pool as I was out all days long exploring the region with so many things to do: temples, museums, market, wood carving villages, cocoa plantations, charming legong dances and vast rice paddies.
Really loved this hotel and would stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for second floor rooms for security reasons and to avoid the mold smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in 2 rooms downstairs and 1 upstairs for our family of six. The rooms downstairs had sliding glass panels which left a gap even when locked. The room upstairs was much better (had a wooden lockable door and a safe, but it was movable) although the railing at the balcony was shaky (not safe if travelling with young children).
The rooms had no telephones and limited TV channels.There was also no coffee/tea making facility.
The plus points about this place is the tranquil setting despite being located on a shopping street, freshly cooked hot breakfasts (thankfully NOT buffet), clean linen sheets and towels, rooms and bathrooms. Staff were polite and smiley.
Hence this place is more suitable for couples looking for a quiet getaway (no phones, no TV) on a shoestring budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have safes, balconies and secure wooden doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful clean place, lovely gardens, large rooms, nice pool, good price, great location on Monkey Forest Road just at the top of the hill. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was modern with good hot water and decent water pressure. The bed was comfortable, a/c cold, fridge in room, nice balcony. Best quality breakfast in Bali, not huge, but really tasty- great banana and pineapple pancakes. I stayed in a second floor room in the building nearest the pool. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 4 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumi Muwa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Muwa Ubud

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Muwa is a perfect Balinese hideaway accommodation for romantic couples, families alike, and for those who appreciate informality, but to be close to Ubud’s tourist interest and culture centre. Considering Bumi Muwa ubud located in the heart of Ubud, Bumi Muwa serves as a tranquil and comfortable place. Bumi Muwa is build as a simple accommodation with traditional and modern architecture. The space and facilities are set in a surrounded tropical garden with swimming pool and nearby from Monkey forest and Ubud Palace, also just a door step to find many tourist activities, shop, and restaurant at the main road. In front of the accommodation a few minute walk to rice field, there will represents an outstanding value offer. Bumi Muwa is not just accommodation but also unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bumi Muwa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Muwa Ubud Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumi Muwa Ubud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.