We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, ninja-like-house keeping, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nirvana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Nirvana to your Saves list
Villa Nirvana
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Desa Sayan, Banjar Penestanan Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great staff, ninja-like-house keeping, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in the Shanti Om room right in front of it's very own pool. From the moment we arrived the place looked amazing. The grounds were impeccable, and the staff courteous, friendly and professional.

The room was a bit tight for several large suit cases, and also a bit dark if you arrive at night like we did to unpack. but the bed was comfortable and the room had all the necessary amenities.

Once thing to note is that the Villa is a bit hard to find, so if you can, try to get there during the day, as you can't be dropped off directly in front of the place. They would need to pick you up in their buggy, or you can just walk the short distance to the front, something like 100metres. Drivers or taxi's that haven't been there before may need to call the reception to get directions.

The house-keeping staff were like ninja's. It seemed they cleaned the room several times during the day, once in the afternoon and another in the evening. We never even saw them. But they always switch on the lights and close the curtains for the evening clean to ensure you have maximum privacy. Which was nice.

The only weak point was probably their toilet facilities. Which wasn't that much of an issue, and I'm sure with a little bit of maintenance it wouldn't be a problem.The shower had very low pressure, the bathtub tap would only pump out super hot water and the bathtub plug didn't work as the water would slowly drain out.

Apart from that the place has it's own character. Their in-house spa was convenient and lovely. Their restaurant was decent, although being so close to Ubud you could get better food outside if needed. Overall lovely place, with tonnes of potential to be an drop dead amazing place.

Room Tip: The Shanti Om Room was a great villa, the pool is directly in front of the room, but if you are afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking time from your busy schedule and posting your gracious comments on Trip Ad visor.

On behalf of the staff and myself we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of serving you at Villa Nirvana.

We shall looks into the areas of concern and take remedial steps to enhance your future experience when staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Let me start by saying that the villas are located in the middle of tiny roads, which adds a lot of character to the Ubud experience, the gardens are stunning, has a lovely feel of instant relaxation once you arrive.

The staff are super nice, attentive and friendly, the manager is there making sure all is working and they do a great job.

I really wanted to give them 4 stars but the villa feels a bit improvized, and the bathroom was a disappointment, for the price we paid we felt we couln't complain. We just enjoyed the large pool and the private luxury feel of it.

This is still a good value for money, but they can do a lot to improve the villa and it wouldn't cost them much. Art hanging on the walls has a cheap feel, the lights are terrible and just the overall finishes of the villa are low quality.

Nevertheless the team will make you forget about all these details with their smiles and friendliness.

Congrats to all the staff and the manager, hope you will invest a bit in the villas and then the experience will be closer to a 4 star stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.We value your feed back and shall certainly look into the upkeep of all our villas that will raise the level for your next visit.Any specific areas you feel we need to improve do let us know.I shall once again examine the art work on the walls.
We were happy to host you and the team and I look forward to seeing you again.

Happy Days and Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed five nights here and loved the room, the gardens and pools, food and staff friendliness. The grounds are well designed and beautifully kept and the restaurant has some tasty Indian vegetarian options.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and review of the villas.It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you and your friiends and family to Villa Nirvana anytime.

On behalf of the entire team and myself thank you.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights, my partner had stayed here many times before and I can see why. The accommodation is stunning with our own outside bath with private pool and views. The staff are very friendly and very efficient. Food was excellent with lots of little touch's like a fruit bowl and beds being turned down in the evening that set it apart. Whilst not in central Ubud the villas are any easy 15min walk into town or $3 AUD or about 3000rp for a taxi if coming home late at night. Always negotiate with the driver and don't be afraid to walk away. Taxi is a word you will hear many times in Ubud.

There is also a full sized supermarket nearby.

Highly recommend Villa Nirvana I left my credit card behind and a staff member chased us down by motorbike on our way to Amed to return it. That was very much appreciated.

We will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hiya Gary,
It was a pleasure to have Meg and you stay with us again.Meg is like family and the staff and I are always happy and delighted to host her at the villas.

Thank you for your kind and gracious comments it is always a honor to have you stay with us.We are blessed to have you as our regular guests.

We wish you a great stay in Bali and a safe journey /flight back home.

Kind Regards,
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stay for 3 nights (6 -9 Feb 2014) in Ananda Sri Villa for our 4th wedding anniversary. Very beautiful villa and pool. Its a shared pool but its feel like our own private pool because we never met the guest beside our villa. Lovely breakfast. Not too big but enough to start the day. Staff all great and very helpful. Lush surrounding and quiet area. Close to Ubud market.
Got little visit from critters like gecko" Tokek" inside the villa and make funny noise in the middle of the night. And we check out, i saw small snakes slithering in front of our villa to the garden near the pool. Need "critters" control ;-) .... that's okay because the villa is beside river and a lot of trees. So it's normal guys.
Overall its an awesome experience and we happy to recommend this place. Love every moment of it.

Room Tip: Ask staff to do "critters" control to make sure all ants, gecko"tokek" and snake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind and objective review .We appreciate your feedback and findings.

The team at Villa Nirvana was happy to host you and I am sorry for the un invited friends of gecko n others that may have dropped in during the night.Being in the tropics this is part of the habitat. We shall try to do our best to give them new homes.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My friends and I checked-in late at the hotel on our first day bcoz we went around Ubud almost the whole day. When we arrived, we were welcomed by good and friendly staff, fetch by a buggy, served w/ welcome drinks & clean small towels. However a few mins after we arrived, the hotel experienced brownout. We found out from the staff that there's something wrong w/ the powerline around Ubud. At first we thought it's only in our hotel but the staff explained that our neighboring hotels didn't have electricity also. They were very apologetic & made sure that we're ok. They placed candles, mosquito repellants and emergency lights around our villa while we still enjoy the pool. After 2 hrs, the power's back. Rooms are clean, i have no complain at all. Everything we needed has been provided. There were ants but it was ok. It didn't bother us. The following day, we had a very good and hearty free breakfast :) Best of all, we were upgraded to Shanti Om Villa for free! Our supposed villa is under a minor renovation so we needed to be moved to the next door villa. Not bad at all :) my friends and I realized that we should have stayed longer! Got really excited to know also that a nearby museum called Don Antonio Blanco Rennaisance museum is just 10 to 15-min walk from our hotel. A must visit for travelers fond of paintings and exquisite arts! When I go back to Ubud next time, will probably stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.My sincere apologies for the power blackout which was due to a faulty grid and load shedding in the Ubud area.We are taking steps to install a gen set/stabliser for power and we shall hopefully have it installed before your next visit.

On behalf of the team and I we would like to thank you for you understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a 2 rooms Villa with private pool.
We super enjoyed and loved the place. Our experience is worth it.
loving the Lush, hearty, and quiet surroundings and the bfast is pretty decent.
I won't forget to mention how accommodating and helpful the staffs are. Kudos to all!
We look forward coming back here and will definitely recommend this location to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Many thanks for your gracious comments.The team and I thoroughly enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us.We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dean Thapar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nirvana

Address: Desa Sayan, Banjar Penestanan Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nirvana 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nirvana is a haven of tranquility in Ubud'd reneowned spiritual and artistic hamlet of Penenstan.It is in a serene rural setting amidst lush greenery and is only 15 minutes walk away from Ubud's town center.Set in a landscaped gated community its independent and private villas with plunge pools are designed to be in harmony with nature and the elements.They offer the comfort of luxury resort villa at a fraction of the price.Villa Nirvana your sanctuary of bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nirvana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nirvana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.