We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST GO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy

Alchemy
Jalan Penestanan Klod, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62361971981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 428 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Vegetarian, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Place of Transformation - ALL RAW & VEGAN CAFE - Salad Bar, Health Store, Juice Bar, Colon Hydrotherapy,Holistic Clinic, raw chocolate & desserts, super foods & more...
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A MUST GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Alchemy is amazing. If you are a person who thrives on food that is meant to nourish body mind and soul; this place is for you! Heck, even if you're not that kind of person, still go! The atmosphere is beautiful and relaxing. The staff are so friendly, and the food is wonderful. This place is a do it yourself kind of deal so don't expect to be greeted and seated when you arrive. Head on over to the salad bar and just try to choose only 4 toppings (quite difficult!). You will get a piece of paper with your tab on it. Hang onto this as you head over to the juice bar. There is a long long list to choose from. (Bee Here Now is delicious.) The raw dessert bar is heavenly. Cloud 9 and Bounty Bar are so so good! The upstairs is a Holistic Health Clinic. Great spot to relax and bask in the beauty of Bali.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Manager at Alchemy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi there,

thank you so much for for your beautiful and detailed review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and vibe :)

Much love,

the A-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    105
    37
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful breakfast bar and desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My lodging in Ubud was a short five minute walk from Alchemy and I'm disappointed I didn't stop in until the last few days of my stay. The breakfast bar with fresh nut milks, coconut milk yogurt, fresh fruit, nuts, seeds and powdered supplements was truly delicious. The desserts and drinks were also just as good. I would have loved to try the salad bar if only my trip to Ubud had lasted a little longer. The service was friendly and the atmosphere inviting.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Manager at Alchemy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfastbar. Hopefully you get the chance to try our saladbar and the rest of our menu at some other point :)

xxx
The A-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Inspiring raw food cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Alchemy serves great fruit juices and wonderful salad selection. I have been a big fan and during my most recent trip, I fell in love with their breakfast concept. You get to choose from an array of nut milks and flavored yoghurts and this compliments either fresh cut fruits or rolled oats, granola etc. Such a refreshing idea to jump start any day.

I have to highlight a chocolate dessert called 'cacao pao' which you will find in the dessert counter...absolutely yummy and to die for. I make it a point to pack some home on every single trip to Ubud.

Thumbs up Alchemy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Manager at Alchemy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you are an alchemy fan, an also super excited that you liked our breakfast bar!

Thanks for the kind words, and hope to have you at alchemy again soon.

xxx

The A-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta - Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Smitten by the wholesome raw food & beverage selections!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Location is rather tricky to find but certainly worth the trip! Staffs were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and willing to share anything everything about raw food.

Had wholesome lunch and simply wow-ed by the vast selection of raw salad, n healthy smoothies and juices. Got very excited by the 4 meter salad bar, with wide array of nuts, greens, and dressings to pick from.

Raw chocolate certainly not to be missed! I wanted to bring home eevvverything!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Manager at Alchemy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review and kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoy Alchemy!

xxx

The A-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing big salads and raw foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I had a wonderful meal here at the salad bar and we also ordered some lovely juices. I will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Manager at Alchemy, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi :)

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear that you want to come back soon :)

Best regards,

The A-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.