We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Ubud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nirvana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Nirvana to your Saves list
Villa Nirvana
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Desa Sayan, Banjar Penestanan Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Tobermory, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Ubud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Villa Nirvana turned out to be a surprisingly pleasant experience. We had a villa to ourselves for most of our stay and enjoyed the private pool and enclosure for that period. Even with neighbours in the adjacent room it was a wonderful accommodation. Staff were extremely helpful, bringing us mangosteens from their private gardens and even arranging for a specialist in medical massage for a nasty back spasm. Very effective and not costly.
Our room was spacious, comfortable if not elegant but certainly romantic with mosquito netted 4-poster and wonderful "outdoor" shower and tub. Staff were happy to bring supper over during the back troubles and generally did all they could to make sure we were happy and comfortable. They took interest in our outings, made some suggestions but didn't push.
The villa is somewhat difficult to find and many drivers really don't know where the address is so you need to be sure to have the phone number so your driver can double-check and pre-arrange the golf cart to meet you if you are arriving with luggage.
I loved the quiet, easy proximity to town and all the nearby warungs to sample different versions of nasi goreng or chicken curry and fabuous fruit plates. Lala Lili, Bubu, Marni were all excellent and the river cafe also provided very good meals.
Walking to town in either direction involves some distance of rather dull section or scary twisty road with no sidewalk, but town is readily accessible to the reasonably fit and exploring the pathways around the villa was a mind-blowing lesson in economics and engineering. Incredible places have been built where no motorized vehicle can go. Yoga studios,art galleries and tiny restaurants are around every corner on footpaths not even two feet wide amidst jungle and rice paddies.
I do hope to return and we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We peeked into each of the three walled villas and each was uniquely attractive. Another time I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rahul Pathak

We take two or three short family vacations around Asia each year, but after a while the packed beaches, clubs and bars start to resemble each other. Ubud and Villa Nirvana simply blew us away. We had decided to try a more remote and tranquil location, telling ourselves that we could always take a taxi to Bali's hotspots if things got too slow. We didn't need to. The experience was brilliant. It started with a late-evening arrival from Singapore and we were wondering where would eat after reaching Villa Nirvana around 10.30pm. No problem. It has the lovely River Cafe on its premises with a decent spread and chefs willing to modify dishes to suit your taste buds. Though other guests had eaten long before us, the cafe was thoughtfully kept open, just for us. The villas, themselves, were magical at night, with the pool glowing softly outside and wind rustling through the lush trees. The interiors were plush and comfortable, but not in a cookie-cutter hotel style. Three days went by in a flash. The rooms were cleaned twice a day. The staff was always willing to offer advice, without ever trying to thrust anything down your throat. My children tried yoga classes, just a short walk away. I went for a round of golf (a good hour's drive away). We spent mornings walking through the paddy fields or checking out the art galleries in Ubud. In the afternoons, you could just lounge about the villa, stare at the trees and feel a calm and stillness you don't find on most holidays. One highlight of the trip was a visit to Sari Organik, a wonderful eatery in a rustic setting which offers completely organic (and delicious) food and wine. For once my children, 20 and 22, even decided to do without their dose of clubbing as they were completely wrapped up in this very different experience. They gladly accepted the wi-fi, though, and settled for a trip to one of Ubud's bars which shut by midnight. When the holiday ended, we all agreed it was too short and have resolved to go back for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Villa Nirvana is in tranquil and peaceful surrounds in the beautiful Ubud. A great place to stay if you want to relax and chill out. The private villa that we stayed in was nice however it could do with a bit of a makeover as it looks a little dated. The four poster bed and semi outdoor bathroom was lovely. The staff were great. Very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was average and could be improved however the restaurant area is beautiful and overlooks the forest. The location is good, away from the hustle and bustle of the main street yet only a 15 minute walk away. We highly recommend the Lala and Lilly warung which is only about 50m walk from the Villa Nirvana on the way to the steps. Great food and very cheap! Villa Nirvana is good for those on a bit of a budget but who want a romantic hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This a very small and private hotel - just four two-bedroom villas, each with its own private pool. The location is secluded, almost in the jungle, as it is next to a stream. The downside is that it is a 20-minute walk to Ubud. The first five minutes are a lovely walk but the last 15 are on the main road. There is no car access for the last 60 metres to the hotel, though the villa has a golf buggy. The garden is very attractive and has some lovely features. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The manager speaks perfect English and is very accommodating. Breakfast is quite good, though the bread was a bit basic. The rooms are large and airy but rather dark at night, though there are reading lamps. When I mentioned this the manager immediately upgraded the bulbs and this helped a fair bit. Cleanliness is excellent, the bed is large and pleasantly firm. The ceilings are very high and traditionally thatched. The main bathroom is the largest I have ever seen! The breakfast room is an open-air pavilion from which you can watch squirrels and dragonflies. The manager can ring for a very good masseuse to come for 145,000. Overall the villa is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Awesome villas's, Tropical rain forest look. Private pool,
clean rooms and very helpful staff.
Location is bit of let down, no road upto the villa. about 50 mt walk or call for villa. Not enough lighting on road if you are late. Taxi drivers are usually helpful.
Used villa arranged taxi few times, when compared with other taxi outside were same or cheaper.
Breakfast were provided but were micro sized but were enough to fill appetite. Conversion rate was pretty good with them.
The had outdoor bathroom was quiet nice and pool was much bigger than a plunge pool which other villa offer. Manager seems to be very helpful and was very prompt when asked for anything.Staff were generally well behaved and didn't bothered us most of the times.
Will definitely go again

Room Tip: call villa in advance and have their map and phone number handy as most people dont know where it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Bali
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The villas are nice enough. Clean, small. Nothing particularly special, but acceptable. The staff, for the most part, is nice but with limited English. It appears that they want to be helpful, but they usually didn't understand what we were asking for. I have concerns about the main manager. He appears to be quite shady. For example, my child broke a vase. He said we owed $100 for the vase. We learned (from our baby sitter who is Balinese) that the vase only cost $5. I approached the manager, about this and said we would be billed for $40. I pushed the issue, asking to see the broken vase (so I could compare it to the others). Finally, they agreed that that we only needed to pay $5. I got the sense the staff was constantly trying to nickle and dime us, which really reduced the enjoyment. Penestenan, where the villa is located, is lovely. But our experience was extremely hampered by the managment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean T, General Manager at Villa Nirvana, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We were very happy yo host the guests.However to say that the management is shady is incorrect.We try to make sure all guests at Villa Nirvan have lasting and fond memories. These guests were trying to short change us and wanted more than what was on offer without paying for it.We graciously obliged and therfore find it hard to see a review which does not justify the end result.
As is policy breakages and destruction to hotel/villa property must be paid by the guest and management were only doing their job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Villa Nirvana is a small hotel, located about 20-25 mn walk from Ubud center. The resort is quite new. Each pair of room share a small garden space and a nice plunge pool. As both rooms are facing each other it's much fun if you are booking the block as a family or group of friends traveling together. Staff does not consider the separated garden as private as they would come in without notice. When we stayed here service at the restaurant was a catastrophe. Breakfast is included but is rather symbolic : you choose either bread or cereals and whatever you order you get a very small portion. On the first day we also had lunch there. Menu in the room and the restaurant are different and bear different prices. And at the end you'll be billed at a third different rate, which was however not excessive. Staff at the restaurant understand almost no English. We ordered a main course and a dessert and asked that coffee would be served along with the last course. We got coffee first and when it was cold could enjoy dessert before we had to wait long again for the main course which arrived the last one! I would recommend to have meals just across the road by Made Warung where food is delicious, generous and service just perfect for a no frills eatery.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nirvana

Address: Desa Sayan, Banjar Penestanan Kaja, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nirvana 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nirvana is a haven of tranquility in Ubud'd reneowned spiritual and artistic hamlet of Penenstan.It is in a serene rural setting amidst lush greenery and is only 15 minutes walk away from Ubud's town center.Set in a landscaped gated community its independent and private villas with plunge pools are designed to be in harmony with nature and the elements.They offer the comfort of luxury resort villa at a fraction of the price.Villa Nirvana your sanctuary of bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nirvana Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nirvana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.