We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Balinese Style Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Balinese Style Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in this hotel and it was a very pleasant stay. You have to pass through a courtyard before going to the room. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful with its Balinese architecture and carving. The pavement is exquisitely decorated with colour stones.

Room: We stayed in Room 102 which is right in front of the pool. We were expecting it to be noisy and rowdy but surprisingly it wasn't. For some reason, the rest of the guests were not using the pool and we had the pool pretty much to ourselves. The room comes with an electric mosquito repellent which is very useful considering we are near the jungle. The room is simple but very cosy. I like the room for the fact that it's quiet and not close to the main road. Definitely very tranquil and peaceful.

Bathroom: Bathroom had a little weird smell damp but it was bearable. Shower curtains is missing and hence water got to everywhere in the bathroom.

Staff: Staff were very friendly and nice. Housekeeping staff are a bunch of young boys who have a good sense of humour.

Pool: Pool is nice with sun chairs around. However, water is a little cold and takes some getting used to. The pool is clean too.

Location: A short distance to the monkey forest and to the Ubud market. Good location.

Room Tip: Choose either Room 101, 102 or 201. These are rooms with good views and facilities such as sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a stunning setting! Centrally located, it's very easy to get around. The rooms were clean, comfy, and big. The pool was beautiful, unfortunately we had a rainy few days and didn't get to use it. Our second time to stay in Ubud, last time we stayed just outside the city, definitely recommend this location more for exploring! No gym, but really not needed here with all the hills you will be climbing, couldn't figure out how to remove it from my rating, sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The entrance to this hotel is kind of hidden off the road, but the surroundings are beautiful. We had a room at the bottom level facing the pool. The pool was lovely, and so nice to have after a hot day out and about. The room was spacious and pretty clean. However there was not a lot of natural light in this room, as it was on the bottom level. And the bathroom, although clean, was always a bit damp, as were the towels. But I guess you are in a humid forest! so not the worst. Our room did not have the wifi reception either that was advertised, but again this was due to us being the furthest from the reception. A couple in the level above us did not have this problem.

Prehaps request a room on a higher level :)

Location was great, and just a 5 min walk to the monkey forest. Also the restaurant at the front of the hotel was delicious. The grilled crab was one of the best meals we had!

There were a couple of young boys that were always around if we needed anything, and who helped with our luggage etc. Saw in a below review that they mentioned it was not a very professional run hotel. i agree slightly! Was a great stay, and we didnt have any major problems, but reception was just a desk and a phone, and it was sometimes unoccupied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this inn for two nights. It is very convenient as it is located on a busy street with lots of restaurants and shops.
It is also a 10-minute walk to Ubud market.

We checked in at 7pm into two separate rooms, one on the ground level and the other on the second basement level. The layout of the whole inn is like a Balinese temple, and we were also told that the owners of this inn stay here.

There is also free unlimited wifi throughout the whole inn.

The interior of our suite was quite clean. However, there were many mosquitoes and we also discovered a baby lizard crawling under the bed.

Another unsatisfying factor was that the toilet was too smelly! There was a bathtub with no showering curtain so when we showered, all the water sprayed out and wet the floor around the toilet bowl, which made the floor slippery.

The hotel breakfast is alright, the restaurant has a very nice layout and the staff were pretty friendly. Perhaps they could speed up a bit when serving the breakfast :)

In the evening of our first day there, we went for a swim. The depth of the pool is nice for a good swim and I liked the fact that you could see the forest opposite the pool.



Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the HUGE room 301, at the end of the top floor verandah. I say top floor but it is on street level, so few stairs. Levels 1&2 are down, finishing at the rather nice pool. Room was one of their supersize offerings, clean, good plumbing and plenty of hot water, comfortable mattress and pillows. A touch of luxury. Generous and tasty breakfast, very helpful staff. Closer to the Monkey Forest than the market at top of MF Road. Quiet, despite proximity to the road. Only complaint is the reading lights: one romantic but impractical lamp on one side and none on the other. If you read in bed, take your own illumination.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 301 is at end of verandah, so no one walks past your window and it's on street level, so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here on my own for 10 nights in May 2013. Absolutely loved my huge corner room (201) that overlooked the infinity pool and the lush ravine behind it. There is a marvellous sense of space in the rooms. It is very tastefully decorated with antique wooden furniture - huge bed, useful writing desk, plenty of electrical points for charging laptops, ipads, cameras etc, empty fridge (two bottles of water supplied each day), coffee/tea making facilities, safe box in the room, huge wardrobe, nice dressing area with good mirror and good light, lovely smelling toiletries provided (as well as toothbrush, shower cap etc).
The terrace has a massive sofa for lounging beneath the fruit trees. There are large French doors on all sides, but massive blackout curtains mean you won't get woken by the sun if you don't want that. The massages in the attached spa are very good and the rooms are peaceful and clean (with shower facilities) but you do need to book in advance as they don't have a huge team.
The staff are charming and not intrusive. It is is a family run place, and the family live in the compound in front of the six guest rooms (which are huge by hotel standards). This gives a nice sense of privacy as well as security when you enter. I accidentally left my door unlocked one day - with my laptop in full view, but it was still there when I got back. The room boys are there throughout the day, keeping an eye on things. I also love the wonderful carvings on the family rooms at the front and the way it was lit up at night. Very beautiful all round!
The only downside was the food. The breakfasts were not really worth bothering with. They ask you to order it the night before and in the end I found it easier to tell them not to bother and just got a pancake and juice somewhere else rather than setting a specific time to wake up.
The hotel is in a really convenient place on Monkey Forest Road so you're spoilt for choice in terms of shops and places to eat. My recommendation is to try the frozen lime and mint drink at either the Three Monkeys restaurant or the cocktail bar a few doors down from Pondok Pundi towards the Monkey Forest. Absolutely delicous!
I would definitely stay here again. It has a lovely intimate, classy feel.

Room Tip: Room 201 is the largest and has a huge terrace that sweeps around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite being right on Monkey Forest Road, you feel miles away from it all when you are lounging on your deck or at the pool. The property is built onto a hillside - the pool and 2 of the rooms are at the bottom of the hill, so be prepared for some steps. The few from the rooms is lovely as the back of the hotel faces the infinity pool and a little copse of trees. To reach the rooms, you walk through what I assume is the family's compound with many typical Balinese shrines and architectural features. Very unique to Bali! You order the breakfast from several options each day and can have it delivered to your room. The restaurant (Icip-Icip) also has great menu items. The rooms are big with lovely furniture and comfortable beds. We also took advantage of the spa and got massages. The prices are comparable to what you see from higher end spas, and our massages were first rate.

My only critique or suggestion would be for hotel management to provide the guests with more information about the area, tours, etc. There was absolutely nothing in the room, and in other hotels, I have found this to be a very helpful and thoughtful service.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 are the bottom of the hill but on the same level as the pool. If other guests are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.