We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
13 Jl. Gootama, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 821-5366-6087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 440 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I knew to make a booking, the only available time was 6pm, which was a little early but we thought we'd be in for a great meal after reading the reviews. Both meals, chicken curry with rice and the seafood special, we're the best meals we've had in Bali, and the service from the local ladies was absolutely fantastic! Our $28 meal, two mains, two desserts, two soft drinks, a cocktail and a beer, was the well worth it. With only 3 days in Ubud, we decided to book for lunch in two days time, I am sure the meal will be just as good. French owner, who is married to a Laotian (chef) have travelled the world and have found a fantastic home in Ubud. Absolutely wonderful night! Closed Mondays, make a reservation or you will miss out on Bali's best cooking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    298
    71
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This small restaurant, runned by a french lady, impresses not only for the food quality and beauty, but for the gentle staff and for the kindness of its owner, that didn`t hesitate to drop by our table to chat a little. Probably the best dinner we had in Ubud, especially for the cost-benefit relation. Definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dresden, germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Best to enjoy lunch at the Melting Wok to beat the crowds. Good, inexpensive food, very friendly wait staff. We have dined here three times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice french lady was sincerely hospitable.
I will come here again some day.
Food was light and healthy, desert was great. I paid $8

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“To die for noodles!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was freaking out when we could not get a reservation here for dinner because their phone was busted. Decided to show up early without a reservation and luckily there was a table available. I think we showed up at 4pm for dinner =). Ended up having a coffee and the SUPER YUMMY creme caramel. You have to try this dessert when your there...it is absolutely creamy and not too sweet. My wife was savoring every bite of the cake. I even asked the gracious owner Geraldine if its possible to bring it back home to Manila (yup its that good) too bad she told me it wont survive the plane ride. They will not rush you in this restaurant unlike some places where they rush customers to eat quickly and get out. We were told to take as much time as possible eating and ordering. During that time we got the chance to talk with the amazing owner Geraldine and we notice she makes it a point to chat with each of her customers. When it comes to the main course here you have to order the curry noodles!! Its absolutely amazing!! My wife ordered that dish and i ordered the curry with rice(which is also good) and i could not get her to swap dishes with me!! This is definitely one of the places you need to try if ever you are in Ubud.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Wok Warung also viewed

 

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Wok Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.