We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
13 Jl. Gootama, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 821-5366-6087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 459 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Chinese, Noodle, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best advice one can give, go for lunch. Dinner seems to be fully booked constantly, days in advance, and even lunch will be tough to get in on sundays or tuesdays(as they were closed on mondays, I guess). The menu is small, while I had a coconut fish curry from their fixed menu, which was good, my girlfriend's ginger chicken, from the daily specials, was the best food we had while in Indonesia. Their drinks were better than the normal Balinese standard, which is saying something, but to top it off, their deserts were also phenomenal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    380
    91
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
“UBUD MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Couldn't fault. Outstanding tasty food and service.
If you can appreciate good food you will love Melting wok.
Must book as this place is always full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“agree with the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I can't add much to the reviews already submitted for this little restaurant, except to stress that you will need a booking unless you are very lucky.
The night we ate there the very charming hostess/owner turned away so many people, and even the following night was booked out. We were initially surprised by the small menu, (which does make ordering easy I have to admit), but the food was great and the desserts - we tried four different ones and no one wanted to share - were wonderful.
Very friendly staff, just disappointed that we left it until our last night in Ubud to eat there or we would have gone back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked as we couldn't get in the night before. Greeted by Cindy who was a great host. Small menu but ordered from specials and were not disappointed. Food was wonderful and very inexpensive. Squeezed in dessert as we were told it was worth it and it was! Will definitely go and back and recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Book ahead so you don't miss a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Cute little place just of Main Street , friendly staff booking kept for 15 minutes don't be late it's a popular venue. One of the best meals we had in Bali small but great menu

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Wok Warung also viewed

 

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Wok Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.