We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owner,. Delicious creme caramel n nasi goreng” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
13 Jl. Gootama, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 821-5366-6087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice owner,. Delicious creme caramel n nasi goreng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The owner is really kind and chitchat with all the customers. They only have a few tables. Really full at night but we make it at lunch. Love the creme caramel so much, will be back just for it. The fried rice is gooodd... It's unique with peanut. Thailand touch I think. The portion is big. The curry is good but a little too heavy. I like spicy one, and ask more for sambal. Because it's not spicy enough for Indonesian like me. The crepe is nice but not as superb as the creme caramel,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,251
    298
    70
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and hospitality at affordable prices. Run by a lovely French/Lao couple and everyone working there really was having fun! Super tasty daily specials. Only "but" is that it is not a big restaurant and very popular so either hope for the best or book well in advance to get a table. Went there twice and loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

You should not miss it!!!

Their menu is simple, but the food is great and special.
We tried 3 types of the popular daily dishes & daily special. Its all great!
The french owner explain that these are Laos style food.

You must try their dessert. Great caramel creme & coco crepe!!!! You wont regret!

Service: The owner & staff is great, kind & friendly.
Location: Just walk along Jalan Gootama, you will spot the shop easily. Nearby Ubud market, after a nice lunch, you may enjoy your shopping time.
Cleanliness: Clean & comfortable.

** TIPS: Must make reservation. Especially dinner time.
On the first night we reach ubud, we try our luck by just walk in to the restaurant. As expected, we didnt manage to get a table, especially we are group of 7. (They have only one big table for large group).

I will definitely come back again :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Merci!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It's a 5 - 10 minutes walk from Ubud market where you turn right to Jalan Gootama... The restaurant is stashed in a tiny corner beside a home stay place. It's owned by a French lady and her Asian chef husband.

The food is very good and the price reasonable for the quality of food and the attentive service you get from their staff. We were not very hungry so we shared the chicken masalan with coco cream... For IDR 33,000 (US€3.30), this already came with steamed rice and was very good. This was topped with fresh vegetables with some spicy vegetable sidings. We also tried their chocolate crepé which was equally-good.

From the past trip advisor reviews I've read, we need to reserve since this place only has 8 small tables. Nonetheless, we were quite lucky as we had a comfortable seating for such a very good lunch sans reservation.

As pre-arranged by our tour guide/driver with them, they called him on his mobile phone when we were done with our meal and just when we're ready to get moving.

The French lady was very amiable and accommodating. She even had to call us from the patio-like setting as we were about to board our car, just to thank us for the tip we left for the goond and friendly staff.

We will definitely come back to this cozy place.

Merci!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent food and service. A very small place with a comfortable atmosphere. Reasonably priced meals, and delicious flavor. The staff and owner were very attentive!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Wok Warung also viewed

 

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Wok Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.