We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jangkrik Homestay to your Saves list
Jangkrik Homestay
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 334 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My first night I stayed in a hotel - the next day I went in search for something better and I found Jangkrik. Living with a local, friendly family, while you can still have full privacy is the perfect combination. The home made breakfast is an experience not to be missed and ask Made to arrange a body massage in the comfort of your room. I'm definitely directing all my friends and family to Jangkrik if they ever go to Bali. Great value for money and a perfect social solution for a solo traveller.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
45
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Jangkrik is the kind of homestay where you immediately feel at home. Thanks to Made and his family, our three day Bali trip was unforgettable. Great value for money. I know where I'll be staying the next time I am in Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Friendliness and kind hospitality is what we got for my stay in Jangkrik. Location is about 10 mins motorbike ride to Ubud market. The homestay locate a bit inside a peaceful neighborhood off Hanoman street. After the steps, you just walking straight to find the sign of Jangkrik homestay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A fair number of places in Indonesia that call themselves a "homestay" are, in fact, just guesthouses. Jangkrik is the real thing. The six rooms are inside a large family compound with more rooms for family members than for guests. There's a constant traffic of people, the kids and their friends, cats, a dog, and chickens. For all that, it's a peaceful place. The rooms are at the back of the compound and we basically never heard any noise from Jalan Hanoman, just outside the gate.

Our room was spacious, spotless and comfortable. The exterior was very pretty with good Balinese stonework. The interior, while modern and tidy was actually a bit stark with no decoration at all. The furniture was good quality, but rather neutral. Northing inside the room said, "Bali". A textile wall hanging, a framed print, a couple of masks would have been welcome and brightened the place up.

Breakfast -- banana pancakes or eggs and toast, each with a fruit plate, plus coffee or tea was good and of sufficient quantity. Wifi worked well.

Made and Kadek were welcoming and helpful. Kadek was especially sparkling and fun.

The location is on the southern end of Jalan Hanoman. There are lots of shopsand restaurants nearby, but it is a significant walk -- 15-20 minutes -- to the palace and market and other attractions of central Ubud.

Room Tip: We had one of the two downstairs rooms. From our veranda we looked across a walkway and narrow, pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. We did our booking with email and the comunication was easy and quick responded. They organised our pick up from the airport and we could check in after midnight without any trouble. Made and Kadek are lovely hosts and go out of their way to meet all your needs. The rooms are clean with good ensuite bathrooms. Our night sleep was quiet, expect when the guests in our neighbour room started communicating on skype around midnight. The walls are thick but we assume the noice travels trough the roof quite well. The pancake for breakfast is just delicious and prepared any time we want it. It is a great place to stay right in the center of Ubud and still enjoy a quiet time. A great find at a good price.
We would come back and stay here again. Even the rooster in the compound did not disturb a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Owner at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Andy and Isabelle,

It was a pleasure to have you as guests in our homestay and we are glad you liked "every minute" of it. This is what we try to achieve with every customer that stays with us, whether it is for 1 night or for 1 month, every customer is just as important to us.

Please come back again the next time and bring all your friends along with you.

Thank you very much for your friendly and clear review.

See you soon again,

Made, Kadek, Nita, Komang and Wayan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Jangkrik Homestay in Ubud for a week in May 2012. We had two rooms in the "old section", one for my wife and I and the other for our daughter which meant we had a large balcony area all to ourselves. The owners Made and Kadek and the rest of the family were very friendly and always ready for a chat or to give advice. They both speak reasonable English and we sorted all the arrangements with them via Email prior to travelling to Bali. They even organised the Taxi transfer from Kuta (200,000Rp). It was just as well we did things via Email because Jangkrik was full and backpackers kept appearing and asking after rooms and then left disappointed. They very trustingly didn’t ask for any upfront payment at all and we settled up the day we left.

Having just spent a week in Kuta at the 5* Discovery Plaza for our son’s wedding we wanted to "downsize" and discover a bit of the real Bali. You certainly got that at Jangkrik. The rooms are set in a true homestay with several other buildings containing more of the family and the family Cockerels. Funny enough you hear these Cock-a-Doodling quite early in the morning but they don’t seem to disturb you.

Breakfast was whenever you wanted it and you could order other simple meals or a beer etc. at any time. The price for these (see at the bottom of this review) was very cheap (15.000Rp is about £1). We even asked Kadek to get some laundry done for us. The price was about 30,000Rp (£2) for 12 shirts etc. which saved us loads of hand washing.

In addition our daughter got a bit of Bali Belly but was looked after by Kadek and family who made special meals for her at no cost which was very kind of them.

It says in the guide books to take US Dollars. We did and found it pretty much a waste of time. The exchange rate we got in the UK was about £100 = $150 = 1,350,000Rp. In Bali exchange rates were £100 = 1,480,000Rp and $100 = 900,000Rp. By my calculations that means changing £ to $ to Rp meant you were getting £100 = $150 = 1,350,000Rp which is 130,000Rp per £100 less than just taking £’s in the first place. However, a lot of the organised trip prices are in $’s and if you pay in Rp they tend to charge more. An example would be $30 or 300,000Rp so you might need to squabble about the fact that you are paying 10% more. Not sure what happens if you pay $’s using a credit card.

The main tourist attraction in Ubud is Monkey Forest (20000Rp). It is only about a 10-15 minute walk away, as is the Market and the Puri Lukisan Museum which is worth a visit. Just outside town in a lovely setting is the Neka Museum which you can get to for a 50,000Rp taxi ride from Jangkrik. You could walk back via Ubud but the driver will wait a couple of hours for you if you pay him an extra 50,000Rp to drop you back in Ubud.

Also well worth a visit are the Rice Fields which you can get to from near to the Lotus Cafe. Lempad House is free to look around and is pretty interesting as well. It has the biggest Bat I have ever seen in a cage and chicks that have been sprayed all sorts of colours running around.

There are loads of other attractions within 50 miles. You can get a driver for the day for anything between 300,000Rp (£20) for a normal car to 600,000Rp (£40) for something smart that you feel safe in and that will carry 7/9 passengers. They will take you pretty much anywhere you want to go on Bali for the fixed daily rate. We used someone called Nyoman Sukadana (081 239 85586) who is based in Sanur but was quite happy to come and pick us up from Ubud. He speaks good english and was extremely friendly and reliable and very knowledgeable. We paid him, don’t know if we had to !!, at the higher end of the price range but £40 was amazing value for a whole days site-seeing for up to 7 people.

If there are more than a couple of you it is far cheaper to hire a driver to take you to the sites than to go on the organised trips. Once you get there you just pay the entrance fee. An example was the 3 of us went to the Elephant Safari Park using a local driver that Made of Jangkrik got for us for the afternoon for 200,000Rp (£13). We then paid for entry ($19) + an elephant ride ($39) each and saved $25 each over the organised trips ($86). Ok you have to buy your own food but you get that plus a drink for a lot less than $25 and you are independent and can still use the driver to take you somewhere else if you want. We also went White Water rafting at $30 a head and that included pick up and drop off and a basic meal. The street price is double that but you will get 50% discount on most trips at this time of year (May).

If you wanted to eat out there are loads of restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Our favourite was Cafe Angsa, especially in the day as it has views over rice fields. This was only about 400 yards up if you turned right out of the entrance. Others we used were Laba Laba, which is even closer to Jankrik, plus a Gluten free restaurant a little further up the road. The Lotus Cafe has views over a temple and ponds full to busting with Lotus flowers.

All in all we had an amazing time in Bali, highlights being the Sunset on Kuta Beach for our son’s wedding, and an Elephant Ride at the Safari Park. Also White Water Rafting was fantastic (give the guy in the boat a generous tip, say 50,000Rp per passenger, as they get paid virtually nothing, only do one trip a day, and work incredibly hard).

The people are incredibly friendly and everywhere you go there is so much to do and see. In addition don’t get stressed about paying an extra 10,000Rp when haggling for things. After all it is only 70p you but it is what some folk out there earn in a couple of hours !! The general guideline we discovered seems to be find out what the first price is, offer 1/3rd of that and settle anywhere between that and 2/3rds. If you walk away you will be suprised at how quickly the price drops!

As promised above Jangkrik prices:-

Meals:
Nasi goreng 15.000 Rp Bakmi goreng 15.000 Rp Sate ayam lontong 20.000 Rp
Bakso Ikan 18.000 Rp Nasi Campur 18.000 Rp Sate kambing lontong 35.000 Rp
Bakso ayam 10.000 Rp Sate babi lontong 20.000 Rp

Drinks:
Kelapa Muda 10.000 Rp Water 1 liter 4.000 Rp
Bintang beer 620ml 24.000 Rp Bintang beer 330 ml 15.000 Rp
Coca Cola Can 7000 Rp Es tjendol 5000 Rp
Es tjampur 8000 Rp Es bua 9000 Rp

Room Tip: One of the upstairs rooms in the old block has a much bigger balcony than the other rooms. If you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Manager at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Bob and family,

Thank you for your friendly review, you really took your time to write about us and your experience in Ubud. We can use your review as a guide for any traveler who wants to stay with us and see Ubud and its surrounding areas and attractions.

Also your tips for eating out near to us are very useful. I am so sorry that your daughter got the Bali Belly problem, it ruins the pleasure of being on holiday.

Also thank you for publishing our warm meal prices, even though we have this also in our standard brochure (that we send by email to all our guests) many guests don't realize we also offer this convenience of enjoying a hot meal on your own balcony.

We hope everything goes well with your wife and daughter and of course also with you, and we look forward receiving you as a guest again next time you come to Bali.

Warm greetings from Made, Kadek, Nita, Komang and wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We only stayed here for 2 nights, it's a lovely place to be.
It's in a central Ubud location but tucked away up a very small entrance between shops, make sure you have the whole address and phone number. The homestay is set well back from the road past several villagers homes.
The family are delightful and very helpful.
The 6 bedrooms were all new in June 2011 and everything has been very well maintained.
Everything in the rooms was very good quality and yet it was very cheap to stay there.
there is no air-con but you don't need it in the mountains as it's cooler there.
Nice seating areas outside the rooms and you have your breakfast there.
They don't have a restaurant but will cook you a meal and bring it to your room with a couple of hours notice. Nice if you are travelling alone.
Room has a nice wardrobe with a locking door but it feels very safe here and they have their own guard dog !
Only problem was an unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom drains, maybe only our room, we kept the bathroom door shut.
Like in a lot of Bali there were cockerels crowing at dawn to wake us up !

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jangkrik U, Manager at Jangkrik Homestay, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Wizardwill,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are always interested to hear what our customer's opinion is about our guesthouse and our service. As you have experienced, our family is really enjoying the interaction with our customers and we do our very best to give you the "family" feeling and a taste of what Bali really is.

Your review really helps others to decide for Jangkrik Homestay because it is a neutral experience based on your own perception. We really hope you will come back again to us when you come to Bali-Ubud again.

One point you mentioned in your review we find very important, the smell of the drain in your bathroom. We hereby ask all our customers to mention anything that bothers you immediately to us, we will then try to solve the problem at once. We asked Kadek, our cleaning lady, whether she could remember this event and we immediately checked all the bathrooms the next day we read your review. But Kadek did not notice or hear about this problem and our check of all the bathrooms was also without result. So we think it must have been a one-time problem not noticed by our staff.

We have a reputation of cleanness and we want to keep that reputation, all rooms and bathrooms are cleaned EVERY day by our staff and do not hesitate to point out mistakes or neglects that we or our staff make.

All in all you have judged us a "WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY" and this means that your overall experience was explicitly positive.

See you again the next time,
Made Suarta and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jangkrik Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.