We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
13 Jl. Gootama, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 821-5366-6087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 422 restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My second visit, I made a point of going back again this year because it was so good last year. And it did not disappoint. Reservations recommended. The owner - a lovely friendly lady made room for my daughter and I. The staff is friendly and fun, and really make you feel welcome. The menu is small and what's in season, all fresh. And the chocolate fondu is a must try for dessert! Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    1,080
    252
    59
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This restaurant really deserves all the good comments that they got so far. I just want to thank the owner for doing a such great work. When you see how involve she and her husband are, no wonder that the food is excellent (cooked by the husband) and the service top notch for a warung. We really had a good time and enjoy our dinner. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food and even greater desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very nice place with excellent food! Cream caramel here has become a part of Bali that I’ll never forget. It was so delicious that I did come back there just for the cream. Other dishes were also nice, the curry is not to spicy, so I enjoyed it a lot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a fantastic experience - The food was so tasty and the service was friendly and overall a great place to have a wonderful meal. The place is only small so it would pay to book. Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A restaurant that you should not miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a pleasant dining which you can enjoy good foods and need not to pay a pretty penny like others "famous" and top-rating restaurant in Bali. (^__^). In fact, based on the foods and service quality, it's inexpensive, indeed.

We came across this place via multiple good online review. It's true enough that you will be leaving disappointing if you didn't book your table in advance.

The overall ambience of this little cozy café is lovely and you will feel at home or dining in a friend's loft. It's located at a "first floor building" and run by a lovely "international couple"- who are from Laos and France. Phil is the man the great chef and Geraldine, the most friendly host we ever have. Besides the hosts, the staffs themselves make you a VVIP when dine in the warung.

Good foods, Delicious Desserts (must have the cream caramel with coconut milk!), Warm greeting, Sincere welcome, Great service, Tourist-friendly-prices (included those with small budget) ....oh dear, we simply love the atmosphere and everything there. No wonder they are rated the top in Bali. Awesome!!

Keep up the good job Phil and Geraldine. Looking forward to see you again. Wish we could meet in Kuala Lumpur (*__^).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Wok Warung also viewed

 

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Wok Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.