We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
13 Jl. Gootama, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 821-5366-6087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 425 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Great little place. Staff are brilliant, from the local staff to the lovely French owner. We wanted fresh, tasty, local food and got all that and more. We're on Honeymoon so have been eating in nice and expensive (for Bali!) restaurants but a lot of these places are finicky and hyped. This meal was as good as any (better actually) and a fraction of the price. Menu is small but we knew we wanted something Asian and fresh. We got a rice and noodle version of a similar curry - both we're gorgeous. Creme caramel for dessert to top it off. With a glass of wine and a large beer it was in and around €14. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    1,096
    256
    61
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Ubud meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Make sure you make reservations because this place is TINY and super booked all the time! If I recall correctly it was only about 8 tables or so for the whole restaurant. The menu was on a chalkboard which we LOVED because to us that meant they were only using fresh/ seasonal ingredients. The food was DELICIOUS and with a shared appetizer, 2 mains, dessert and drinks the bill was still close to 20-30 usd!!! Staff was very warm welcoming and helpful, really a must do if staying in Ubud and able to get a reservation! Once we ate here we considered eating here for all of our remaining nights but we were too late with booking! : ( Will definitely come back if we make our way over to Bali again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bah humbug”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After hearing enthusiastic talk about this restaurant my friend and I duly booked a table for last night. I am not sure what people's expectations are for this restaurant but we both thought that the chicken had been stewed rather than wokked leading to a very unsatisfactory texture in a just passable sauce which included beans. The accompanying eggplant was very unappetising
and the rice was just rice. Better meals are available in many warungs in Bali and this effort was certainly less than a suburban Chinese restaurant in Melbourne. It's amazing how people can be bedazzled by hype.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a warm welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food with lovely flavours and a very warm and friendly welcome. would love to return! The food was very inexpensive but was really delicious. The French owner and her team made everyone of her guests feel special.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I still think about the meals I had...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited twice during our week-long stay in Ubud and they were the best meals we had. I recommend making reservations because seating is limited and the secret is out that the food is delicious. The owners were such a lovely couple, very friendly to guests. Portions and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Wok Warung also viewed

 

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Wok Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.